Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Shit my Planet

by Talvara - Jam Entry

Shit my Planet is our Ludum dare entry.
---

The player has to connect broken chunks of a shattered planet together in order to supply her ever growing population with supplies.

to further fuel your survivor civilisation collect supplies dropped from meteors by jumping from chunk to chunk.

Last long enough to completely fill your population bar to achieve victory!

---
we think we've managed to get everything we wanted into the game, even a little polish on the menu. The only thing we couldn't add due to a lack of time was audio effects. we hope you'll make suitable noises with your body to compensate!

Have fun!

Gerben,
Maran,
Marius,
Frederik.


Music comes from :
http://www.audionetwork.com/
and
http://www.wavtracks.com/

Plugins/3d party code used:
http://wiki.unity3d.com/index.php?title=TimeBasedTrailRenderer
http://itween.pixelplacement.com/index.php

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#9Theme(Jam)4.32
#9Graphics(Jam)4.68
#22Innovation(Jam)4.16
#56Overall(Jam)3.89
#107Audio(Jam)3.71
#129Fun(Jam)3.53
#189Mood(Jam)3.47
#266Humor(Jam)2.69
#1796Coolness30%

Comments

maranoid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:24am

Very nice game, wow!
Graphics remind me of Warcraft :)

popcorn897 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:56am

This is top notch! The music is great, the stress of not having enough rescource, the INCREDIBLE graphics! Not to mention it's FUN!

porglezomp says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:10am

It seems like if you reset the game, the harpoon doesn't work.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:13am

great game, I cannot see the intro text clear at the start though, I think you may try not generating mipmap or use GUI texture type for that texture.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:17am

Gorgeous game. love the art style. Well done

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:19am

forgot to rate, sorry, done now

PixelOaks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:30am

I like the concept. Was impressed by the visuals, but couldn't figure out how to play

deathray says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:37am

Amazing graphics and concept! ...but the gameplay was far too hard. After dying a dozen times I finally got used to the controls, but then I realized that after a jump or two there were no more islands on my screen. Shooting chains randomly at chunks out of view meant I ran out of time every time. It would be nice if the screen auto-zoomed out if the islands are too far away.

SoulGame says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:42am

Amazing job. Game's rules are not very clear for me so I kept dying without understanding what I was doing wrong. I think I was creating bridge and collecting resources as fast as I could. In any case very impressive work.

Talvara says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:06am

I noticed 10 minutes after we delivered that the harpoons do not reset correctly if you reset the game... now luckily this can be avoided by just running the program again, but I certainly face-palmed when I found out.

It should technically be such an easy fix as well! A shame that I missed this bug.

Also, its awesome to see people having fun with this =D.

The graphics on the menu screen should explain all the controls and gameplay objectives. but its understandable that the gamerules are a bit 'out there'. its troublesome to hear that the intro text isn't working for everybody though >.<

The unpredictable nature of a physics system, and our rather... 'simple' procedural level generation doesn't help with providing a consistent level of difficulty.

Erkberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:52am

Nice artstyle, good music and the gameplay is fun, I enjoyed it!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:03pm

Pretty nice art, but the gameplay felt a little slow to me.

zkenshin says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:26pm

Very innovative, solid entry. Really enjoyed the art style. Nicely done. :)

Artamus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Nice game, congrats!

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:14pm

Beatiful graphics. Gameplay is challanging but unusual and interesting. I really enjoy it!

Rustam says ...
May 16, 2017 @ 9:27am

Your blogs further more each else volume is so entertaining further serviceable It appoints me befall retreat encore.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]