Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The one between the worlds

by zdavid112z - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game was made in 48h for scratch(code and resources).

About the game:
You are a knight that is stuck between dimensions and the only way to escape is to collect the time shards that have the power to give you supernatural abilities.

But really,the goal of the game is to survive as many rounds as possible.Collect the shards to upgrade your abilities (speed ,power ,health) and also unlock new dimensions.

How to play:
Use AD to move.
Use W to jump (affected by the speed).
Use S to block (reduces the damage to half and doubles the regeneration).
Use the numbers 1-4 to go to different dimensions.
The first two(Heaven and Hell) are unlocked from the start and the other two(Tech World and Candyland) must be unlocked using time shards.
To get out of the help menu press ENTER.

Notes:
There is no natural regeneration.
If you want to teleport into another dimension and the game doesn't let you,try changing your location.You can not teleport into a wall.
Angels and demons can go through walls.
Nyan cats give you health.
If you get bored,you can press ESCAPE,then ENTER to skip the current level.
Try upgrading the speed to max.
Have fun!

Changelog:
The Post comp version has the following changes:
-better collision with the clouds
-fixed timer display(old: 1:4,new: 1:04)
-blocking mechanic changed(old: get half of the damage yourself,new: your enemy receives half of the damage)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#581Theme3.22
#611Humor2.24
#853Audio2.10
#962Innovation2.56
#978Fun2.53
#1016Mood2.32
#1083Graphics2.19
#1089Overall2.55

Comments

Skills641 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:36am

Java Exception Error

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:37am

I've tried running it on Windows, but it crashed. When I ran it in the console, it gave me this output:

C:\Users\ViliX\Documents\LD\jar>java -jar TheOneBetweenTheWorlds.jar
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: com/ducksofts
/ld30/core/Core : Unsupported major.minor version 52.0
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$100(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
at sun.launcher.LauncherHelper.checkAndLoadMain(Unknown Source)

kyru says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:50am

A few issues but overall I like this. You used the theme in an interesting way for sure. One issue I had was that I couldn't get out of the Help menu, I had to close the program and restart. Also when your time counts down it will show single digit seconds wrong, for example 2 instead of 02.

acidave says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:55am

Works fine on OSX. Help is not readable in hell (grey on black), can be escaped from with <enter>?

zdavid112z says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:58am

If you press ENTER while in the help menu it takes you to the main menu.I do not have a proper way of changing the background and the only way of doing it is to restart the game and hope for another one.

polarkac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:18am

The idea is cool but I really dont like controls. Graphics is simple and nice.

Btw guys, you need to use Java8 to run it

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:32am

if you get a Java exception, make sure to use java8 to run. good job respecting the theme. love the references

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:28am

Works on linux. It seems fun, but also collision does seem to have some errors.

shatterhand says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:53pm

I got a Java Exception ERror on Windows version.

zdavid112z says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:00pm

Shatterhand,make sure you have java 8 installed.If that does not work try the Linux version,and if that doesn't work either can you please send me the error message.

idovingx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:51pm

Nice work. It got much more fun once I was able to skip levels and increase my stats. How do you beat a level otherwise? It might be nice to be able to put points into skills immediately when you have the shards. Also, the levels probably need more of a flow, like I felt I was just bouncing around in some directionless void. Might be more interesting to start with a left-right kind of flow, that then leads up and down. Also, the combat/block mechanic needs balancing, because it always seemed easier to run away, because in combat I always received damage. But overall I enjoyed it!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:31am

A for originality! Good luck :)

mklee says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:33am

I like the biblical tone of everything, very strange and slightly unsettling. It is a little too unforgiving and that coupled with the audio can make the game hard to play. Still I think you really ran with the theme here and made something unique.

shatterhand says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:44am

I'll update my Java version and I'll let you know :)

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:13pm

Nice Art Style

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:10pm

A nice take on the theme, though it's pretty hard. It feels like attacking enemies doesn't help a lot; they tend to gang up on you, you can't fight while moving and your hurtbox is big enough that you can't really harm the enemy and avoid being harmed yourself.

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]