Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Worlds Insight

by SelfishGenome - Jam Entry

A simple game programmed by two people. You complete set puzzles by changing worlds, each world has its own dangers.

All sound, visuals and code were built from the ground up, no borrowed material in this game (maybe some references to the classics).

All audio provided by Callum Joseph Stewart whos other work can be found at https://soundcloud.com/callum-joseph-stewart.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#295Fun(Jam)3.19
#354Innovation(Jam)3.10
#387Theme(Jam)3.16
#405Overall(Jam)3.19
#481Mood(Jam)2.92
#548Audio(Jam)2.48
#555Humor(Jam)1.90
#657Graphics(Jam)2.61

Comments

SelfishGenome says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:34am

A game where you play between two worlds to complete set puzzle.

sol_hsa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:43am

The controls are a bit too "floaty" for precision platforming. A bit more friction perhaps?

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:44am

How many levels are there? after level 8 or 7 they all look the same?

SoupWithBits says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:47am

Really enjoyed this!
Could have gotten a tad more difficult tho, other than that pretty awesome

Simon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:37am

Pretty good concept!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:57am

a realy good concept. and 10 levels!

clementcent says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Really good work !

SelfishGenome says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:30pm

@sol_hsa, that's kind of the feel of the movement we went for, we actually removed the friction and standard rigidbody controls to get more control, but I guess that comes down to preference. @DvigubaiPiktas There are 9 unique levels, it seems 10 did not carry the obstacles over that I had put in and we had more levels but Git decided an hour or two before submission that it wanted to drop several of our prefabs

SelfishGenome says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Also, to everyone else, glad that people seem to be enjoying it, some really fun games have come from this LD, seemed to be a good time to have entered our first game jam.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:37pm

Sounds are crazy loud, headphone users beware!

rd127p77 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:39pm

Really Good Game, and impressive that it is that complete.
Love It.

esayitch says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Really liked the idea behind this! Quite a lot actually :) We often don't consider the fact that perspective changes the world around us, and it does. This game shows it :)

With that said movement is too floaty, especially where precision is required. Needs to move in a more controlled way, one click should send move me a small distance, not that far. Makes jumping more frustrating than it has to be.

Otherwise I liked the cubic graphics and the sfx were pretty appropriate for the game as well. Good job!

sprawl says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:17pm

Mouvement are a little floaty. Otherwise the idea is neat and the graphics clean. However, I'd be nice to add transparency to objects between the player and the camera.

Good job on the game !

Shmarah says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:28pm

Smooth transitions, really cool concept, and super fun! I saw an idea like this in a game that was made as a large-scale graduation project by students at Digipen. I agree that the controls are a bit floaty making it hard to platform with precision and the graphics are simple, but overall this was so much fun to play and very innovative!

Lvyn says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Good ! I thought about a game like this finally decided not to do it !

Controls need improvement but this is great :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]