Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

I am connected

by falcon11445 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have crash landed on a planet. You must collect coins from resources to buy a ship (i did not think about the story much). Only when you have collected enough coins, may you go home.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#827Humor1.93
#889Audio1.94
#1083Mood2.09
#1124Fun2.14
#1135Graphics2.05
#1172Theme1.75
#1185Innovation1.83
#1191Overall2.24

Comments

Norfinel says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:33am

This game it's like minecraft and starbound. It's not very innovative and i can't see the theme in your game.

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:36am

the theme is you have to get to your homeworld which you are mentallt connected to. If i had more time i would of put in a bit more of a story but i finsihed at with 5 mins left.

gwa says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:57am

Its good for a first Game I think. And if you stay in making games they will become better and better each time :) good luck

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:02am

thanks

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:17pm

norfinel the idea started offf as a game where you could travel between worlds to collecet resources to repair your spaceship. Then that fell through and i only had a few hours left so i went with this.

theCoder15 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:04pm

Ok game i guess

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:10pm

thanks

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:17pm

It's simple, yet lovely game :)

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:44pm

thanks :D

MrCakehat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:28am

Simple, but could use some work, maybe try to work on it post-compo? Could be something good

Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:34am

For a first timer is a good game. 48h hours is a tight limit. It runs ok and it does what it says. That is to be acknowledged.
So said, mining and farming in games is no fun and I hate doing it. I only do it if the process to get them is fun (defeating bosses, taking dangers, etc...) or if the things I'll be able to do with them are awesome.

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:19pm

thanks :)

Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:55am

Nice concept, I find really hard to mine things :P

falcon11445 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:31pm

yeah i need to work on that. Thanks for the feedback :)

Pierrec says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:15pm

A lot of little things to fix to make a fun game (for example : I don't think the fact to use two different button to mine and to chop is really relevant). It's still great to have finished something! Keep on making games

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Almost got lost in the trees. Good for a first game, but please provide a version without an installer next time!

falcon11445 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 7:48am

thanks :)

rhaasken says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:35pm

It was really hard to tell whether I was making any progress mining minerals and chopping trees, so I didn't beat it.

falcon11445 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:50pm

@rhassken i need to work on that, post dare

Code White says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 10:26am

Nice concept. Very innovative. Well done!!

falcon11445 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:29pm

thanks

Sep 7, 2014 @ 4:37pm

Nice start! I included it in part 18 of my Ludum Dare 30 Compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) http://youtu.be/Ix-68aPFWAc

falcon11445 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:27pm

thanks

kirbytails7 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 7:34am

Not bad. The collision doesn't seem to match up with the character position, and the extra movement with the mouse seems extraneous. Also, be sure to draw your UI in front of everything else.

falcon11445 says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 4:22pm

thanks for the feedback

TKia_ says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:41pm

You had a nice concept. It just could have used a lot lot lot more polish, but, that only shows that you could have used more time. And all of us could have used more time :P. I like the idea of the game and I think you'd have a lot of fun if you were to remake it into something better!

falcon11445 says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 6:28pm

thanks. I have been adding to it and making the controls better in last week

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]