Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

The Scientist

by Bubblman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hi!

This is my first game entry for Ludum Dare. I quite like the results although if I used my time better I would have been able to make a few more levels.

So... After about 30 hours of work put into it - I present you my game:

The Scientist.

Yea, I know, worst name ever.

Anyway... The concept of the game is a bit hard to explain but I'll give it a shot.

Every level is split into a number of worlds, split screens. Each world has it's own unique attribute. One world is normal, as we see it. In another world you can see invisible walls. The third one is for moving objects. And the fourth one is where your nemesis hides. The twist is - you move in all worlds at the same time.

Each level is a puzzle, with a total of 5 levels due to not managing my time correctly :(.

Instructions:
-----------------------------------------------
A - Move left
D - Move right
W - Jump, Climb ladder
Space - Jump
S - Go down ladder

Pretty simple, huh?
-----------------------------------

I thank you for playing and hope you enjoy!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#71Theme3.96
#98Audio3.62
#308Overall3.46
#391Humor2.60
#405Fun3.22
#460Graphics3.22
#479Innovation3.26
#534Mood3.00
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Loved the music!

Doddle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:40pm

Would buy the full game

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Really cool idea. Very challenging and interesting design decision to make his jump height based off his momentum. I love how many world you managed to show on screen. Awesome game!

Bubblman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:27pm

@OnlySlightly Thanks! Though, the jump height isn't actually based on his momentum. It is a little random though, because of Unity's engine.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Managed to complete it, pretty good! Final level was tricky, but I liked this entry. It's well done but little rough around the edges, the pushable block in top of the final level could get stuck instead of falling down for example.

SaxonRah says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:21pm

Great job, this is a really great entry! Loved it!

AndyBrown says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:23am

I enjoyed the concept. I agree, some more levels would have been nice; I was starting to get in the game. The music was charming and fit well with the game. Great job for your first Ludum Dare!

Artamus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Nice game, congrats!

arzi says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:53am

Nice to hear actual (non-electronic) music in an LD game! All in all, a pretty neat puzzle game (though I got stuck quite soon).

xandy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:10pm

cool puzzle platformer with nice music. some levels to introduce the mechanics more gently would have helped

TKia_ says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:06pm

Like the guitar. Mechanics were fun enough, though confusing at times.

sol_hsa says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:36pm

Nice music, the recording could have used a slight low pass filter though..

dancingmad says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:12pm

A lot of physics issues, but the overall game is pretty fun.

foodzilla says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Awesome game, great music! There's some bugs you have to work out, but overall a great puzzler with a lot of potential!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]