Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ergo Syskevis

by AkirAssasin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are an archeologist/scientist that found a puzzling ancient device with links to other worlds. What will you do? Line up a whole bunch of test subjects and use it on them, of course!

The pictures are slightly outdated.

(BTW, "ergo syskevis" means "device project" in Greek. I think so)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#82Humor3.43
#428Innovation3.32
#562Theme3.25
#665Audio2.51
#667Mood2.86
#905Overall2.84
#991Fun2.51
#1020Graphics2.31

Comments

Rehacked says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 1:51pm

goof job looks nice but how are the digits changing? i turned them all to green but nothing happened. keep up the good work

AkirAssasin says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 11:08pm

I'll add a button to speed up the warping process. Thanks!

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:34pm

Nice! I like how it's sort of arcane to try and figure out how it works, and then it slowly starts to make sense!

exoticorn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:36pm

Cool idea. Sometimes I clicked on a number and it didn't change. (Is there a rate limit or is the hit box a bit small?) In combination with the time limit this felt slightly frustrating.

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:38pm

This was hilarious. Great job!

gardenhead says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:38pm

I really liked it! It's simple but very polished.

AkirAssasin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:04pm

I used mouseClicked() instead of mousePressed(), so you might want to press and release on the number.

Makio says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:39pm

Original stuff, just a point, the text is blurry on retina screen =/ (mac pro retina chrome)

AkirAssasin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Chrome seems to work fine, probably because of retina. Tested on Mac Air 2012 Chrome and Safari.

Conk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:22pm

That was really cool, might make more sense with shapes, I did find myself guessing rather than solving. I liked the humor, when none of the numbers were green... good one.

Freudian says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:40pm

Ovreall not a bad concept, i like the idea behind it and its idea has great concept, simple easy to play.

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:54am

A simple yet effective package. I liked the atmosphere and the report at the end is pretty funny. I came close to winning but one of the digits wasn't green and brain didn't function :/

5T4MP5 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:03am

I really like the concept. It the obscure nature of the way the numbers change does a great job of making the machine feel "other worldly". Well done!

snowconesolid says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:04am

Haha really interesting idea. Nice to see a javascript game. I died/lost body parts in alternate worlds about 20 times. I like it but can't figure out how to win. I even turned all the digits green and still died/lost my head in a parallel world? Good job :)

hbocao says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:07am

The atmosphere reminded me a little of the SCP Foundation. I do not know if there is more levels, because I failed 5 times in a row. If there is, then I think the first level should be easier. Nonetheless, good job!

AkirAssasin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:06am

hbocao, it's randomly generated haha

AkirAssasin says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:07am

snowconesolid, you are meant to send the person to the parallel world.

cudabear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:08am

Nifty little puzzle game! Sometimes it was difficult to get the numbers to change when I clicked. Maybe increase their click area?

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:31am

This reminds me of a puzzle from a Resident Evil DS actually. Nice work.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:28pm

intriguing game, very cool

JavadocMD says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:26pm

I liked the concept once I figured it out. The puzzle aspect could use a little bit of meat... but I don't know what. Maybe some indication of which numbers affect which besides trying to simply remember it all. A graphical representation of the body that you're teleporting would also go a long way of course. Still, certainly innovative!

micahcowan says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:33pm

Hey, look at that, I won! :D

Congratulations on a successful first LD. Solid offering, and a funny idea. :)

Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:58pm

That was funny. I got almost completely teleported, except for one hand, but who needs that? Nice work!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:47pm

Interesting concept

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]