Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Neon Multiverse

by maxrebo - Jam Entry

NEON MULTIVERSE is a first person jump and run / gravity puzzler.

In NEON MULTIVERSE you have the power of the multiverse at your fingertips (quite literally). Use your skills to
transport yourself through portals to the different parallel universes and utilize them to overcome obstacles and
master puzzles. You will see that the parallel universes are quite similar to your home universe - in fact,
they only differ in one key physical aspect from each other.
These little differences will aid you through the game. However, the portal that transports you into the different
universes is unstable and can't keep you in there for too long - so hurry! The objective of every level simply is to find the exit (the orange floor tile).

Created during the Game Jam Event at the Technische Universitaet Darmstadt - Multimedia Communications Lab (KOM)

The following assets were not created by us but have been used to save us some time:

http://opengameart.org/content/keyboard-keys
by the author "TRBRY" with the CC-BY 3.0 license (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/)
and modified to show different keys of our controls

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#43Overall(Jam)3.96
#72Innovation(Jam)3.74
#76Fun(Jam)3.65
#85Graphics(Jam)4.22
#167Theme(Jam)3.61
#367Mood(Jam)3.11
#370Audio(Jam)3.10
#1570Coolness40%

Comments

chrupp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:12am

Web takes me to a download as well?

The Lag Pack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:22am

Nice puzzle game. It reminded me a lot of Portal for obvious reasons, but the different gravity states made it very interesting.

g_o says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:25am

The web version doesn't work
A great idea but it kinda fell short cause the levels weren't that fun and the flipped g is just confusing cause it's working only when you jump which is wierd cause g should always work...
I think one of the reasons were that the gravity was just too slow.
Still pretty good though

JetL33t says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:26am

Interesting concept. Played quite a bit :P

maxrebo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:33am

Web build should work properly now.

maxrebo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:36am

@g_o: Inverted gravity also works when not jumping, just tried it out again.

Rothens says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Wow.. Just wow! Nice job! :)

Greg Klein says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Reminds me of the tutorial levels in Titanfall. I wish they'd make Mirror's Edge 2 already. Anyway, awesome game! I wish I could made 3D games during 48 hour game jams.

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:53pm

The idea is nice, but the controls feel a little awkward. I'd like to keep my hands on WSAD at all times, but I have to move them to shift gravity.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:45am

Controls seem to me a bit awkward. Interesting concept which can be improved. Well done ++

CoolIron says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:23am

Nice job! The only thing that bugs me is the view. Sometimes I was lost while flying :)

Polona says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:54pm

Liked it a lot. Nice use of the mechanics!

TeamConn says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:27pm

well done, i like it.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Cool game with slick graphics and interesting mechanics. I found fairly often that the controls were reversed when I reversed gravity, though.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]