Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Connected Retro Worlds

by yodamaster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

USE GOOGLE CHROME FOR BEST RESULTS. Some other browsers have sound-issues.

Save the world! Play three retro-world games in one at the same time.

Left side: Asteroids are coming in from space. You can use the mouse to position your crosshair and left-click to shoot a rocket - it will explode at the fixed position only. Destroy the asteroids. If an asteroid reaches the bottom, it will be transfered to the middle retro-world.

Middle: The sky. You can use the mouse to move your catching-device horizontally so it catches the asteroids. If an asteroid reaches the bottom, again it will be transfered to the right retro-world.

Right side: The street. Use mouse to direct your car and dodge the fallen asteroids. One hit and it's game over.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#70Theme3.98
#164Innovation3.72
#256Overall3.52
#334Fun3.30
#353Audio3.05
#530Mood3.02
#552Graphics3.11
#641Humor2.20

Comments

klarax says ...
Aug 23, 2014 @ 11:35pm

AMAZING !

Inateno says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 2:55am

awesome connection ^^ nice work

BlueSama says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 7:37am

Very fun, enjoyable solid game

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:53am

Awesome! I really like the idea on three different screen! Congrats!

MrSylar59 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:12am

Juste wow ! It's an exellent work ! Amazing idea !

ronaldm says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:56am

Great game!

midgard says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:59am

Didn't understand how did it work, but seemed like a nice and innovative idea!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:02am

Good use of the theme!

drstik says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:20pm

I love the concept, great work!

OmegaVesko says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:30pm

Nice graphics, interesting interpretation of the theme.

I've noticed the missiles start to pass through the asteroids almost every time after a while, though - I guess this was intentional?

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Nice conpect, It just needed to be a little faster.

BubbleChien says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:41pm

Like this game, the system using the three screens is clever!

fleegle2000 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:01pm

Solid, enjoyable, and the challenge escalates nicely. I like how you connect the three different game styles. The pixel art is well-designed and gives it a nice retro arcade feel.

shatterhand says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:02pm

Ok, this was freaking awesome and the best game I've played so far. Great idea, the difficulty raises at the right moment.

The only thing is that after asteroids get into the street, you just ignore the space part and just try to survive, hehe. But guess there was no other way to do it.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:03pm

What a great idea! Really enjoyed the tying of the theme here.

tiff says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:06pm

Cool concept, nicely done!

BillToWin says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:07pm

Great concept, solid execution, nice ambient sound. But, I thought it was a too easy, especially for a retro game.

mess110 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:22pm

290 nice game

rjhunter says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:31pm

I played an earlier pre-release game where the worlds were controlled separately. Controlling them all at once seems much better.

The music was pretty cool on and epic sounding, but seemed a bit out of character with the retro arcade theme.

Good job! (especially good for getting something playable up early)

local minimum says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:20pm

Really nice game. The issue of where to focus attention was really interesting. As long as one kept it to the left panel it was sort of easy, but then it got hard quick.

Markavian says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:36pm

I crashed my car! Fun on three screens, didn't seem to get any harder as the game went on. Cool build.

Sasurai says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:02pm

Really like the concept and the three screens mechanic. Maybe a bit too easy on the balancing side.
Couldn't get to destroy any asteroid by shooting at it though, the missiles just went through. Do they need a lot of hits? If this a bug?

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:18pm

The game was a little easy if you were attentive to the right side. I let some asteriods creep by though to see what it was like and it got hectic fast! Really clever use of the theme!

Jupitron says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:53pm

Hi!
First of all, the name is awesome!!! It rocks!
Awesome style, its pretty solid!
Made 1020 points, please add leaderboards!

yodamaster says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Hint for shooting asteroids on the left side: The rocket explodes at the point the crosshair was when you clicked. This is indicated by a smaller crosshair appearing when the rocket shoots. It's like Missile Command. Get it? You have to aim in a distance in front of the asteroids.

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:51pm

good game, addicting and fun, and great concept! It would be awesome if you could use arrow keys or something to control yourself. It was tougher on a laptop.

S0rax says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:59pm

This is very difficult but I like it. Nice work !

John Drury says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:13am

Good use of the theme! Got challenging when I let through some rocks.

jayemjee says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:46am

...glorious. And, addictive. I could see this as a multi-player game, too.

