Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Uninhabitable

by Slikker - Jam Entry

Exploration/Survival game on another earth - like planet, But you need to protect yourself against the nights. You are able to build houses on the foundations that was placed there by the explorers before you to protect you. Your main goal is to repair the warp gate and return to earth.. :)
Here is a mac version. i don't have a mac so i cant test it..

---------

Keys:
w,a,s,d, e to interact and i for inventory

---------

We are happy with how our first Ludum Dare went. We might have made our scope a bit too big, but given the time we had I am happy with what we made. We like the idea around this game and we are definitively going to keep working on it. We are thinking about making it a multiplayer survival game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#44Graphics(Jam)4.42
#60Mood(Jam)3.88
#151Overall(Jam)3.57
#260Audio(Jam)3.33
#279Theme(Jam)3.40
#376Innovation(Jam)3.05
#391Fun(Jam)3.00
#422Humor(Jam)2.33

Comments

HisShoes says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:01am

File was unavailable to download

TheGeekatory says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:02am

The download link for this game is dead.

IsaacL.Balogh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:07am

404 not found, couldn't event try it

dkkarate says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:17am

I really want to play this. Please fix the download D:

FXCesinha says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:17am

404 Not Found, beatiful pictures, i want to play it

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:20am

Not Found

The resource could not be found. D:

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:27am

Why you no Mac?

mechabit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:42am

Amazing amount of work for a jam

LuxPerpetua says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:38am

awesome grafic. good work :) anyway gameplay is a little bit. boring. But its still good idea for make large game :) 4/5

egos says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:42am

beautiful world

Phaix says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:46am

I really like the look of the game. Just some scales of some objects might need to be fixed. The character controller also needs some tweaks, as it feels sometimes like ages to move around and like you walk on ice.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:01pm

AWESOME GRAPHICS

TeamEagle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:01pm

Nice mood, looks great. Nice solution for walking to the edge, just killing me :P

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:02pm

I liked it. A bit hard to figure out what to do. You can also export a linux version since you used Unity. I don't need it but it's a common request so I figured I would let you know.

blindfox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:07pm

*starting the game* "Hey... You aren't a real person!"

Aside from the sometimes cringe worthy voice, this game is actually extremely pretty and has a surprising number of features. Lowering the rate of hunger and thirst would be welcome, though that is a personal complaint. Also, I have an issue with every first person game I have played in Unity where my sensitivity is off the charts. Don't know if this is my problem so I didn't detract based on that. Good job.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:27pm

That's awesome graphics! And the voice acting is a nice plus. I really enjoyed playing it, collect, craft, etc. Congrats.

RawboSaurX says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Visuals and sound is great! Controls, not so much. No sprinting ability, which means walking around is slow. Mouse sensitivity is also a little to high. I guess there are ways I could fix that myself, but yeah. Interesting idea, not mindblowing, but definitely not bad. Wish there were time for some more polishing, looks promising.

commodoreKid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:59pm

Graphics of the game and the story are really good. It also gives a feeling of helplessness. I liked it very much. A lot of work in 3 days :)
A few things:
- My health went on dropping down even though I ate and drank so I eventually died. I guess it's a bug.
- There is no collider on portal at the beginning.

Slikker says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:07pm

@commodoreKid There is a border around the map that kills you before you can reach the end of the terrain. We did not have enough time to add a notification.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:14pm

Veeery good game! The walking is realistic, but too slow IMHO. You get a big PLUS :D

Takashy87 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:49pm

Like the idea and mood of the game :) too bad that it would probably require tons of content to turn it into a full fetched game :/

Ryusui says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:57am

Amazing. How did you put together such a huge, detailed environment in such a short amount of time? It's a shame I couldn't find any water, or much of anything else for that matter - just some canned bacon and empty jerrycans.

Moosefly says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:04pm

The gameplay is pretty barebones, but the world had a nice desolate feel to it and it was interesting to just walk around and admire the view while searching for usable stuff. Voice acting was also nice, even though the voice was clearly computer generated.

Some things I didn't like were the slippery controls and the high mouse sensitivity. I also found it odd that the inventory could also be controller with WASD + Space, so I accidentally drank a few bottles of water while running and jumping around :P. Also noticed a couple of levitating rocks around the portal. Good job on the entry though!

Anssi@MooseflyGames

MicroChasm says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:36pm

I like it. Good graphics, nice idea, nice feel. Ambitious concept. I appreciated the little touches, like the ground tiles being at slightly different heights and the grass growing between the tiles. Controls are a little too fluid, and the camera to exacting, and it would be nice to have a run button. Minor complaints though.

One thing I don't understand is-- why is the planet uninnhabitable? Did I miss something? Did the government cut corners? Is there something nefarious going on? Seems like a major oversight on their part.

sudorossy says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:25pm

Looks gorgeous!

Drew Van Camp says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Spent a little while in this. I really love the realism. The environment feels so huge and very realistic. Sounds were good, lighting was great, textures were fabulous. Unfortunately, other than fueling a motor and stumbling across something I thought would indicate more supplies or civilization a little ways away from the gate, I never really managed to accomplish anything but collect a few useless items and keep myself from dying too quickly. But it was a very cool experience and I would actually play again if I thought I could do better or experience more. Great work!

Tosic says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:42pm

If I define your entry as a game and define other entries as games, I would be insulting your entry way too much.
What you made is NOT a game it is REVOLUTION!!!

When I was playing the "Uninhabitable" it felt like it was made by the best game developing company in the world!
You graphics are more realistic than real life, your sounds are so good that I felt that somebody is talking to me!

If you make it multiplayer it is gonna be THE NEXT BIG THING!!!!!

Slikker says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:01pm

@Tosic Hey man. we really appreciate your words. We really tried to put more gameplay into the game but we did not have enough time. I think you would be happy to hear that we will be making the game into a multiplayer survival game that takes place on this planet. We will be completely redoing our inventory system, and we will try to give players an incentive for playing together. eg. we will make it so that you need to power the communications tower for global chat. stuff like that.

GibTreaty says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Looks great and reminds me of Fallout 3/New Vegas.

I found a bug. If you go to the well where the "Last Rock Needed" is located, you can get unlimited Full Water Bottles.

borgi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Impressive!

KEFIR says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Stunning graphics! I can't believe that you did it in only three days! Great job!

Slikker says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 3:44pm

@Kefir thanx man :)

Lokarunith says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:19pm

Nice. Great amount of work for 72 hours. It's really hard to undertand what and how to do what the voice says at the beggining and the slow speed of the character annoyed me a bit. But overall, great entry.

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:17pm

I thought having watched Bear Grylls survive in the desert I would have been prepared for this, but I suppose not. But for real, I felt like I wasn't exactly directed with what to do. The walking did feel a bit slidey and slow at times. I loved the environment though, that was super well executed. I just wish it had been better explained or "objectified". It would be cool to see this continued further with ambient sounds as well.

CoolIron says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 10:17am

Good job! Loved TTS voice acting :D

Kojan says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 1:17pm

This game is SO beautiful, and the concept is just awesome ! Great job

someone says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:32pm

The camera feels more like a floating camera that walking around, also the collision could use some work, some of the tiles feel like invisible walls, and the gate has no collision at all. The graphics are pretty but let down a bit by the contrast in quality between the gate and the other models.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]