Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Constellation

by Aglavra - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Game made with: Stencyl 3.1
Graphics: Inkscape, Paint, Infinite Painter
Sound: Sfxr

Note about Source Code: This is a zip file, containing a game, exported from Stencyl. It can be opened as common archive. To open with Stencyl, change an extention to ".stencyl".


Game: Arrows to move, Z and X to shoot. It is important, what wearpon to use in what case.

=====More detailed instructions====
(similar instructions are provided in-game, but there can be some typos).

There are two types of levels - "Destroy connection" and "Restore connection". On "Destroy connection" level you need to kill all spirits (they can be killed with Enegry gun (Z). and destroy portal (also with Energy). On "Restore connection" level you need to gather all parts of portal and then bring them to its base.

There are two types of wearpons: Z-gun kills spirits and paralyzes people, X-gun does no harm to spirits and kills people.

The controls can be not very polished, but the game definitely can be finished. It has 4 levels, and the ending is a bit different, if you finish it without killing intelligent beings.

=======

Thanks to all people who play, rate and give comments! This is my first LudumDare, and your feedback is very valuable for me.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#743Humor2.07
#848Theme2.78
#985Audio1.48
#1059Graphics2.23
#1074Mood2.14
#1101Fun2.25
#1117Innovation2.19
#1141Overall2.42

Comments

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:23pm

Nice idea & good level design. Controls a bit floaty, but good game

Retr0spectrum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:04pm

I think I found a typo in the X-Gun description "It kills people and does no harm to people."

talecrafter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Nice game. Good effort.
Movement feels very sluggish.
Graphics could be better, but the colors are nice.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Good idea with constellation and stuff but bad gameplay

owyoow says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:08pm

Nice game. I could not get past the second level because I did not know where to go after I got all the parts. I could not go where I came from

ninjascript says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Good effort! I only ended up using the z gun, didn't find much use for the x gun.

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:10pm

The controls could use some polish, but overall well done. Interesting take on the theme. Well done!

egdob says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:11pm

A lot of game for a 48 hours compo - level design is good, and the change in graphical theme is nice. The controls weren't brilliant though, I could get around the levels just fine, but the deceleration on landing felt a bit too severe and the "air time" felt a little too long.

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:12pm

Really nice artwork and designs. There is quite a bit of content here, and a its a nice idea to respect the inhabitant enemies of other worlds.

Dimir says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:14pm

Nice background. Good moving floors relative to the background. I do not understand how to attack enemies. Nice game.

DrCicero says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:15pm

"X-gun kills people and does not harm people" of course -.- I mean no harm, only want to kill you :) What use is the x-gun anyway, you only need the paralazer, do you?

Its not really fun because of the loose controls, instant right and left and moving a little bit faster would probably feel much better. If you dont know how to draw good tiles/characters, try to either draw them very lowrez (like 4x4 or 8x8) or just use a solid colors, that would look much better.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:27pm

Hi there. Nice platformer. Two gun concept worked well.

rantt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:49pm

Nice game, I like the art and the levels were interesting. It glitched on me where it was showing the people I stunned lying on the ground but I was still be shot by them. I enjoyed the game, nicely done.

mataguiris says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Something strange movements, lacks a bit of agility, but not bad.

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Good game!

KunoNoOni says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:30am

nice game mechanic and an interesting take on the theme.

waynaul says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:03am

Fun game. I think the constellation idea is a great and novel approach to the theme. Seeing the constellation change after each level was rewarding.

pythong says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:14am

the movement was kinda strange, and i only used the blue gun. btw, don't use x & z for shooting keys, because on german keyboards, Y is next to X instead of Z

syawqy says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:38pm

it's hard to move around

jomomomo says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:53am

Interesting...

alvivar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:55am

Good for a first game! Adding more sounds will probably help you a lot to improve the game.

Jod says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:52pm

Yay, restored the connection!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:27am

Very good idea for using star constellations and connecting them. The graphics and gameplay need some work, nice job.

SnapDragon says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:02pm

"X gun shoots common bullets. It kills people but does not harm people." What is that supposed to mean?

dancingmad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:57pm

the game is quite fun, but the controls are horrible. Also, i didn't see the point of using the X-gun. Nice graphics too!

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:15pm

really like the levels and theme nice work

bluesky says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Nice entry, well done.

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:23pm

Good job!This is actually very entertaining,

AlbertoSM says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 12:37pm

Doesn't have any music and the game is not really engaging...nice interpretation of the theme though.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Nice take on the theme, though the controls are difficult to work with. I never saw reason to use the lethal gun - maybe if you put in some situations where it would be a lot harder to get through by just stunning natives, or gave the player less life so you can't afford to be hit by someone waking up unexpectedly.

MechanicMoon says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Great color on the maps! Nice concept!

mechabit says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:10pm

it's cool that you have multiple endings for a compo entry

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Controls were a bit clunky and the game was a quite slow, but at least it was fun to play, had enough levels and variety so that made it refreshing and interesting to get to the next level. I liked the number of enemies and the different backgrounds very much. Well done!

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:27am

I like the framing (story) but the controls feel sluggish.

cardboard says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 4:09am

The controls are wonky; I don't think the player's horizontal momentum should be reset upon landing after a jump or fall, and the horizontal acceleration was too slow for my liking. It was still easy to adapt to the controls, and I managed to beat the game cleanly. Some of the colors you chose for the foreground/background have too little contrast, making the platforms too hard to see. The premise of this game is rather interesting, and I like the sprites. The level design is good, and I enjoyed the game.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]