Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Colliding Geometries

by PsychedelicFart - Jam Entry

This is our submission for the Ludum Dare 72 hour jam. Our team consisted of Adam and myself (Sean if you must know).
Although it may not be much -- we never even got to the core game mechanics )_) -- it was a learning experience in many ways. We spent a lot of our time trying to coordinate (London and East Coast time zones) and learn the Play Canvas engine while the small remainder of our time was actually spent productively -- which is not anyone's fault. While it is disappointing that we couldn't make a "game", it was one of the best introductions into the Ludum Dare scene and game making world and we're glad we could be a part of it. :D

Controls:
A, D to move,
press A or D again in midair to gain a boost or slow down (relative to direction),
W to jump,
Q to swap players,
don't press P. xD

If you want to see what the game should have looked like: http://apps.playcanvas.com/adamraz/connected_worlds/Colliding_Geometries_Current_Build

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#590Theme(Jam)2.60
#713Graphics(Jam)2.31
#729Innovation(Jam)2.07
#757Fun(Jam)1.88
#777Overall(Jam)2.12
#1907Coolness24%

Comments

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:00am

The web link you have posted is pointing at your designer for the game, instead of an exported app. Means in order to play it you have to have a PlayCanvas account and be logged in

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Hi. Should not need to sign in to play a Web link.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Link updated.

majorcrampas says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:34am

I pressed P. Worth it.

nikki93 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:33am

Seemed like a cool idea but I didn't really get the gameplay... How are the 2 players connected?

Mapboy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:46am

It looked somewhat interesting, but the game made no sense.

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:07am

I congratulate you on giving this competition a shot, especially hearing about the time zone and location differences. However, atm it's just a platformer engine, and I'd advise making it smoother before expanding upon it.

George says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Wasn't really sure what was going on - but nice attempt at the theme!

binasa says ...
Jun 30, 2017 @ 7:28pm

Buy it for the Game or Buy it for the Photo Locker. http://downloadthefilefast.review Vi vil lansere flere nyttige og enkle tjenester i tiden fremover.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]