Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Human and Alien

by BoskoSokolov - 48 Hour Compo Entry

W,A,S,D to move
Space to jump
R to restart level
1 to switch between characters

The alien can jump higher, but the human runs faster!
Human is red
Alien is blue

*******COLLECT THE RED AND BLUE DIMES ON EACH LEVEL AND GET THEM INFRONT OF THE DOOR TO FINISH THE LEVEL*******

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#729Audio2.37
#847Humor1.88
#909Theme2.67
#950Fun2.58
#985Overall2.75
#999Innovation2.49
#1022Mood2.30
#1059Graphics2.23

Comments

FilipArs says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:57am

good game, well mate 10/10

Skills641 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:09am

Could of did a better key for switching characters in quicktime events.

superzac says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:10am

Pretty good, I feel like the player mechanic thing has been done before but not in this way, so good on you for that! I really liked it.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:12am

i like this game

drakfyre says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:13am

Solid game; it didn't complete the level for me when I got both players to the exit on either level though. Good entry!

hyouko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:14am

You may want to mention somewhere that you need to collect the appropriate red and blue crystals to proceed - I hit the end of the level and was a bit stumped when nothing happened.

GreenyUk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:14am

Solid effort. There's a lot left to be desired regarding aesthetics, but core mechanics are there. Nice work. :)

allenfreese says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:19am

Like others have mentioned, I recommend giving some more instruction/direction to the player.

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:21am

Good idea, but you should polish it a bit more.
I am not a mod, but please be warned, it looks like you've rated 90 games in 60 minutes. Please don't do that, some games require a lot more time to be understood.

kblaney says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22am

Solid game. I'd play more of this if there were more levels.

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:23am

Seems like an interesting narrative could be made about the two characters - good job!

StencylTuo says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:25am

Fire boy & water girl definitely. It's one of the better compos I've played. One interesting thing to me was how much work you put into the graphics for the players and how little was put into the level graphics.

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:27am

Look guys, I know the directions aren`t clear enough ,but I`ve put it all in HOW TO, I know i should have put the instructions in the gameplay but it was 10 minutes before the deadline and doing the LudumDare for the first time I was scared that I wouldn`t make it.

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:28am

And I din`t have time for the graphics of the level I tried. I`ll keep on updating the game after the ludum dare

hephaestus_rg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:29am

I wish there were more levels, but given the time constraint, it came out well.

gillenew says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:34am

nice and relaxing music :)

imdigitaljim says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:02am

neat concept! weird at first but i liked it overall!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:14am

Did you already rate 111 games? in 2hours? 1 min/game ? How is it possible?

ENDESGA says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:17am

Sweet game :D

MrTedders says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:01am

Nice level design! Only problem was that you didn't have a cohesive art direction. Good work otherwise!

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:00am

Takes a bit to get used to the controls, but overall It's a good game!

Cad says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:56am

Not bad man! Unfortunately I`m just biased against platformers, especially with a theme like this. Good job overall.

CeriseGhost says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:16am

This was a really fun game! I played through all 3 levels and loved it :)

jsmars says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:32am

Great idea and fun! Could use a bit better graphics tho :)

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:16am

Good concept , It will make nice game you polished it .

Ossi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:18am

That was really fun! I wish there more levels!

Tanner says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:35am

Very good game.

hazzahazzam says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:52am

Great game but more of connected players than connected worlds.

MerlijnVH says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:54am

I like it! It's pretty difficult doing level design for such puzzle games in a short period of time, good job.

elkiwydev says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:09am

Doesn't feel really good.. I don't know why..
The jump isn't that great but at least the puzzle are well made..

Doubstract says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:20am

like these puzzles

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:21pm

nice puzzle game

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:16pm

Challenging. Reminds me of the old 8-bit classic "The Goonies" on Atari and C-64.

malf says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:18pm

Good idea , but I found the controls/jump unusable

PERECil says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:37pm

Being European, I mostly had to fight controls as we use AZERTY keyboards instead of QWERTY. Air control is also a bit bad (too much air control is as bad as none :D).

The gameplay reminds me of some old paltformer game (but I can't remember the name).

datacr4sh says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:19pm

cute, and nice music

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:24pm

The game feels punching because you can not jump whit W, but overal a good game that is just a little bit unpolished

LeftRight92 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:31pm

Nice game, solid core mechanics, even if they've been done before

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Platforming felt a bit sticky. I seemed to cling to walls quite easily. Music was a bit repetitive.

The graphics were functional, but the quality of the characters made them really stand out against the backdrop.

Linus123xbb says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:48pm

This game had a very nice concept, I could see this as a full game with more levels! Thank you for this!

DDFranky says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:00pm

I love that little alien! Nice entry.

teoacosta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:24pm

Good execution, but i didnt win when I put both characters on the exit. Still fun though!

capsizedmoose says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:06pm

the controlls are a little wierd and the collisions are not really top notch but overall it's okay. the music get's a little anoying too

mechabit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:35pm

Interesting single player coop game lol

Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:18am

Finished in 39.38. Controls could use some fine tuning (Characters not responding properly). Puzzles are nice and makes you feel smart. Overall it is a fun puzzle game!

TomTheG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:39am

Nice short puzzle game

marvalgames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:22am

I had a lot of trouble with the controls?
I fought through it and the game has a feel to it that has promise. This is one game that ran out of time it seems but still worth trying

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:27am

Well put together. Another level would have been nice.

sylarisbest says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:39am

Good concept. One comment though. I feel like the switch character key should have been something else.

Piat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:43am

Good puzzles, if there was time for a little more polish it could be an awesome game.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:53am

Awesome innovation!

Lianne Booton says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:21am

I'm a bit dubious about how legit the comments are on this and the speed you're 'rating' games at. This game isn't particularly polished or unique in its mechanic. The art is mismatched so I assume assets were taken from elsewhere, which means this shouldn't be in the 48 hour section.

ViliX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:54am

I think I've seen those sprites somewhere..

ViliX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:06am

Now I remember when I saw them. The sprites an be found here: http://opengameart.org/content/non-isometric-spritesheets

breadstix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:23pm

Fun and challenging. Controls worked well. The music was a good choice and I thought it fit well for what I thought of the mood of the game. Great job!

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:24am

Wow! this game is impressive for 48 hr compo. Very original. Two thumbs up!

Manou says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Love the idea and gameplay, definitely needs some gfx and sounds !

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:26am

Nice effort for 48 hours. I struggled with the physics a little bit but you can easily smooth them out.

akymos says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:32pm

Good game

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:58pm

Good character design and a good job on mapping! Good luck!

ninjascript says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:50am

Challenging!

grayhaze says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:38pm

Web version wouldn't load for me, but looks interesting. Good luck with future contests! :)

BoskoSokolov says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:40am

Fixed the web version... Sorry about that

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:42am

Nice puzzles! It feels a bit clunky sometimes, like the player gets stuck on the wall, but it works fine and it is quite solid for a 48 hour effort. Great job!

Sep 9, 2014 @ 7:25am

Great idea and cool level design! A bit short though but you definitely have something!

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:23pm

Solid mechanics and interesting game design. It's nice when developers take to the time make in-game instructions too. Good job!

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:51pm

A bit confusing

Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Interesting game. I included it in part 26 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/hvOt_bkuFkM

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]