Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Card Split Wars

by SpringPowered - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Card Split Wars is a game where you battle an AI Opponent across two connected worlds. Each card you play will have an effect on both worlds.

Features 6 races, 3 unit types and amazing programmer art!

Music thanks to cgMusic and FakeMusicGenerator

See Readme or ingame tutorial text, image or hover texts for info on how to play.

Have Fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#306Innovation3.49
#452Audio2.85
#498Theme3.34
#523Overall3.24
#556Fun3.05
#653Humor2.19
#929Mood2.53
#997Graphics2.36

Comments

Meganopteryx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:27am

Really cool but also confusing! Then again I'm just not very good at strategy games. I like the amount of depth in this game.

flatgub says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:57am

This is AWESOME!!!
I LOVE the concept
The gameplay is really fun and intense
The music is great
The only complaint i have is that the tutorial is a little confusing, but i figured out the game as i went along. this is definatly the best game i've come across so far!
-Flatgub <3

MarekkPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:32pm

Love card games. A bit fast paced, and it doesn't seem to respond at times; I select a card to place, then it loops back to not having a card selected.

Cyanblue says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:38pm

I really like it. I got destroyed by the AI in easy because I was just figuring out how the game works, but it's very strategic. This would make a pretty fun game if polished and expanded a bit <3

lkr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:47pm

As a big fan of card games, I liked this game a lot :)

As already pointed out, it was confusing at first, but having to think about both battlefields when placing cards added a nice extra layer of strategy.

SpringPowered says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:49pm

@MarekkPie - Did you select a 2/3 cost card and then click something that wasn't a valid card? If you make an invalid selection the game assumes you just meant to dismiss the current card(s) selected.
@Everyone else - thanks for the love!

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:11pm

Nice concept, great idea :)

Orange says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Very cool I enjoyed this game a lot. I love card games and if this idea was expanded upon it would be really cool.

Paladin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:48pm

I really liked it. Takes one game to grasp the concepts, which is very good regarding its complexity. Should really be developed beyond the Ludum Dare version.

Oana says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:44pm

ZOMG WALL OF TEXT! TL;DR but the rules were fairly simple and the in-game instructions were really useful. Might also be because I had a similar-ish idea a while ago, but with one world and regular playing cards... Anyway, really well done, I would love to play this as a full version at some point. BTW, thanks for mentioning FakeMusicGenerator. I never heard of it before.

Marcellus says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Game looks confusing at first play-through but when you understand it better it makes it fun to play.
Great music, good entry

jojocanard says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Very interesting idea. But the action is quite confusing.

Konrad Zegis says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:37pm

If I were you I'd make some screens with less instructions, and show them one after another. Informations on that 2 screens are somewhat overwhelming. Also I missed information that I have 2 different cards to play at once, so I was confused for first 2 turns.

But it's nice, it gave me the feeling of that old strategy games :D

gladers says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:30pm

Hello world.... A good fun and well thought out game :)

3CGames says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Cool idea and interpretation of theme! It was a bit overwhelming to play, but I liked it!

Hempuli says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:45pm

I love cardgames! There were quite a few stats to keep track of and sometimes I didn't understand completely why my character died; I think the races added a relatively unnecessary layer of complexity to the gameplay. Still, very nice, and I enjoyed playing it a lot! Maybe give the player the ability to choose whether they want to draw from the "discard 1" or "discard 2" pile?

Hempuli says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:48pm

Oh, by the way - F-secure gave a malware warning about this; I ignored it as a false positive but I suggest running the game through virustotal.com!

JavadocMD says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Really cool concept; well done! I could definitely see this being worked into a full game.

I noticed that attacks didn't seem to happen at the same time. Enemy cards seemed to deal damage first, which makes powerful enemy units almost impossible to stop. One got to my second row with 8 attack and 2 life, and no matter how many units I played against him, they'd always die right away. This leads to a feeling of imbalance which I don't know if you were aiming for or not.

Also a longer battlefield might give more opportunity for strategy (like deploying leaders and archers). Anyway, still really fun. Good job!

ShadowStryker says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:35am

Interesting concept. Confusing at first, but I like it. This is the first card and/or turn-based game I've come across so far in this LD.

Piscythe says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:43am

This game was difficult to get into at first, but it's very inventive.

jahmaican says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:10am

Not really my kind of game, I give up

DARKCORTEX says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:02pm

like ff9 card game.. i like it

GrooveMan says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:49am

It's a neat system that takes a few plays to really 'get' how things work. The units that buff allies are incredibly strong, and I didn't do a good job of keeping them alive the first time I played, heh.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]