Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lenore: Dark Days Ahead

by Team Luminous - Jam Entry

You are a little girl walking through a forest. It is late and in the darkness great evil awaits. Can you prevail?

NOTE: If you get your rock stuck, walk into the river, press "What could possibly go wrong?!" and then quickly right arrow before it respawns you.


Controls: arrow keys, pointer

NB: If using FF, please refresh after first load!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness73%
#215Mood(Jam)3.40
#335Humor(Jam)2.50
#345Audio(Jam)3.16
#364Theme(Jam)3.20
#397Overall(Jam)3.20
#528Innovation(Jam)2.78
#565Fun(Jam)2.71
#575Graphics(Jam)2.90

Comments

TheGreenTie says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:03am

Woah, I seriously can't believe how good that was.
After seeing that this was a maze game I tought this was going to be pretty bad.... but it wasn't!
The story feels really great and the use of the two worlds is really good. I won't spoil here in the comments, but the game was really good :)

Stepwise says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:13am

That was pretty interesting and sucked me in! Unfortunately, I seemed to keep dying on random tiles?! I couldn't figure out if it was a border of going to the right (ran out of oil?) or using up too many moves; I think it might have been a bug or an invisible spider as it almost seemed to be at random... but I can't be sure. Fun play!

grillaface says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:13am

Great!

Nylonica says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:55am

Story was super great! Theme was followed amazingly!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:35am

Interesting idea, the character kept disappearing at the beginning but would re-appear after another key press.

rRootagea says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:52am

music is all kinds of amazing

Piat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:11am

At first I wasn't sure about it. However I started to find it pretty engaging and I was enjoying myself with it... but then my rock got stuck and I couldn't pass the river :/

Kinta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:51am

Nicely done! I liked the exploration and mystery to it. :)

camlang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:54am

Excellent. This idea is a must to develop!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:04am

Nice and fun. Caught the kitty but then what? What's the goal? Like the music. How about adding some sound effects (walking, bumping against wall, catching kitty, changing worlds etc.)

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:34am

Unfortunately I can't see the walls so it's kinda hard to play :/
http://imgur.com/czpsKDO

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:55am

Seems to work pretty well, nice visuals. Constantly pressing keys to move single tile at the time gets little tiring after a while, and it seems like I keep dying on random tiles? Not very intuitive.

Eigen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:42pm

I too managed to get my rock stuck. But the atmosphere's great! I think I'm spoiled by stupid horror movies and games and was expecting a jump scare at every moment. The music only added to that. The text would've been easier to read if it weren't the full width of the screen. Great little title all in all, I like it.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:43pm

Dark days indeed, in more ways than one it would seem. Pretty nice and simple puzzle game, could've used some more animations. The existing animations could also have been a bit more fluid. Also I spawned on top of a spider once when using a portal, not nice.

Anssi@MooseflyGames

lkr says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Love the audiovisuals and atmosphere in the game :) Nice use of lighting effects also.
I couldn't beat it because spiders kept lurking around my spawn point, but I had fun while it lasted!

tiff says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:23pm

Fun game, I think you did a really great job with it, well done!

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:46pm

That was surprisingly engrossing for a maze game... And I don't usually like maze games! The atmosphere was great, starting out pretty neutral but slowly swerving into creepy territory. I enjoyed the part where you had to avoid spiders by switching between the worlds as well.

pjimmy says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:13pm

great atmosphere, enjoyed the spooky music

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:13pm

Good job!

pjchardt says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Pretty interesting premise. Felt a bit linear as I just kind of pushed to the right and seemed to pick up what I needed and get through the maze without too much thought. The mood was great though and I can see this built into something really intriguing!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]