Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

YRENKO

by phaser - Jam Entry

A game about weather and nature. You will join Yrenko and his quest to find the 5 elemental cards to save the Crystal City.

The cards are hidden across planet earth each under different weather. You will need to travel travel across the planet to find them and not be killed by the shadowmen.

This game uses a Weather API so the game world weather is connected to real data in real time.

We hope you enjoy playing it as much as we did making it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#149Innovation(Jam)3.51
#159Mood(Jam)3.56
#250Audio(Jam)3.35
#306Theme(Jam)3.33
#315Graphics(Jam)3.55
#353Overall(Jam)3.27
#410Humor(Jam)2.36
#480Fun(Jam)2.86

Comments

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:01am

It's a little too bouncy, movement-wise, but I really liked the whole climate data concept for selecting a place to travel to. Great artwork as well!

Danman9914 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:47am

Really cool post processing effects! Added to the mood

tommyboys0107 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:08am

I like the graphics and effects!
Cards are a little hard to find, and enemy's attack is too bouncy.

jmjd says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:20am

The real world weather is a cool idea, and you've got a decent ambient audio track to set the mood. But never could find an elemental card, was too busy running away from the demons all the time.

ruerob says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:12am

Thank you for your entry. I liked the mood the audio and graphics created. The speech bubbles at the begining where hard to read, because they changed so fast. I really like your game.

01010111 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:06pm

I really loved the weather integration, and the audio was fantastic, but I was unable to find any cards so the world remains koyaanisqatsi

Jupitron says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:12am

Loved the art but couldnt find any card, ill keep playing! Awesome style!

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:15am

It was interesting and moody, but overall very, VERY confusing. Demons just piled up and chased me, pushing the attack button seemed to create a very short distance attack that didn't do anything. The mood was great, but the gameplay was terrible.

seantheartist says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:24am

Love this game, very creative

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:27am

I found one of the fabled cards! It was fun. I would get wrecked in corners sometime if I tried to turn back and there were a lot of enemies.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:36am

I don't know if you were going for terrifying but you certainly achieved it.

LandoSystems says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:52am

Interesting idea for a game and a good take on the theme, nice artwork and audio. Nice work! I couldn't kill any of the enemies though, they just bounced me around... its unclear whether they are supposed to be killed or just evaded.

dunin says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:51am

Good "connection" idea and good sounds.
But the gameplay need more features or to be changed (I stop after 3 cards)...

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Hi there. Like the smoothness of everything, the slight distort on the main terrain, the sounds and the particles from hits. Dislike getting lost on huge levels with no pointers... perhaps zooming back a bit. Also, on level 2 the mobs seem much tougher... spent ages running in circles shooting backwards. Good job overall!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:01pm

I really like the idea of using real life feed from a source to influence the game. I would have been interesting seeing the wheater actually affecting the game mechanic more than just affecting the graphics.
The game is a bit confusing but at the end I did get the idea and it was pretty good. To bad I only got 1 totem and I was playing for about 10 min.
I really enjoyed the visual effects, like the teletransportation shaking or how did the cold areas looked.
I hope to see this evolve into a more elaborated game, because it has the potential.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 2:55am

Couldn't find any cards but I could appreciate that you complete a polished game using a very innovative mechanic and a great atmosphere. Well done!

martim00 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 1:17am

Liked: the atmosphere and the use of weather api.
Disliked: couldn't find any cards in the levels.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]