Andrew Adams says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:55am

Hmmm

billknye says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:37am

Three worlds! So many two world entries, pretty well done, nice job.

Meganopteryx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18am

Very nice work. Fun and kind of relaxing. Nice take on the theme. The music made it really atmospheric. It's actually really easy if you shoot all the asteroids, you might add other things to make it harder.

rantt says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:24am

Great idea for the theme. I enjoyed it :)

H1S2 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:02am

interesting interpretation of the theme. the level of difficulty could be higher. has definitly some potentiial.

marvalgames says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:08am

Well that was different :)
Clever and fun tho. On occasion it seems like nothing happens in the catch screen? Me Like tho .

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:24am

The shooter segment was unintuitive, but I got the hang of it. There seemed to be an issue where one asteroid got by me, and suddenly that same asteroid kept respawning in the driving segment. In general, once a single asteroid gets past, the player really can't recover.

I enjoyed the concept and take on the theme, and I loved the Atari-style rectangular pixels in the middle panel too. Good work on your entry!

ninjascript says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:36am

Awesome! Great difficulty scaling -- just enough time to get all the mechanics down before it really started going nuts on me :)

RodRoy1 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:14am

Awesome little game. It's a bit low to get going, but once it starts to get going it gets really hectic fast.

Piat says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:16am

You're golden if you don't let anything through on the first screen. haha

twintrite says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:03am

Great game, fun and challenging and good theme interpretation :)

bazld says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:41am

Great concept!! Perhaps make it a bit more challenging at the start - the game is best when its challenging you.

gladers says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:39am

Great game!!

JaJ says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:01pm

The trick is to only focus on the middle field, since that is the easiest game by far. By the time you let anything through in the game (4200 points in my case) keeping track of both the car and the basket has become impossible anyways.
But the idea was really cool.

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:35pm

Great concept! Lovely graphics.

But what if I'm so good I never missed an asteroid on the left? :3

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:19am

Fantastic! So simple and playable. I love how the difficulty creeps up on you. The music reminds me of Terminator.

chrismcmath says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:04pm

Fantastic idea, with a great built in difficulty ramp. I think the retro art style works against the gameplay here by making all three worlds feel too similar- despite it being a game-over maker I didn't feel very different about the car on the far right screen than the retical or the catching device. A stronger theme might help here. Also took me a while to realise it was the same asteroid falling on all three screens! Do they need to be asteroids, or could they be something more unique?

Oli says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:40pm

Good concept, it's addictive ^^
I just don't understand why my missiles sometimes pass through the asteroids. Anyway, nice game!

ZoneOne2 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:11pm

I like the multiple lines of defense mechanic. Although it started out a bit slow, it was a pretty fun game.

Also, I've added additional instructions to my game for how to handle the .love file if you want to give it another shot.

LaFleur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:03pm

Loads of fun! Good job!

Artamus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:40pm

Nice game, congrats!

BuffaloPhil says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:56pm

That was a lot of fun! Great work

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:41pm

So great idea! Congrats!

bvanschooten says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:43pm

Original and well executed. I think it takes a little too long at the beginning before the game gets challenging.

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:46pm

Nifty little idea, seems a bit odd to make the obstacles in the sky/road ones asteroids too though. Nice work gettin' three games to work together essentially :D

mechabit says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:21pm

Cool game, could do with faster difficulty curve, maybe add some power ups that you could let drop into the lower levels for different effects. Also I feel like the asteroids should get bigger as you get lower due to scale.

barryrowe says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:30pm

I'm intrigued by the asteroid controls. At first I was frustrated that the rockets didn't destroy anywhere in the line. Once I got used to it though, I liked it, and I also haven't seen a mechanism like that. also very tough if you miss many asteroids!

jerombd says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Interesting and fun gameplay, but it lacks challenge if you shot every the asteroids: maybe you could speed up some asteroids, or made them all faster (now it's pretty slow).

Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:58pm

Neat idea typing the games together. I'd polish and work on it some more as it has potential. I eventually found I could just focus on the middle catching and ignore the rest. Unfortunately the car section presents you with impossible dodging situations so the game is forced to end.

Manou says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:01pm

very good. controls are perfect.

eruiz00 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:22pm

Three jewels in one. That is the idea i would want to have. Awesome realization. Retro will neverdie!!!

