Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Dimension Jumper!

by German Kuznetsov - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Welcome to dimension jumper.
In this game you jump to a parallel dimension to come over obstacles in the first dimension. When jumping dimensions, you will be telaported to the same X and Y, but the terrain will be different!
controls:
ad-move
w-jump
mouse point & click-shoot
click blue portal- jump dimensions.
Hints:
click the blue portal to transverse dimensions.
if you come to what looks like the end of the map, jump dimensions.
glowing things are spawners. destroy them!!!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2075Coolness14%

Comments

Sogomn says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 1:19pm

Unfortunately it doesn't work for me :(

Aug 24, 2014 @ 6:02pm

Why? does it not run?(is there an errer mesage?) or does the gampley suck?

Ixeno says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:23pm

Can't open the file sadly ):
(HP laptop win7)

okmmjyygv says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:25pm

it doesn't run dude.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:35pm

Guys you nead java 8.

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:07am

Sorry, no Java.

strong99 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 6:58pm

The text was hard to read, but the dimensional part is rather nice.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:51pm

Okay... good job getting this done in 48 hours, but this game is difficult to play, and not in the good sense of difficulty. There are a lot of details that could be fixed to make the experience better:
* I never got the shooting part to work. I pointed and clicked, but no one ever seemed to get shot.
* The enemies don't despawn when you die, meaning that if you die by your checkpoint, they'll camp out and kill you again when you come back.
* It seems as if clicking the portal doesn't always teleport you, according to rules I don't understand. Is there a cooldown? If so, it should be clearly visible to the player how long they have to wait before they can switch dimensions again.
* I lose half my life if I fall further than 3-4 blocks. This feels a bit unfair - especially around the end when you pretty much have to take a fall of this height to proceed.
* A minor gripe, but the font is pretty hard to read.

If these things were looked at, I think your game could be a lot better. If something strikes you as a possible bug, I ran your game with the latest Java 8 on OS X.

Ofursnati says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 11:23am

how am I supposed to run this thing?

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 2:55pm

When doing community based competitions like Ludum Dare, it's in your best interest to make the game as easily playable by a lot of people as possible. Putting it in a .rar file is already going to turn away a lot of people. Requiring Java 8 is just another layer of difficulty.

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:10pm

Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]