Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Jabba The Bot

by rhebsgaard - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You take on the role of Jabba the bot, to delete the evil Browser in this amazing platformer.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#457Humor2.48
#818Audio2.18
#1068Mood2.17
#1086Theme2.24
#1171Innovation1.90
#1181Fun1.90
#1191Graphics1.73
#1215Overall2.03

Comments

wolfmother says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:38am

Played the web-based one, so I'm not sure whether it was a huge game file or a slow host. One or both.
Intro sequence is OK. Do you have the rights to that font?
Music is present but terrible.
Controls are sluggish and unresponsive.
Mechanics are a pretty basic and tired "collect the stars" with a "press <x> to change worlds" add-on. Seems pretty popular for this theme.
Graphics are terrible.
I think he may have been going for humor, but there wasn't much to laugh about.

Cheshyr says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:41am

multi-jump is a bit twitchy. can't make it past the first overworld. amusing story.

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:45am

Haha funny game but Jabba can jump??? Nice mechanics!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:49am

Jabba vs. Bowser, who will win!

The game was amusing, though the controls confused me -- sometimes the jump key let me jump 2, 3, or more times. Sometimes I would get stuck not moving at all! That might have been conflict between the up and right keys.

pjchardt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:49am

I liked the idea but the game seemed to suffer from some major performance problems. I played the game in chrome. It stuttered quite a bit and seemed to continue my input after I had stopped holding keys. This led to very frustrating deaths.

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:52am

Nice game but the controls could be a little better.

vinhuman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:58am

Definitely rough around the edges. I was having a lot of trouble with the controls. But hey, people are saying the same about my game so I can't fault you for that haha.

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Great job! I continued to play this game, but I just couldn't make the 4th to 5th platform jump xD. I would bring up Jabba's speed so he's easier to control. If you bring up his speed the 4th to 5th platform jump should be possible. Good luck and good job! :D http://www.gamegrapestudios.blogspot.com

Mallot1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:29pm

Hey, I noticed the game runs WAY faster now, great job! now the only problem is when I go to see the overlord, there's a giant jump that would need 4 jumps to make it. That's all I could see, Great job :D

rhebsgaard says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:33pm

Malllot1: Have you tried to check the overworld to see if there are any platforms in there?

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:03pm

Thanks for making this... was interesting to switch between worlds.

Aglavra says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:52pm

The game screen is blinking from time to time, when I play the web version (chromium). It would be less frustrating, if player had checkpoints, for example, respawn on previous platform (not in the beginning of the level).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]