TeamEagle says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:45pm

Really liked the concept. And was good fun playing

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 8:01pm

Is really stressful to handle the three maps at once! but it is very interesting and has a great aesthetic! Nice job!

diamondgfx says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:35am

Very fun, but you can just pick a screen and win forever on that alone

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 4:31am

I liked that the goals were different in each screen. I felt that hitting the asteroid was hard at times. Maybe each one has different hp, or it wasn't registering that I had hit it. Not really sure. Definitely and interesting and fun game, though.

Crefossus says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:05am

I didn't quite understand when the rockets explode until a couple playthroughs.

Good audio and visual feedback for destroying your targets. Nice presentation of score and other ui elements.

Naytron says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:01pm

Great idea with the inter-connected-world controls and having each scene progressively linked to each other, really awesome job!

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:56pm

Some chiptune music would have fit better, but anyway good game ^^

pjimmy says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:59pm

very innovative, sometimes the rockets miss the asteroid, everything else it's great

pikkpoiss says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Cool concept, and really great music, which lends a lot to the atmosphere. Great job!

Tomker says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Nice, enjoyable and fun.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Very good take on the theme. Great effort!

kidando says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:20pm

That was an interesting idea. I failed horribly, but I still liked the play. Awesome work on completing your entry

ruerob says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:01pm

Wonderful little game. Thank you for your game. Everything fits well together.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:23pm

You've done an excellent job balancing the interpretation of the theme with a fun game. The core mechanic is so simple, and yet it's very different from most of the other games I've seen. Great job.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Great game, solidly done with awesome 80s soundtrack. Like how seamlessly the concept fell into each game.

_Rilem says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Great idea :)
Strangely enough the astroids kept spawning on the left screen. At least 90% of them spawned there. I don't know if that is supposed to happen in the beginning to make it easier, or I just got lucky :P

waynaul says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:06pm

Hi yodamaster. From your question on my game, I can't tell if you were able to play it. I responded to your question. Thanks

TheExGenesis says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 10:04pm

Clever!

Crazi456 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:42am

Very nice concept! Well done!

varun says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:52am

Not two, but three connected games! Loved the fact that it eases you in one game at a time.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:12am

Nice entry, really interesting concept although, as it's already been said, if you manage to shoot everything on the first world the 2 others are a bit useless :)

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:08pm

super cool idea to throw everything together like this.\! pretty confusing too though!
great visual style and gameplay
Great work

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:46pm

Great game! Once i figured it out it was fun. I couldn't seem to even shoot one asteroid??

jmf says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:38pm

Great use of theme, could do with ramping up a bit faster in the beginning though. Good work though!

ConciseBit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:00pm

Great take on the theme and it is a very great game on its own! Everything works together nicely!

personally I would prefer the shooting mechanics slightly different, i.e. shooting along the straight lines instead of aiming as that caused confusion in the controls. I know it would make the game easier but then it is more fun too with better controls

Good job. nicely done

Druid says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:17pm

Really cool idea! But sometimes is game impossible to play because that car part. Asteroids made a barricade :(

ponk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:02pm

This is excelent!!
Super great job!

Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:43am

I like the concept, the three seperate games was cool. I would have liked to see the asteriod from the first game be a diffferent (more fitting maybe) sprite on the others like traffic cones for example on the car game. Might be hard to explain. The music did not fit well in my opinion. Good job!

lorniebear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Stuff keeps falling onto the right even when I catch it in the middle. Is it supposed to do that?

gwa says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:04pm

That is Mindfucking :)

Homletmoo says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:18pm

Great idea! It took a while to get to a point where it was actually difficult, but once it was there it was very fun to play.

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:29pm

Interesting game concept. I feel that As long as your paying enough attention to the first or second column, you will never lose. So the game is really a question of how long can you pay good attention. My score was 1830 after my second try. Overall, good game! :D

brogrammers says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:21am

how to play??!?

brogrammers says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:23am

just kidding (: just wanted to scare you
your game is awesome, 5/5!

bluesky says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:24am

Good job!

Binary Gambit says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:26am

Thanks for showing this at the Frankfurt Independent Game Dev Meetup.

damrem says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:51am

Very good, I liked your interpretation of the theme and the simplicity of the concept. A small critics: I think graphics and music don't really fit together...

