Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Smugglers' Cave

by ElectricSeagull - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You're in a rapidly flooding cave only "connected" to the outside world by a teleporter.
Save the boxes of loot and try not to drown too quickly.

Move the player on the left with W,A & D, teleport the boxes with S and move the boat with the left & right buttons.

I only had about 12 - 14 hours, so I've probably missed some glaring errors and it's pretty ugly ... but it works! (...I hope)

Enjoy and good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#295Theme3.60
#421Innovation3.34
#548Humor2.34
#739Audio2.34
#739Fun2.84
#856Overall2.91
#897Graphics2.54
#929Mood2.53

Comments

Dx724 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Doesn't seem to work in the browser for me. Gets stuck at the controls screen with the last output in the JS console "sound4: Using HTML5"

TrickFishPie says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Same as above - doesn't seem to respond to key presses. Hope you get it sorted :)

Goutye says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Works pretty well!

Bugs list :
Spamming S => Multi box pop on the right
Spamming espace => MMMMEGA Jump

Nice little game ! Well played

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Thanks for the comments. The browser game should work now. I've changed the link directly to the index html file.
I know what's causing the box spamming, but I don't think it's within the rules to fix that now, so have some free points I suppose :)

Ramori says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:39pm

Web version didn't work on Opera and Firefox for me (white screen, no message).
Man, this game is hard, I like it :D I would personally add some friction on the platforms, because they are too slippery.

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Original. Quite tricky but fun idea.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:47pm

Works fine and is quite fun. Very hard to play, couldn't get more than 2 points at all. Maybe start slower and build up the difficulty. I also would make the player more controllable (less sliding).

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:02am

Liked the concept (as it is pretty similar to the one I used, but I'm not biased or anything), although you seemed to have done it in a better way.

ponywolf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:06pm

Nice concept. Would have loved to see what you could have done with more time.

ShivaFang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Nice game. Only real complaint is that the jumping character falls too slowly. The water catches up while I'm waiting for him to land on platforms. Is he on the moon or something?

Boberro says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:44pm

High score 5 :)

Colapsydo says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:47pm

I had some trouble with the physic on the plateformer part which render the game maybe to chalenging alone.
I give it a try with two players, it's much easier but still fun.

arhpositive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:43pm

Concept is good and gameplay is challenging. I played 5-6 times and I have a high score of 6. This game, if enhanced properly with more features, can also act as a 2 player game and remain challenging. Nice idea and decent implementation.

I too, have encountered that spamming S results in multiple boxes on the right side.

Other than that, I've noticed a slowdown of the game as you keep going higher, I don't know if its only in the web build or every one.

Jellycakes says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:59pm

Pretty cool, liked the idea! Played well too. Nice work.

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:00pm

The controls for the platforming half felt very floaty like I couldn't control him well enough to play the game. Its an interesting idea having to maintain both sides of the game though.

nintendoeats says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:31pm

Interesting. Also very difficult. Perhaps it would be easier if the platformer was on the bottom and the ship was on top? the player is usually looking up in a vertically moving platformer, so the boat would be in their vision already. When the boxes were dropping down the player would be able to quickly spot their general location because they eye is attracted to movement.

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:43pm

Very challenging game - highscore 8
Will come back for more! ;-)

scriptblocks says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:09am

neat

alvivar says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:37am

love it!

i think you can improve the walking on the platform side by decreasing the slippery a little.

juakob says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:56am

I like the mechanics, really related with the theme. Congratulation for the game!

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:48pm

Pretty nice 2 player game. I would have made it so the movement was a but smoother; sometimes it's very hard to control and you feel you lose unfairly.

In addition, why is it that when I go to the edge of the screen I appear on the other side :( Would have preferred if there was a solid wall there that collided with me and kept me there.

The sfx were pretty sweet and fit the vibe. Reminded me of an old dos game where you were a ball that bounced on platform. Don't remember the name.

Graphics are suitable too :) Good entry overall!

shatterhand says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Very cool concept, it could use better controls in the platform side, since like it has been said, the character floats a lot. Also, like it has already been mentioned, the game could have started slower and then speed up with time.


The spam S key to render multiple boxes actually makes the game more fun , don't ever fix it :)

cudabear says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:01am

Interesting little game. It was pretty difficult balancing the boat on the right and the guy on the left. I found if you spammed s when picking up a box you could spawn multiple on the other side. Other than that, well done!

Integershift says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:14am

I could see a local multiplayer game coming from this idea, very cool!

PixelMonkey says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:33am

Pretty cool! I imagine it would be a lot easier with 2 players, since it takes all my concentration to simply play with the platformer. The physics are a little momentum-heavy for him but the game is quite creative overall!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:40pm

This is really difficult! I need to split my mind in two.
Nice concept. I really enjoyed the fact the you had to different games connected.

grayhaze says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Starts off at almost Flappy Bird difficulty, but as with that game this just makes you try again until you succeed! As a one player game it's insanely difficult, as you're under too much pressure in the platform game to pay any attention to the position of the boat. As a two player game it has potential. Overall a good entry which could be improved upon to be a really solid game.

Mach60KAS says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:57pm

Hey, good game. I liked the challenge of a divided attention task, but I found you could generate up to 5 or so boxes depending on how fast you could press s for a single box.

romandtom says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 5:08pm

It was a nice idea, but too hard in my opinion :)
You should make it harder as you progress, and not starting when it is too hard like so.

jojocanard says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Fun concept but very hard<

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 8:34am

Tricky but very nice! I got immersed quite quickly, trying to get all the boxes in the boat. Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]