Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

zombies you Going down

by joylessSnake - 48 Hour Compo Entry

the undead have came back from the underworld time to get rid of them

arrow keys to move
left click to shoot

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#832Humor1.92
#936Audio1.76
#1090Fun2.28
#1104Mood1.85
#1175Theme1.73
#1180Graphics1.78
#1187Innovation1.80
#1218Overall2.00

Comments

DDFranky says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:32pm

Chrome doesn't allow me to download the exe.

joylessSnake says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:11pm

The problem with chrome should be fixed.

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:33pm

Why you no Mac?

joylessSnake says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:39pm

do to problems with using the free game maker I cant get the license to make for Linux and mac

ReddogStone says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:48pm

I like this genre quite a lot, normally. Run around and shoot is fun in itself. However, I would rather add more weapons and extras instead of more levels. The levels feel quite the same, different weapons and power-ups give such a game substance. Maybe I'm missing something?

Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Not a bad little Game Maker game. I'm confused about the bullet physics though: when I fire a second shot, the first bullet disappears. Also, the bullets go through the enemies and hit the second (third, fourth, etc.) zombie, so I found myself lining them up and taking six or seven down at a time.

C_Walden says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:14pm

Hmmm. Chrome reports this as malicious; can't download it.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:23pm

It's a good beginning, but I feel like the core game mechanics and level design could have used a bit more work.

gene-z says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:38pm

A little bit problems here,,, can´t start the game

Miziziziz says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:48pm

Chrome reported this as malicious for me as well

rRootagea says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:10am

Has the beginnings of a cool game

DDFranky says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:39am

Ok now I can play it. The concept is good but there is a LOT of work to do: you need to work on the core mechanics, adding weapons and using the change world mechanics more than this I believe. Improving graphics and zombies IA. Also, add wasd support for movement :D

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:11pm

It's pretty bland, lacks many things to be a game really

Aglavra says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:36pm

May you make a file, that doesn't require an installation?

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:16pm

A good start. With some more time it can be really great

Posva says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:17pm

Funny game ^^
Having to install it isn't good, though

reheated says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:41pm

It's not very balanced... I found it pretty much impossible to die until a zombie appeared right next to me, and then I'd have no chance to survive.

udo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:42pm

"Connected Worlds LD48.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience."

Bummer after spooling up my Windows VM for this and sitting through an installer. Couldn't you make a version that runs on other platforms?

KingBolonzo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:07pm

pretty good start definately has potential to be really fun. So far your the only one but me whos used gamemaker check out mine if ya like: holiday nightmare

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:07pm

W00t, high five for Game Maker :D It's totally underrated as a jam tool, it's so quick.

Please export to .exe and then compress it to a .zip. Having to install the game is a hassle.

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:13pm

You're off to a good start here I think. I like that the bullets are piercing, you don't get that often!

YSelf Tool says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:28pm

First: Installing. Doesn't Gamemaker allow for a simpler way to distribute the game? If not, well, it's ok, but a simple executable (or even a web version!) would be really nice.
To the game: The enemies are slow. That's ok, not every game needs to be you-gonna-die-hard.
The projectile is slow. That's good. There's only one... that's a mechanic, prevents bullet spam, so it's ok too, but seems strange at the beginning.
There seem to be two levels and I came to the second one by going to the cake (?), but in the second one there was no cake, that surprised me.
You can get stuck in walls, that's bad.

jomomomo says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:22pm

Can't play on windows. :-(

Literal Games says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:16pm

I really like that the bullets go through enemies, makes it much more tactical and fun! Not bad!

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Nice entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]