Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

World Terminal

by Terrabalt - 48 Hour Compo Entry

"Very few know what lies behind our home. And fewer know how to access them. And you are one of the latter"

My Very first Entry! i hope this's worth the work.

(Sorry for the short description. i'm not a man of words, not even english.)
(Oh, and for someone who looks at the source... i DO import Scripts and Particles assets, but i never use the former, and used my own "art" for the latter. the one in Standard Libraries are the one i forgot to delete.)

Arrow keys / WASD = Move
Left-click = Shoot
Mouse = Aim

note: if you let the gun get destroyed, you're toast! just ram to a nearby enemy.
also, this game is endless! i was about to add winning condition, but due time constrants, i scrapped it.

27-08-14 7:30 PM: Fixed the "Enemy killing each other" bug. also, adding Linux Version.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#864Audio2.05
#1046Graphics2.27
#1047Fun2.40
#1063Mood2.18
#1069Theme2.29
#1079Overall2.57
#1165Innovation1.95
#1570Coolness40%

Comments

ivanhlb says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:59pm

Good first try. Can have more feedback to make it more game game-like.

chrupp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Nice little game. I like it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:48pm

You should let the player know what the controls are. I didn't realise at first that you could aim the weapon. It's a nice touch that your gun can fall off.

Terrabalt says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:46am

Thanks, guys!
ElectricSeagull: Oh, right. i forgot to tell people that. also, the reason the gun can fall off is actually a bug :P

syawqy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:08pm

this is good for your first time

CrefossusJam says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:40am

Movement of the ship and fire by mousedown are great. it needs win conditions and more interesting pacing. A variety of enemies could help.

Click in audio got annoying. It's a little rough for a sound played so often. I did like the hit sound effect.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:29pm

Hi there, you should upload the .html file as well as .unity3d, which Unity creates and then link to that from Web link.

Terrabalt says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:02am

mrexcessive: yeah, sorry about that. Google Drive hates me.

Dohan says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:12pm

Congrats on your first entry! I liked that you can aim the gun while moving.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:17am

Good effort for a first entry! Keep up improving!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]