Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Lucican & The arcane king

by KirkW00d - 48 Hour Compo Entry

hey guys so this is a really cool indie rpg so I hope you like it and if you make it to the end you will see how I incorperate the theme so hope you enjoy and sorry i couldn't make it online my things were playing up so you can download it in the link below.... thanks se ya next time

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2202Coolness0%

Comments

ViliX says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 6:07am

Looks like a solid game :)

BlueSama says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:19am

good

Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:37am

Playthrough 1: Triggered the intro earthquake multiple times. Walked around town; sudden random battle against a DEMON! Hit Demon for 0 HP! Demon hits me for 556 HP; I die. GAME OVER!

Playthrough 2: I RUN to the nearby shop. I have no money. Steal money from the shop's chest. Buy "Holy Lance" from shop, hoping it would work well against a demon. Can't equip Holy Lance. Try to exit store. Can't exit store. GAME END.

Playthrough 3: I RUSH to the Pub. Demon King attacks! I escape the battle unscathed. Enter the Pub. Hey! Free beer! Wait... MORE FREE BEER! YES! Give me more more more... OK that's enough beer for now. Maybe one more OK thank you. Exit Pub. Title music is playing in town. RUSH to the INN. There's a decorative set of stairs here. Ok time to move along. Um... exit the Inn? (Try it and you'll see what I mean). Go to castle...AGH! Stay away from Lord Arcane! Find secret entrance. Cool! I had the correct code! Find a chest. Random battle and then... "Unable to find file: Graphics/Battlebacks2/Stone2... GAME CRASH

10/10 would play again.

wolfmother says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:48am

Pretty obvious it you play it, but for those that aren't willing to brave a 90Mb download:

I'm guessing this is a sample game for an RPG creation kit that's been hacked up (badly, because it crashes a lot) to have new dialogue and LD30's name on it.

Probably no original work here at all, apart from the text which has similar standards of spelling and grammar to Kirkw00d's post above.

Sogomn says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 12:25pm

Looks good. What I was missing is WASD control.

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:58am

For the curious, looks like I was right:
"L" logo: http://www.dailydropcap.com/see-everything
Shield logo: http://www.photoshopzen.com/tutview-tut-21-nam-Cool-3D-design-pattern-for-a-free-logo.htm

Almost everything else is from the Crysalis sample that comes with RPG Maker VX Ace:
http://www.rpgmakerweb.com/download/additional/sample-games

Marcellus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:28pm

Those comments :) you guys rocks, I'll try your game for sure !

Ixeno says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:23am

the link is down ):

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]