Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Alterned Realities

by Norfinel - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello ! It's my first participation at Ludum Dare and i love this ! My game is developed in C++ with visual studio 2013 and with the free library SFML. All of the contents have were created by me =p and with SFXR. Thanks, see you soon.

PS : IF THE GAME DON'T WANT TO RUN
- Install redist C++ 2013
- He is in the folder redist
- X86 for 32 bit and X64 for 64 bit OS

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness97%
#441Audio2.87
#790Theme2.89
#881Humor1.78
#891Innovation2.70
#912Overall2.83
#927Fun2.61
#1022Mood2.30
#1068Graphics2.22

Comments

Majko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:41am

Good idea, but i find it very hard to play.

Yasho says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:46am

This game is very hard to play.

BubbleChien says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Launched the process but didn't open any window, worked after compiling from sources. (+) More audio than other games tested so far. (-) Game is too hard, aiming with mouse would have been a better choice.

PTSnoop says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:39pm

That was... very tricky. I'd have liked to have seen a much shallower difficulty curve - maybe building up the number of enemies gradually over time, rather than throwing loads of you from the word go. Good game idea, though!

Norfinel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:16pm

oh sorry. I do not think my game was so hard. So I have updated him to make it more easier. Thank you for your constructive comments.

Sargonius says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:09pm

Please add a mouse control... and it'll be very fun and intense :)

Xgor says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:51pm

Nice idea, it's starts up quite forgiving but when you get the hang of it it's pretty fun.

X-0r says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:31pm

Wow... that game is fast! Did you consider "deltaTimes" between frames to adapt for the speed? I couldn't really test your game properly, because the turret spinned like 10 times per second :(

McFood says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Quite difficult I think, but I made it in the end!
Mouse control, might be a little easier.
Nice soundtrack and fun game. good work =)

Norfinel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:00pm

Ok thanks to all but it's true that mouse control would much better but i had no time to brainstorm for that. Thanks all for playing ! =)

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:40pm

Pretty intense, but a good idea and well-made!

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:12pm

Pretty fun, minimalistic graphics but really nice to play :)

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:59pm

doesn't start for me :( Installed that thing, but it says, that the game isn't win32 app :(

PaperBlurt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Good story, and good gameplay.
Great mix!

Norfinel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:37pm

MyougaHiroshi : Oh it's not normal. What is your OS ?

The Lag Pack says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:39am

Good game though the controls were a little difficult. It would be good if there was mouse controls.

JM-DG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:38am

I think you forgot to consider "deltaTimes" between frames to adapt for the speed because I can't play the game... It is waaaaay too fast. Turret spins 10 times per sec and incoming enemies go so fast i got about 0.5sec of reaction time.

MyougaHiroshi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:54am

Norfinel : xp 32 bit (and I've installed the x86 file)

Norfinel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:57am

I have made a version for XP now =) !

Norfinel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:15am

JM-DG: Ok for the speed I limited the game to 60 FPS, but if the problem is not solved i don't know if i am able to solved it.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:55pm

Cool game, very hard to play though.

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:53pm

I have redist C++ 2013 but the game won't start...

Hamsternator says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:00pm

Clever use of the theme, but the targets were a bit too small to be fired upon accurately with the speed you were forceed to have as the player. Still, a really fun game even in this unpolished stage =)

Vallar says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:50pm

Fun little game but I found it hard to be able to switch to dimensions at the same time when there are 3 colors coming at me at the same time. Had to die multiple times due to that.

But the concept was nice. At one point though the game lagged to 15 FPS when I alternated QWE fast (to try and get the shapes). So I had to stop it and run it again.

All in all, good game and well done! :D

dancingmad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:48pm

that's WAY to hard to play... Got to the boss, but i was beaten multiple times.

Raphy says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:35am

Hardcore controls! But the idea is very nice, it's good work overall. With better controls it could be very good I think..

bluesky says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]