Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Salvation

by HoboMechanistic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Update -- As some of you have asked, I have added a Post submission build with some bug fixes in. Sorry it took so long :) Thank you all very much for playing my game! :D The ratings are awesome and all but I'm just happy people are playing my game!

Just fyi - If a building isn't building it might be cause you don't have enough money, or enough population. Sorry the tooltip isn't helpful with that.
---------------------------------------------------------

There are a few bugs and no audio as I ran out of time. My first time submitting to Ludum Dare so please let me know if I missed anything. I attatched my Source and a link to a web version of my game :) Made in Unity with C# and mono.

When playing please take note of the following:
Known bugs:
Close any of your building panels manually as they won't auto close - I'm working on a fix
No audio - There is no sound in space...right? D:

Please make sure when you play that you build a HAB block as your first building and then an industrial one of the same race. If you don't, you might get stuck on low funds and a rebellion will happen. This is a design issue I'm working on atm.

Made in 30 hours, from scratch, including assets as I'm sure you can tell :P

Game Objectives:
=================
To win have a population of 200 or over
If your happiness drops to below 0 you'll lose
=================
Hab buildings are used to increase Capacity, which is required for your population to grow.
Industrial buildings allow you to make some money on the side at the cost of population (who become workers) and not rely on government funds. (That little pink spaceship is a government ship bringing building mats and funds :D )
Defence and Medical buildings just add to happiness at the moment.
If you can't accommodate the refugees that arrive at your facility you'll see a little pink ship fly away at the bottom of your facility. This means they are leaving and may cause unrest in your facility! D:

Goodluck Administrator!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#752Humor2.06
#768Innovation2.87
#899Mood2.57
#950Audio1.67
#1056Theme2.33
#1098Graphics2.16
#1101Overall2.52
#1133Fun2.10

Comments

43iscoding says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:29am

The gameplay seem to be interesting, but I could not cherish it due to poor UI :(

I tried game twice and struggled a lot.
First time I played on my own and managed to get 1 building up . Then I read game description and could not build a single one :D

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:32pm

Hard to use, but I managed to win. Seems like a solid concept, but not much to do once you've built all your buildings. Interesting idea.

teoacosta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Neat idea, the UI makes it a bit hard to figure things out. But once you get the hang of it it's pretty cool.

Tomker says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:25pm

Confusing, but really interesting : ) Try to make more intuitive UI next time.

Josh H says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:13pm

This is an interesting concept, but the interface was not very intuitive. I wasn't sure what I was supposed to do. I like the graphics and the idea though.

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Interesting idea but the UI was hindering my experience.

foolmoron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:22pm

Not sure if there was a cursor or something, but it seemed like buildings were going up in random places for me

Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:37pm

Thanks for the feedback guys :) I'm going to work to improve this now that the compo is over. foolmoron, when I added a texture to the construction blocks it broke the highlighting functionality. So you can't see what block you have selected currently :( The building will be built on the last construction block you clicked, buildings can also overwrite other buildings. I know it's pretty messy right now, but thanks for trying it out all :D

waynaul says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:34am

Fun game. It was satisfying to see my camp prosper. By the time I reached the win condition I was rolling in funds. It's good to be the admin.

Your log was an interesting read. It sounds like you got bit by feature-creep in the middle of development which caused you some stress later on.

malf says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:22am

Good idea, I have a hard time "getting" the interface though

yodamaster says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:45pm

WYSInotWYG. Seemingly.

Benjamin says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:43pm

The highlight bug is a bit frustrating, I also had no idea of the building price I could never buy the last military building even with 5600 funds

stephenhaney says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:52pm

Aaah - I really want to play this game! I think the concept is terrific, and it looks like something I could really spend some time with. I'd definitely like to see it with a more polished UI. The broken auto-close is obviously a major issue.

Also, sometimes I would click on buildings and nothing would happen? Do they cost different amounts of funds? Perhaps I didn't have enough. If so, it would be great to be able to see the cost for each building type.

Anyway, ambitious game for 48 hours, but I'd love to see it when it's dialed in. As it is, I gave up after 5 attempts.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 7:51pm

Nice first submission to Ludum Dare! However I could not really get what was going on and then the UI was not hiding panels when opening new ones, so it added to the confusion. It would be great to see a post-compo version were those issues were solved so I could inmerse myself more into the experience you are trying to provide to the player. Good effort for your first LD!

Aglavra says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 11:48am

The interface makes the game difficult to play^ why not to highlight the chosen construction block, where the building will be built?

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]