Ted Brown says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Super dope concept. You connected three distinct game mechanics perfectly... not an easy task! The difficulty ramp was a little slow, but that's my only small complaint. Thanks!

LeftRight92 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:00pm

I thought it was easy...then sudden and terrifying difficulty curve. Nice.

psychonull says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:28pm

haha sooo good!, perfect fit of the theme and the "retro connection" ... just awesome!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 8:57am

It seemed like one could contain the onslaught on the left-most screen but it got hectic after a while. Very fast paced, liked it...

swich says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 10:48am

Very enjoyable. I like the atari style clouds. My complaint would be that difficulty should start increasing sooner and less abruptly.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Not bad. It felt a bit short once you realized you can just play the middle game and succeed quite easily.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Good idea, but I was able to shoot all of the asteroids for long, and that way the connection with the other two worlds don't make sense (catching all seems even easier). It should be the other way around: first avoid, then shoot/catche them.

whalebot says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:03pm

This is a fantastic interpretation of the theme! I didn't even realize that the three worlds were actually the same world (just at different levels of asteroid mediation) and when I realized that... well, mind=blown... Excellent graphics and all around a fantastic job with this!

dusho says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 8:09am

Amazing idea and realization! Really fun
Like the atari style gfx (player missile graphics).. good old times

Budaniel says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:15am

I love the concept, and it's allot of fun to play.

mrspeaker says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 3:01am

Haha - this is great! Though, I think the music most matches the asteroids version - when I was looking at the driving game I wanted an upbeat racing soundtrack... can you make it detect my eyeballs and play the right soundtrack depending where I'm looking? Thanks.

chongdashu says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 5:16am

Haha, great fun! :) Nice idea and coherence with the theme!

malf says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 9:00am

Very funny game! Congrats!

Katamori says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 10:01am

Nice idea!

EMAK says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:56am

really good concept!

2HitMatt says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 12:42pm

This is awesome! Well done!

Endurion says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Works nice in IE11, just no sound.

Neat concept, it's really hard to concentrate on more than one part. The difficulty curve is weird. It takes a long while to get harder, but then it runs towards impossible in a few seconds.

arttut02 says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 8:12pm

Very entertaining game. At first you think that this is an easy game. After a while... well.. you don't ;)

Sogomn says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 5:14pm

Really cool!

bob_fish says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:07pm

Love the idea, great music. Got kinda easy though as I could just keep shooting them and not have to bother dodging or catching. Maybe make it get harder quicker.
Liked the music!

Snicklodocus says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 10:00pm

This is really cool. One of the better uses of the theme I've seen. I think difficulty could ramp up faster. It took me a while to understand the asteroid game. Greta job!

SnoutUp says ...
Sep 9, 2014 @ 10:08pm

Very nice, truly fun to play!

jprogman says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 1:55am

It's pretty easy to get pinned to the side of the screen when I'm not too careful, heheh.

nothke says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 8:48pm

Great idea!

okmmjyygv says ...
Sep 11, 2014 @ 9:53pm

You should make it a little bit easier (or maybe I'm noob :)). Other than that, very entertaining.

Sep 13, 2014 @ 6:32pm

That's a very cool concept and I hope you elaborate on this. The shooting seems control-wise a bit less intuitive and the middle part gets a bit too easy. But yeah, as already said: nice idea!

silentlamb says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:20am

Nice idea! I couldn't find out why there are two additional screens. It took me a while to "miss" asteroid on the first one and then everything was clear.

01010111 says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:15am

Wow! The first time I died I thought "Well that's dumb, all three lanes have asteroids, I can't drive past that" - but then when I realized the connection between worlds it all clicked. Awesome job!

raddevon says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:29pm

I love the way this uses the theme. Great work!

Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:33pm

interresting game

eskivor says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 12:45pm

cool

Frankus says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 2:55pm

Amazing and simple game. Loved the way that you've exploited the connected worlds theme. Gets tricky once you got 3 screens to watch. Brillant job!

AlexFili says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 6:38pm

This game is so innovative. I love the fact that any mistakes you make on 1 and 2 have a big effect on stage 3. As far as I know, any asteroids on stage 3 will stay there so there's a really big incentive to not make any errors. Simply brilliant!

romandtom says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 10:31pm

One of the most creative ideas I've seen in this LD
Good luck!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]