Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Pipelines

by xRubbermaid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Pipelines, you have to control the flow of colour across 16 planets by manipulating the pipelines connecting them. On both pipelines on every planet, you can choose to either continue the flow from the previous planet or export the current planet's colour. It makes sense (if you designed it)!

LMB: Toggle upper (anti-clockwise) pipe.
RMB: Toggle lower (clockwise) pipe.
"r": Generate new level & target.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness85%
#161Innovation3.73
#493Humor2.42
#749Theme2.96
#766Graphics2.78
#848Audio2.11
#929Mood2.53
#964Overall2.78
#986Fun2.52

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 6:41pm

Kind of hard one :D But I'll vote for innovative :)

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:32am

Took a while to figure out. You are one creative individual :D

frogalicious says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:44am

Pretty tricky but I like the idea! (:

SpringPowered says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:49pm

Took my a while to figure out. Interesting concept! Could use a better tutorial/intro to explain what needs to be done.

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:31am

Sorry, but I didn't understand what was the goal, since there is no explanation :/

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:38am

Crashed when I pressed r. Managed to beat a single level, but I'm not sure I understood how I did it. Seems like a cool, but a little obtuse idea, that could use just a bit more explanation.

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Bit hard, but cool

PERECil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Very innovative and hard. However, I've encountered a crash when trying to play the game.

Headmade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:05pm

An ingame explanation/tutorial/instructions would be great as I couldn't figure out how I control the flow.

Wevel says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:41am

Rather confusing, it took a while to understand what to do. Would be better with a tutorial or a help menu.

ViliX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:48am

Interesting concept, only a bit hard ;)

3CGames says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Tricky! It was fun playing around with the circles and it looks cool. I spent 15 minutes trying to work out how to fulfil the target but failed.

Tom Snively says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Have no idea what I am trying to do.

JangoBrick says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:40pm

What an idea! Brilliant. Hard to figure out, but then a lot of fun. You get 5/5 points for innovation! And that's something not many people get from me.

danidre14 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:37am

Wow! Took me a really long time to get the hang of it, but what else needs to be said, other than good job on your entry! :D

Sunflower says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:54am

Definitely needs more instructions; I don't understand the goal at all! >.<
(also, it would be nice to have a visual indication whether the given world passes incoming flow or sends its own; perhaps if it sends its own, the incoming link would be cut short at the very end, showing a disconnection?)

Rob Glen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:42pm

This is really cool! To take it further, you could add some music and sound effects, and maybe add a level system; so a level could be 10 letter combinations, then each level could add more letters either to the wheel or to the letter target or both. Maybe an in-game explanation of what you have to do would help as well, because I imagine some people might not get it.

Benjamin says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:40pm

This is interesting but maybe it would have been more intuitive to switch the link between the two modes instead of clicking the planets. I would also like some sort of scoring instead of just infinite goals generator.

Stan Sypek says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:36pm

No clue on this one. I'm not one to spend an infinite amount of time trying to figure out a game goal. Kudos to 3CGames for giving it 15 min. I couldn't give it 5.

ChuiGum says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Great innovation! Pretty difficult but good job!

cstudios says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Definitely a hard one. I could not solve it :(. If i understand correctly i had to have a specific color connections to the letters on the right top. However its realy innovative!

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:49pm

Not blind-color friendly :(

panurge says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 3:16pm

Nice clean presentation and a smart concept. I didn't find the instructions as unclear as some others seemed to and got the hang of it pretty quickly. I do think some sort of effect to show when a target planet is connected to the right colour would be good, however.

Unfortunately, my game crashed every time I completed a level which is how I knew I'd got it right each time!

Sep 14, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Quite a confusing game to play in one minute... I wasnt really sure what to do... I included it in part 24 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/3RN80xyak-c

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]