Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Purgatory

by maad9 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You stuck in the purgatory. Only act of kindness can save your soul.
Take lost souls to portal.

Use WSAD or ARROWS to move.
Press Q to interact with souls.
Press E to pull lever.


Program used:
-Construct2
-Aseprite
Game finished in ~5h.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#151Mood3.53
#218Graphics3.67
#457Humor2.48
#497Fun3.11
#565Overall3.20
#864Theme2.75
#1074Innovation2.33

Comments

Manou says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Lovely gfx and mood.

mrbungle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Cool game, like the foreground art.

Scott Baker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:04pm

Nice game. I love it when you die you just fall all the way to the bottom of the map.

hate-marina says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:06pm

One soul don't want to go through portal :)

LostTrainDude says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:18pm

I like the whole atmosphere of the game, which reminds me of Oddworld. Sometimes it feels like the character is too fast and it leads to some clunky controls and some trial and error. But nothing bad at all!

As far as I got through the game I did not see checkpoints. I would consider adding some (or maybe I'm just bad at playing :P)

Good job!

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:15pm

cool game, saved 3 souls.. still doomed

tillrobby says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:18pm

I'm actually impressed :) Very simple gameplay and graphics yet still fun, good job!

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:17pm

5 souls saved, heaven here I come. I liked the game world and the mood a lot. Also, it was good that the level had me interact in several different ways, and also involved some good platform jumping. Nice entry!

psychomonster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:30pm

very challenging platformer. Cool the souls are follwing you... good mechanics... like the artwork and the game mechnic... need more levels!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:18pm

Short and sweet, I like the bleak and dark look. Wish there had been more to play.

esayitch says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:20pm

I liked that you were on-key enough to put a portal=checkpoint system, as I would have probably left the game sooner otherwise :)

Liked the graphics and atmosphere, I think sound would have made it way better.

Nice game overall.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:20pm

This was an interesting take on the theme. I liked the atmosphere and mechanics a lot.

micahcowan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:24am

Clearly inspired by one of my all-time favorite games, Abe's Oddysee. :)

Saved 8 souls. Wasn't clear that's the end of the game, just sort of stopped there. Would be nice if it said "8 out of N", too, so I can know if I missed any.

unnamed1334 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:39am

The art did a good job of setting the mood. The tiles didn't mesh together very well but other then that I liked the art.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:22am

Hey. Nice looking game, parallax, occasional foreground trees etc. Soul portal mechanic interesting. Didn't get far after dropping off first soul, sorry about that - I'm bad at playing platformers ;) Good job!

Nanolotl says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Simple, but fairly well made. Good job.

buckslice says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:38pm

Nice art, mood, and gameplay. Would have been nice if level was bigger but you only had 5 hours which you definitely made the best of!

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:14pm

Short game, but the graphics are wonderful and the mood is pretty heavy. Would've liked some sound to go with it. All in all really impressed you managed this in only 5 hours!

Tosic says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:21pm

Nice idea, I really like the mood of the game!

kidando says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:30am

I see someone is a fan of Abe's Odyssey huh? Too bad it didn't have sound. congrats on completing the game.

ajopart says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:09pm

I like the graphics ! Well done. Oddworld Style, indeed !

Moosefly says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:56pm

Tried twice and still could save only four souls :P. Music would've pushed this from good to great.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

IamAcoconut says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:57pm

I liked the graphics, nice job! Needs music!

Aglavra says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:04pm

I liked the graphics and the mood, although controls were a bit unresponsive, and this made the game too difficult for me

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]