Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Nomoj

by pvtroswold - 48 Hour Compo Entry

RPG with otherworldy elements! A frog astronaut uses his space drone to fight aliens while traversing extraterrestrial space!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#163Audio3.44
#364Mood3.22
#484Graphics3.19
#485Theme3.35
#486Fun3.12
#524Innovation3.19
#697Overall3.07
#1204Coolness49%

Comments

Skills641 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:28am

Doesn't work

FinnMacd says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:30am

when I try to run the application a window appears saying I don't have libgcc_s_ds2-1.dll, but from the picture it looks cool

Altourus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:33am

Likewise wont run for me on windows missing "libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll

pvtroswold says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:43am

Thank you Skills641 FinMacd and Altourus for the feedback! Reuploaded with a second binary which uses a bitmap font, which I am suspecting is the problem.

C_Walden says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:43am

Great music! Nice and atmospheric, very eerie. Neat color scheme giving an otherworldly sort of look, but I couldn't tell what any of the sprites were supposed to be. The gameplay unfortunately didn't really evolve through the levels, so I actually had an easier time at the end than the earlier levels.

pvtroswold says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:52am

Thank you C_Walden! Haha, the sprites were randomly generated by an app on Android by Tomatic Labs! I'm not to great at my own artwork

geekygenius says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:53am

Yea, I need the DLL too, Win7 64. Is nomoj Esperanto?

pvtroswold says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:03am

Thanks geekygenius for the feedback! Reuploaded the game with libgcc_s_dw2-1 for those who need it! Nomoj is a randomly generated name!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:14am

If Galaga were an RPG, this would be the prototype for it. I enjoyed this one! Granted it was done in 48 hours, so all the enemies are the same, but the whole concept was excellent. I'm jealous of this one!

Fanatrick says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:17pm

Really cool! I especially like the RPG setting :D

DerekRumpler says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:41am

The battle mechanic is interesting. I like how you can see the world while you are battling and have to fight enemies in a non-traditional format. I would say that you should expand on the way this is presented, though.

It might be better if the counter that displays the number of enemies you have to defeat was closer to the battle window. It is kind of in a location where it is hard to see.

Good job and look forward to playing more of your games!

JaJ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:29pm

I liked the music. Nice game!

gnuwind says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:11am

I can run without any problem. Great job. I like the artwork.

jahmaican says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Um, so I'm a frog and I have to play Space Invaders when I step on a giant diseased vagina. This seems a bit random.

It's weird, but not bad, that's what I'm saying.

4xisblack says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:18am

The music is really well-suited to the visual direction; together with the sparsity of the gameworld they create a powerful sense of isolation.

I also like the spotlight effect that happens during combat! The space invaders mechanic is not fun in the traditional videogame sense, BUT I think it makes for a weird/cool narrative device.

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:29am

Neat idea! I enjoyed playing it!

lkr says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:25pm

Nice pixel graphics and audio :)
Switching to combat into an isolated part of the original map is a neat idea.

pvtroswold says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Thanks everybody for your feedback! @4isblack: Thanks, used DrPetter's Musagi for music. I agree the space invaders mechanic is unorthodox. The original idea was sort of a FF1 clone, but I ran out of time to make the battle system, so this happened.

geekygenius says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:19pm

Interesting game. I wasn't sure what I was doing, but I wasn't half bad t doing it. Oh, and nomoj means "names" in Esperanto.

Sep 6, 2014 @ 7:11am

This is a great entry! Its really simple as it is, but I think there is a really good game hiding in there.

If you could figure out a way to make the terrain affect the battle once it starts somehow... Maybe a secondary enemy type that pathfinds its way to the frog? Stuff like that.

You gotta keep working on this, I think it could result in something really good and unique!

Endurion says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Nice music!

The basic idea looks nice. It probably was a great idea to make the battle a shooter. This could get interesting if you manage to make an strategic connection between those parts.

dancingmad says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:43pm

Nice game! A little easy but still enjoyable.

TKia_ says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:48pm

I like the blending of the shooting and RPG mechanics; that's a novel and fun-to-play idea. Music was good and art was fine, though the graphics did flicker a lot for me. Outside of the confines of the compo, I could see you working this into an actual thing. Nice job, overall, especially for your first Dare.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]