Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dave's RGB Adventure

by swabbur - Jam Entry

You are stranded in a black and white castle... follow the knights tips and find your way home!

Movement: WASD
Sprint: SHIFT
Interact: Space
Exit: Escape

The game is made in Eclipse, using both LWJGL & Slick2D, all sprites are made in Paint (the standard windows version) and Photoshop CS6. We had a lot of fun creating the game and we finished just in time! ^^

There are a few known bugs, but I don't know if it's against the rules to fix them so I won't.
- Blue chest can be opened while sliding nearby.
- Movement is to slow...
- Sliding can crash when randomly pressing buttons XD
- The sword and shield are useless atm (was meant to fight the demon with)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#413Humor(Jam)2.35
#441Theme(Jam)3.04
#484Graphics(Jam)3.12
#492Audio(Jam)2.75
#582Mood(Jam)2.71
#617Overall(Jam)2.85
#651Fun(Jam)2.50
#673Innovation(Jam)2.36

Comments

yodamaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:29am

"Web" is for browser-playable games only.

kacperski1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:56am

The game was OK but nothing really outstanding. 3/5 :)

homeworld says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:03am

I just wanted to let you know that Chrome deletes the archive automatically on download, on account of malicious code! Unfortunately i wasn't able to play your game, since you don't have a web release;

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:12am

Hmm, your web build just downloads an exe file. I'm on a mac, so let me know if you have some way for me to play it.

Norfinel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:39pm

Nothing happened when i'm running the game !

upgrader says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:43pm

great game, nice story and the blue level is well made 4/5 :)

swabbur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:43pm

Fixed the "Web" link, I can't make a web version right now. (Don't know how, but I will look into it). Chrome does not delete archives. It gives you a warning. Look at the more options button to the right of the download to accept it anyway :)

What do you mean, nothing happened? Would like to help you! What OS are you on? and what is your Java version?

swabbur says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Added natives for Windows, Mac, Linux and Solaris. + re-exported the project. No .exe anymore! :)

swinestudios says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:19am

The art is nice, and it feels like the story could be expanded on for more content if you plan to continue developing. 39MB is pretty big for a zip file imo, and I noticed that you used .wav files for the songs, which tend to be too large. I know our group's experienced that too, so we usually go with the smaller .ogg files for songs. Just something you can keep in mind for any future games.

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:34am

While this game wasn't outstanding, I still think it's 10x better than the games out there that tried to do something too complex within the time they were given, and gave a half-baked game that was more often than not broken. The levels were a bit disproportionate in length, but be proud that you finished a game without bugs.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:52am

The single music track and slow running speed annoyed me, but the game was cool in general. Good job!
~funkeh

SlothyStuff says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:06am

Awesome game! I even had troubles with the green world, but I had a problem with one of the levers in there that i couldn't swithc. I'd love to see more of this game.

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:25am

I liked the game and the way you fitted the theme, good work! :)

mess110 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:24pm

java.lang.RuntimeException: Resource not found: res/images/icons/heart_full.png

looks so nice, please fix it. I wanna play it

Razoric says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:31pm

Great way to interpret the theme and nice art!

swabbur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:47pm

@mess110 Hmmm weird? Try redownloading the game. If the image really missed from the download everyone would have had that error.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:37pm

Movement overall is too slow. Sprinting barely makes it faster. Makes red room more balanced, but the other two are just painful.

Also, you can cheese the ice room by just grabbing the chest while you're sliding next to it.

Assets are pretty good. Seizure when you've got two dyes placed was... special. Game is pretty well crafted overall.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:50pm

The game did not work, since Linux is case sensitive. I changed the names of heart images.
The graphics were nice and the music went along. But personally I'm not so in to this kind of graphic and game style.

swabbur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Hey guys!

ALemmingSurivor Thanks for the feedback, I will fix the movement, the red level wasn't planned like this, it should've been longer but we had no time... ;)

The chest in the ice room will be fixed a.s.p.

@coffeemuggames I hadn't noticed the cases, sorry :s Will fix that too.

The Lag Pack says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:25pm

Nice game, but I didn't see the point of the sword and shield.

AlucardX60 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:21am

When I talked to the knight the text scrolled through way to fast even though I just tapped the space bar. The red level was too easy and the green level felt like artificial difficulty, but the blue level was pretty good. I figured out that if you hold space you can move diagonally from the snowballs.

MunkeeBacon says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:21pm

It won't launch on my mac :P

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]