Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Universe Travellers

by MrSylar59 - Jam Entry

It's my first game made for a Game Jam, It's a die & retry game where you need to switch between two different worlds wich are connected together.

-Controls-

W A S D -> Move
Keypad 1 & 2 -> Switch between worlds

To win : Beat the 7 levels and if you die, you retry from start.

-Tools I used-

I made the game with Game Maker:Studio, audacity for the sounds, Paint.net for the textures and animations and the music is made by me with a synthesizer

-Edit-
Game fixed the 25/08/2014 at 9:55
Game fixed the 25/08/2014 at 22:30

-Fix 1-

+Control issue fixed
+Digit 1 & 2 can switch worlds too for people who don't have keypad

-Fix 2-
+Level 2 is playable for people who didn't have the levers

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#267Theme(Jam)3.42
#426Audio(Jam)2.95
#512Innovation(Jam)2.80
#514Humor(Jam)2.07
#531Mood(Jam)2.82
#553Fun(Jam)2.73
#566Graphics(Jam)2.92
#617Overall(Jam)2.85

Comments

Rehacked says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:21am

nice game .Good job.

CrazyDog says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Great game but keyboard input has bugs :( 7/10

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:28am

Liked that fact that the music transitioned from world to world.

LabOne says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:31am

Cannot move when two buttons pressed, please fix it.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:37am

Was satisfying to finish but did notice the keyboard input bugs as well, at times it felt unresponsive.

Also the music from the two worlds at time seemed to be playing in the wrong world. Liked the concept though and liked that it felt like a finished game. Nice job on a first game jam.

royvanrijn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:38am

Unable to press keypad 1/2 on my MacBook, which keys do I use?

naksrifati says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:47am

Nice game. Cool Graphics. But had a lot of trouble with the controls.

flatgub says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:47am

The player locks up when i try to press more than one button at a time, which makes avoiding the enemies quite difficult, and i also found i would often get stuck on the switches, so maybe consider next time making interacterbles non-solid. Other than these flaws and the fact that death restarts the game not the level, this is a nice little game, the music is nice and the concept is cool!
-Flatgub

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:06am

The controls are frustrating because it seems like if you let go of a key, movement will stop, so you will frequently abruptly come to a stop.

Cute rat thingy protagonist!

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:45am

I'm actually fix same bugs and I will reupload in about 2 minutes.

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:56am

Game fixed

ahmedmohi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:05am

Nice game, if there were any problems with controls i guess it's actually good and fun now .

enderargent says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:13am

Cool game,keep it up guys!

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:41am

I cant pass the second level, not sure if there is a bug. I cant traverse the wall like in first level. Great music&graph though.

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:48am

NuSan : Did you notice the levers?

CrazyDog says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:58am

Very good :D

Artamus says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:59am

Nice game! Congrats.

Sharkxx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:01am

Well done.

JosephLittle says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:03am

I'm having the same trouble as NuSan, and I can't see any levers :/

Lovely art and sound though, good use of the theme too :)

maike says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:08am

Seems like there are some bugs, or maybe I am misunderstanding the game.. At least I can't move through any of the blocks in 'level 2'

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:29am

You shall see those Switcher, what is your OS ?
http://www.hostingpics.net/viewer.php?id=861579Switcher.png

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:39pm

No levers on my screen, i use the web version on windows (tested on firefox, chrome and IE)

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:57pm

It's strange because the levers texture are uploaded and if it can't be a bug because it's only few people who have this problem... Maybe try the Windows vertion?

sftrabbit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:55pm

Also can't see any levers in the web version (Linux, Chrome 37)

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Also tested the windows installed version, same bug. Maybe you did something wrong when fixing the keyboard?

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:31pm

I go check and try to fix it but that work perfectly for me so, I don't know :/

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Reuploaded, still working for me, tell me if it works for you too.
I think I know the answer but : Your browser support Htlm5?

Perjoka says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:24pm

nice game as far as i can play it, unfortunately i also don`t have the levers to progress past level 2.

JackDegree says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:32pm

Don't get the levers either, I'll be back later. Game loos fun though :)

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:42pm

That strange and intrigue me ! I checked on 4 computers on IE, Chrome and FirFox : All can see the levers in level 2.

Did you checked World 2? (levers are only in world 2)

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Here is an image of the 2nd level on my computer : http://postimg.org/image/62ox2wjhb/

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:13pm

Ok Thanks NuSan : I think the problem came from my trigger

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:28pm

Reuploaded I pray... Maybe it's finally fixed.

NuSan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:42pm

Its working now, thank you so much, now I can play it ! Great job

Belvar says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:27pm

Yop, j'viens d'indiemag mais je vais écrire en anglais quand même pour que tout le monde puisse comprendre.

Nice game, I like the graphics and the music changing with the world you're in. The controls weren't that good though, I wish I was able to go in 8 directions rather than 4.
Congrats for making the music on your own, it's pretty good !

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:39am

Really cool flavor. The Keyboard input is a little "sticky" which can cause some frustration at times. but I love the artwork and really like the game design/mechanics. :)

camlang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:46am

Cool. But I did not understand why the mobs? They do not cause any damage.

Tanner says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:16pm

Cool graphics! Nice music.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:19pm

Hi there. Like the sounds, though they jar after a bit. I found the mobs on lv3 a bit too tough, probably not fast enough reactions.

Shivur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:46pm

Nice game! Maybe putting the change world button more accessible so your finger don't have to quit wasd (space for example) and only one button that make switch.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:12am

Neat game. Music could be slightly longer ;)

Vytheros says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:14am

Enemies get stuck a few times and wander. Good mechanic and it's really challenging

John Drury says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:47pm

Funky game! controls get a little sticky.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:53pm

Interesting concept!

Some suggestions:
* less contrast text - it's over saturated a bit.
* In survival level add countdown. I can only count in my head :3

Good job anyways!

spolsh says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:29pm

I love the idea of switching between two versions of the same map to discover new things. Checkpoints after level completion would encourage to experiment even more. Game has good appeal! Good job!

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:02am

Cool game. Nice and simple.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:35am

Great music at two worlds!

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:20am

Good take on the theme. However it was rather difficult to avoid the enemies on level 3. Good work!

mechabit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:32pm

cool html5 game. not being able to walk diagonally is rather distracting though

Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Not bad ^^. I find the audio kinda repetitive though...
(I saw your post on IndieMag too)

fisholith says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:15am

Nice game, especially for a first jam. :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]