Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

October Challenge 2014
Ending Soon!

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.

What is Ludum Dare?
Rules / Guide

Ludum Dare 30

Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nature Trial - Naytron - Jam Entry

Description:
At dusk the Urban landscape takes on a new dimension as wild animals roam the streets and build their own world within ours.

The city is not always an easy place to survive for an urban fox, but with the added pressures of parenthood one vixen makes the decision to traverse the human world and escape to the countryside to provide a safer environment for her cubs to grow.

To keep her cubs safe on the journey, she will forge a path through the shadows to let them pass safely and unseen.

Control the vixen and create a network of shadows on each level by moving obstacles to allow your cubs to reach the exit.

Controls:
Arrow keys for movement

Post Dare version:
You may find that the controls are too loose and unpredictable, so I have created a post dare version which addresses that specific issue.
Please play the new version if you find the controls in the original too frustrating. The two versions are otherwise identical.

Credits:
Made in 48 Hours for the Ludum Dare 30 Jam
Code: Naytron
Art: DustOrgan
Design: DustOrgan & Naytron

Made in Unity.
Used sfxr for SFX

View Naytron's journal. | View all entries by Naytron

Ratings

Coolness100%
#133Graphics(Jam)4.05
#189Mood(Jam)3.47
#235Overall(Jam)3.42
#255Innovation(Jam)3.25
#338Fun(Jam)3.11
#364Humor(Jam)2.46
#524Theme(Jam)2.81
#552Audio(Jam)2.46

Comments

mar3k says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:02am

Cool game! Also the art is great

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:05pm

Love it, very original idea!

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Cool little game with wonderful graphics - just a shame they're not animated!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:26pm

The graphics are superb, very good, but I could not play it, did not know what to do, got stuck on that second screen.

DrHahn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Love the idea, the art is cute, you guys did good.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:34pm

I liked over all the take on the theme of this game. Graphics are superb and gameplay is fun.

Njord says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:37pm

I like the took you take on the "connecting worlds" part. Instead of a game revolving around some kind of artificial connection, you created something from a connection that already exists in nature between two very different worlds hidden from each other. The game in itself is a nice puzzle, although a bit hard (I got stuck on lvl 3, am I that bad ?! :D)

Naytron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Sorry to hear that you didn't know what to do Hyoga-3D, what did you get stuck on?

The idea is to move the objects (trolleys, trees, etc.) around to create a path from the entrance to the exit through the shadows. On each level the shadows are cast in different directions. Also, the cubs cannot travel through objects!

owyoow says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Really liked the game. Graphics look very good and fun puzzles

hoyt hoy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:49pm

Good puzzels!
I don't get the use of theme but the game is really great.

CyberNinja says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Great graphics

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:48pm

Little confused at first but got it quick enough. Excellent art style too

Robinerd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:52pm

nice and cute little puzzler with great learning curve :) Also that pixel art is sick!!

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:56pm

Realization is nice but the game feels a bit heavy in the controls. I keep failing puzzles not because of the difficulty but because of the fox handling! But you definitely succeed in creating a stable and nice looking game.

coleott says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:20pm

nice! I found the controls a bit wonky, which is only a big deal because missteps are so punishing. I used all my retries on the level where you're supposed to make a huge row of shopping carts (3? 4?) because, unless I tapped the arrow keys super cautiously I would often end up moving the character one further tile than expected and accidentally pushing something against a wall. I personally also always get tripped up when using arrow keys to navigate an isometric grid (i don't know why it's so confusing for my brain to remember which direction to imagine the keys "tilted" in), which led to other missteps. Anyways, control frustrations aside I enjoyed it :)

Mase says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:38pm

I had trouble with the controls... I'd've preferred if one key press moved the fox one space.

The graphics would be much livelier if the fox had a walking animation. Also the stack of reset cubes looks garish against the game's otherwise dark palette.

Naytron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:20pm

You guys are absolutely right about the loose controls, it was something we were aware of during the Jam and wanted to fix but we just got used to them and then forgot to come back to it.

I've uploaded a post dare version which fixes the issue (That's the only change), so play that version instead if you find the controls too difficult to work with.

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:33pm

Usually don't care for this type of puzzle; however your awesome presentation made this one of the best games so far. LOVE the concept; really want to protect those pups! Great game

nonetheless says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:01pm

Very original, nicely executed, graphics are superb. Great work :)

goosetickler says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:16pm

Cute idea and great art. The controls were a little tough for me (maybe because WASD are is moving me -90 off from how I would expect them to). Still a cool idea and i really like the concept.

Snicklodocus says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Great game. I especially liked the art and mood. Moving was sometimes annoying since my fox would often move too far, sometimes pushing carts against the wall. But overall, I enjoyed it!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Great idea. Add animations and you're done.

BeardaNeerz says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:59am

Cool game with nice art!!

ALobker says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:25pm

Yeah! Managed to escape the city on my second try. I think the last level had a spare shopping cart.

Anyway, great game!

Xanjos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:50pm

Puzzles were a bit difficult but I actually like the concept of having to create a path of shadows for your cubs to pass through and I absolutely loved the art style.

handkor says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:11am

Very nice graphics and good puzzler tool.

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:28am

I liked the idea and the graphics and sound are top notch. The controls are a bit confusing but I think that comes natural with the isometric view you chose.

Oh, and I loved the kittens meows!

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:56pm

Really pretty pixel art, it sets the mood! The controls are a bit better in postcompo, but I would have liked to see being able to click on the neighbouring cell were you wanted to go for even better precision. Are you planning on adding animations?
Really nice work on the puzzles! :)

kibertoad says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:05pm

Clever use of the theme, but isometric perspective really is extremely frustrating for these kind of puzzles. On the other hand, it looks really good.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 10:39am

Very cool game and lovely graphics, good job!

mcapraro says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:13pm

the visual feel of this is really nice. i would love to see the vixen animated and the scenery come to life even more. great puzzler with a lot of growing potential

sephyka says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 12:11pm

Cool graphics and gameplay idea. A bit difficult maybe: I wasn't able to finish the second screen... the light system is not clearly readable. It might be great with animations. :)

Sandcrawler says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 9:38pm

An interesting puzzle game, a few of the puzzles gave me pause. I would like the character to move a bit faster. I also think the fade out transition speed could be increased a bit. The graphics are nice, and the premise of it works well.

I recorded my playthough of this game as part of my Ludum Dare 30 Games series. The video will go up on Monday September 15th, http://www.youtube.com/user/Ythmevge

torvik88 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:09pm

Very nice game puzzle. Only thing i didnt like that the fox has continuously move, i wish it could move a tile /button. Great game though :)

klianc09 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:18pm

Great puzzles and wonderful graphics. I didn't quite get the random noises that appeared from time to time.
The controls are an issue, when will people realize that up is north west and not north east! But seriously though, a option for setting which direction is up, would have made this a lot better.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Really awesome idea. Great art.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:25am

Pretty interesting game here. I like the theme use, and the puzzles are fun. The movement system took a little getting used to. Nice game.

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:47am

Greate art and mood. Nice theme also.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:19pm

Nice isometric puzzle. Cute visuals and great mechanics. Well done!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.

[cache: storing page]