Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Worlds

by Downtown - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minimalistic Platformer.

- Arrows to move
- Space to jump
- Up arrow to enter doors (the white rectangles)


First Ever LD48, great experience, nowhere near what I wanted to achieve but learnt heaps.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#494Graphics3.18
#585Fun3.00
#817Mood2.69
#829Overall2.94
#891Theme2.71
#1119Innovation2.18
#1872Coolness26%

Comments

jab says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:10pm

I liked it. A bit short. Those background faces were quite something...

ExtreLime says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:33am

What I liked the most in this game is minimalistic sketchy graphics and animations.
Also the level with yellow planet is really weird :D This parallax looks even some scary.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:35am

The game loaded nice and fast which is great
The controls are very unresponsive, but maybe thats on purpose? to make it harder?
Those faces were quite disorientating on the last level haha. Very unexpected

ajopart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:45am

I like the animation of the character. Simple and effective. The background is, well, surprising.
A bit short.

Lasty says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:17am

The art style for the character was really good, especially the slide when you stopped. Would've been nice to see the finished version at a higher framerate.

jthistle says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:20am

More levels would have been nice :P

Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:37pm

Controls were a bit skittish, jumping was a bit sticky. Otherwise a good attempt.

Sunflower says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:59am

Could you please upload it somewhere else than Kongregate? For some reason, Unity on Kongregate crashes for me, while it works properly as a stand-alone page. *shrugs*

Dohan says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:26pm

I finished with 18 runners, cool! The character animation is very nice. Congratulations on your first LD :)

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Congrats on your first LD! Hope you learnt a lot with it and are ready for the next one. I liked the mood you set and the orange planet face LOL And then when I finished playing and hit repeat there were two of me. But nice game, well done!

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]