Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

After Life

by Appocket - 48 Hour Compo Entry

CONTROL:

[A][D] - WALK
[SPACE] - JUMP / LEVITATE
[N] - SELF DESTRUCTION / SUICIDE ( only on ground )
[M] - REVIVE ON TOMBSTONE

This game will be used as a concept for a full Mobile Version soon. If you have any suggestions for features please leave comments.

If you want to support my works, just get a copy of my iOS Games :)

www.appocket.de

See you next on #LD31!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#188Graphics3.76
#494Mood3.06
#611Innovation3.09
#724Overall3.05
#724Theme3.00
#870Fun2.68
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

jsspiegel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:38am

Very clever concept! Art is very solid. Some music and sound effects would be nice, and something to collect (coins?) might be another cool edition. Or some kind of enemies maybe? But overall, nice job!

Robinerd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:09am

Really interesting game mechanics! I think there can be many ways to expand the puzzle design with more mechanics. Maybe some objects work differently when you're a spirit or a man, for example. Noticed a bug when holding space and D in spirit form, causing me to reach high in the sky at some limit and then keep going right as long as I want to skip everything. Also, in your instructions above you write A and S but it's actually A and D

dickpoelen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:43am

Great concept! Could easely see it expanded in a bigger game

Appocket says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:45pm

Thanks gor the comments, i will fix the bugs after LD30 rating ends, some where known to me but 48h is the limit :).
In the concept i wanted the player to revive as some selectable animals for puzzling but i'll do so soon for a big release

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:35pm

Nice game, a bit simple now. Also, it has some bugs, for example when dead, hold down D+SPACE to fly into eternity!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:55pm

It looks pretty but you should really look into the balance of the physics jumping/falling/fraction.

Appocket says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:06pm

May i should have used a game engine, it was my first entry and i wasn't sure if can use one, but next time i'll concentrate more on the game itself then on running a scratch physics system ^^

nonetheless says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:24pm

This is nice idea, and graphics too. (but this font is so frakking unreadable...) I seem to have encountered an error, I could fly away from my tombstone as far as I wanted (I've noticed it only once though) But the gameplay is really fun. Great job :)

mr.possoms says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:26pm

Very nice art! This game is pretty challenging too, but then again maybe it's because I'm awful at platforming haha. Good work!

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:35am

Very short but interesting game! Concept is brilliant, yet level is somewhat poorly designed, you could just run - destruct - jump - revive to pass it. Good job anyway! Strong entry

zkenshin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:40pm

Interesting game. Could definitely see this game being expanded with some more types of obstacles/enemies or other additions. Nice job. :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:21am

NIce art, gameplay a little frustrating. It's like a platformer with a double jump but you need to prss N and M and not jump key twice. You need to find something else to do in spirit form.

Appocket says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:09pm

I wanted to add revive as animals but hadn't enough time do draw the art, it should get a puzzle game where you have to decide which animal will help you pass the levels but maybe in future released

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:36am

Interesting idea, and really nice graphics. Lack of sound and levels, and the awkward controls made it difficult to play. I had a hard time not falling off stuff and controlling the ghost.

psychonull says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:47am

The ending took me by surprise, I just wanted to keep playing! Good job. Writing this game without any engine in 48hs is a big deal.

Appocket says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:08pm

thanks, the physics took so much time and was still bugged at the end :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]