Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

UnderWhelmed

by catchthefloaty - Jam Entry

WASD or Arrow keys to move. Press any key to forward text screens.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#107Mood(Jam)3.70
#165Audio(Jam)3.52
#295Graphics(Jam)3.58
#445Humor(Jam)2.27
#554Innovation(Jam)2.73
#663Overall(Jam)2.76
#677Theme(Jam)2.23
#747Fun(Jam)2.04

Comments

tbamberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:25am

Loved the music, story was solid, gameplay was a bit boring, but that wasn't really the focus. Great job!

uberscientist says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:28am

If I could rate this game 2.5 stars all the way down I would, lol, I actually really liked the idea of just walking through the story like that, and I really liked the ending too. Some of the conversations go way too fast for me to stop and read, but I got the gist ;)

JordanFitz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:30am

This was a rather interesting game. I loved the art style and story.

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:30am

Amazing art style and animation you have going there. Music really got my attention and immersed me into the mood of the game.

pjchardt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:31am

Nice mood. Had some trouble accidentally walking and triggering the next line of text before I had finished reading the last. Nice experience though :)

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:34am

Definitely an interesting visual experience. Unfortunately I seemed to skip a lot of the text with other people accidentally. Good work!

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:00am

I didn't really get the story; the dialogue system was kinda clunky, I kept accidentally skipping text without meaning to.
I didn't understand what the point of it all was; a boring guy who somehow tons of people want to hang out with?
I thought the ending animation was pretty funny, though.

Maxium says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:09am

I really like the painterly art style. I accidentally skipped some of the text on multiple occasions though.

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:12am

for some reason this was a really emotional game for me portrayed a feeling really well... good job.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:27am

Hi there. Minor problem sizing text to display window, overcome with Chrome's zoom feature. Love the graphics and piano music. Nice point well made at end with third-wall breaking. Good job!

egor-idiot says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Nice game.

Tosic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:35pm

I cant see some dialogues, they appear for a milisecond, but a game is nice and emotional, although, I wish there were more gameplay...

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:29am

Like others, I feel I ended up skipping text by walking too fast by them.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:46am

Advancing text seemed a bit janky, but this had a great mood to it, especially aided by the music.

JNyknn says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:54am

Well, this piece of art is hardly a game, but it does not matter: wonderful music, great story and personal graphics, that's all a good piece of art needs.

Crefossus says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:21am

I wish there was more to do than walk/talk to people. The bug you're aware of popped up a lot and stopped me from getting the full story.

The walk could use a little more love. I love the art style overall. Sometimes you could see the pixelation or artifacts that could get cleaned.

The mood/emotion was pretty good because of the reflection where as it may have just been annoying without it, like thinking about other perspectives.

Saphyre says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 7:39am

Nice dialogs, but the game is annoying...

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:31pm

I think you executed this very well. This is the first game like this (a story-based game, not really focused on gameplay) that I actually played through completely without losing interest.
One thing I noticed was that sometimes the text is chopped off when people talk to you, and when I try to walk over to read it, I end up responding to them. But overall nice job, the art style was nice and quirky.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Skipped some of my responses by accident, but other than that everything worked nicely. The ending was brilliant.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

Rehacked says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:29am

good game with fantastic art and nice music.Good job

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]