Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

GalaxyXX

by DragonInstall - Jam Entry

**********ATTENTION INSTRUCTIONS BELOW**********

*******CONTROLS*******:
[W] = Forward
[A] = Left
[S] = Backward
[D] = Right

[Q] = Down
[E] = Up

[P] = Pause
[M] = Mute

[Mouse] = Orientate ship direction
[MLB] = Shoot
[Space] = Acceleration

***There was some comments that some couldn't play because of the controls. I've tweak them a bit.
Give me your opinion***

****GOAL/BRIEFING****
The galaxyXX has been attacked by space pirates.
Request of escort from multiple planets have been sent.
It is your duty has the best pilot of the galaxy to evacuate all planets to the closest galaxy ring teleporter.
Thanks to your special space ship it should be an easy task.
You will be directly send into the field, watch out for space pirates!!!!

Hints/Tips:
-All planets that want to be saved shine. Having the blue orb in the back of your ship being close to them will activate your special link connection. The planets will be linked you.

-Galaxy ring teleporter are those colorful huge ring rotating. You just need to go through the middle part of it to evacuate the planet currently linked.

-You can link more than 1 planet at the same time.

-Yellow Ring will give you a speed boost and some health.

-The counter on the upper left of the screen are the number of endangered planets.
As you evacuated them to teleporters the number will decrease.
------------------------------------------------------------

****Notes****:
I worked Solo for the past 72 hours. It was fun. Learned a lot and will do better next time!!!!

All coding and Art/Melody by DragonInstall
Tool Used:
Unity
Blender
Spacescape
FLStudio






Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#258Graphics(Jam)3.68
#472Theme(Jam)2.97
#487Humor(Jam)2.13
#496Mood(Jam)2.88
#526Audio(Jam)2.60
#576Overall(Jam)2.93
#588Innovation(Jam)2.65
#667Fun(Jam)2.46

Comments

JNyknn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Nice graphics but confusing controls!

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:17pm

The graphics are awesome! I love the models for the sun, earth, and moon. The clouds above the earth and lines around the sun were a great touch. The controls were really bad, though. W is backwards and S is forwards? I couldn't grab onto a planet because I was too confused with the controls. Sorry, I really tried. Maybe I am missing something..

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:23pm

The game looks very vibrant and I the concept is pretty cool. I found it tough to steer to where I wanted to go however, which caused me to lose interest quite quickly. Worth noting that the "again" button doesn't seem to work!

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:26pm

I like the idea and the mechanics (even if pretty simple) but the controls doesn't feels right and comfortable for the type of game.. Should be something with the mouse for choosing the direction,buttons are too sensitive

sorle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:09am

woah upside down... a ring... and i missed it :D
I never was good at those games but i like the N64 Style grafics.
One thing: the music is a little annoying..

barleyarley says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:52pm

The controls were very confusing and the enemy AI just sort of stuck itself to me. I like the vibrant colour palette though. Good job!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Absolutely gorgeous graphics, fantastic game. Very cool game.

LaFleur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Liked the graphical style a lot!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:48pm

Very complicated.

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:01pm

Thanks for the feedbacks guys. I will work on more intuitive controls later.

waynaul says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:14am

I like the epic feeling at the beginning when the player starts off near large pirate ships. It has a bit of a Star Wars feel to it.

It was hard to get used to the controls. When I press Q or E, it changes the axes in a way that eventually I don't know which way I'll turn when I press a direction.

Great job on the colorful graphics, though. Well done

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:53pm

LowPoly models are creating a nice universe but controls render the game hardly playable.

ponk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:08pm

Nice meshs and funny controls!

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:22pm

The graphics reminded me of starfox a little, so great job there. The controls, however, made this way harder than it needed to be, making it almost unplayable for me. Music was very annoying after the first minute :P Pretty good entry overall, good luck.

Naytron says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:19pm

I didn't really understand what I was supposed to do, but I had a nice time flying around and exploring the bright and colourful artwork! Really like the idea of rendering a space scene in such a way, very inventive!

TehSkull says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:22am

Can you make a version of this game designed for a gamepad? I feel like this would be so much easier with two joysticks.

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:55pm

Sure!!!

LTyrosine says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:05pm

A nice game with nice idea but with very bad controls

Good:
* Amazing colorful stylized planetary system. This is where this one really shines and got its best score (imo)
* Nice 3d modeling and effects (lasers, ship engine). I like LD entries that give attention to graphic details and this on goes good on that.

Bad:
* Controls. I guess it's easier to bring a engine less space shuttle back to earth on hand than control this ship! =D I'm kidding it's just a case of gimbal lock.
* I would like to see more help on screen or some sort.

RadioLemon says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:04am

The galaxy was big and felt galaxy-like, but the control were not the best. Good job overall

Pesty says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:05am

Good graphics, game was a bit too confusing and the short music loop was a bit crazy

varun says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:33am

Nice use of vibrant colors! Found the controls and camera to be a bit awkward, however.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:37am

Really nice look but I found the controls a bit hard to master. I don't know if it's only me but the mouse pointer wasn't staying inside the game frame and I clicked a lot outside the game, forcing me to click back on it again to resume playing.

borgi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:32pm

I find the controls okay, the graphics are great, I really like this kind of style! I found hard to guess what I really sohuld do. But yeah again the earth, sun and moon were cute :D
Music was a little repetative :D

Dry Tree says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:45am

Beautiful graphics - great work there. I don't know if you've updated the controls yet but I found it really confusing - I kept getting situations where turning the mouse left would rotate the ship to the right or into a nose-dive or something.

SwiftIllusion says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:49am

Really awesome visual aesthetic, but as others have said it's regrettably still hampered by poor controls even if they have been updated, which severely effects the experience.
A suggested control scheme if possible::
w/s strafes up/down
a/d strafes left/right
mouse:rather than temporarily adjusting your turn based on how much it moves, instead have the mouse in the center of screen cause no rotation to the ship, then where the mouse moves cause an offset to its turn. So for example if you had the mouse towards the top left of the screen-the ship would keep rotating/turning up and to the left.
Then use shift/ctrl as forward/backward movement, and space as acceleration.
That should make navigation easier faster and smoother.

DragonInstall says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Thank you for all the comments/feedbacks. I guess my wall of text at the top does look intimidating lol. Next time I'll introduce goal/controls in-game.

*******CONTROLS*******:
[W] = Forward
[A] = Left
[S] = Backward
[D] = Right

[Q] = Down
[E] = Up

[P] = Pause
[M] = Mute

[Mouse] = Orientate ship direction
(Mouse pointer stay locked at the center of the screen now unless you press [Esc])

[MLB] = Shoot
[Space] = Acceleration

Hints/Tips:
-All planets that want to be saved shine. Having the blue orb in the back of your ship being close to a planet will activate your special link connection. The planets will be linked you.

-Galaxy ring teleporter are those colorful huge ring rotating. You just need to go through the middle part of it to evacuate the planet currently linked.

-You can link more than 1 planet at the same time.

-Yellow Ring will give you a speed boost and some health.

-The counter on the upper left of the screen are the number of endangered planets.
As you evacuated them to teleporters the number will decrease.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Good Graphics, the flying felt a bit off.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]