Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Rainbow

by mons657 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You are James, a red rectangle. His family was kidnapped by the evil green rectangles. However, James has the Rainbow ability, which means he can see all of the colour worlds and teleport between them. He must make his way through three levels by jumping through the worlds to the end.

Controls:

A and D to move
W to jump
Enter to restart a level
Arrow keys to Change Colour World
You can only stand on platforms of the same colour as you, with the exception being grey, which is always solid.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#446Innovation3.30
#870Fun2.68
#912Overall2.83
#925Theme2.64
#969Mood2.45
#1170Graphics1.91
#1523Coolness42%

Comments

HolyBlackCat says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 9:59pm

Downloading from dropbox requires registration. May be add an alternative link?

mons657 says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 10:42pm

I will try to fix that. Thanks for letting me know.

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:55pm

oh, java has a physics library too?

mons657 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:42am

No, I did the physics myself.

ThijsTak says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:25am

OK, for some reason the game runs very fast on my system. Like the idea though.

mons657 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:24pm

I think I messed up the tick rate code somewhere.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:26pm

Interesting game I included it in part 5 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/W46twhRFdK8

micdoodle8 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:15pm

Some timer issues causing me to move super fast, but looked intresting. Wasn't able to rate it.

shasharala says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:17pm

Huh... it seems to run extremely fast on my system as well rendering it unplayable. The idea is interesting, though.

OnlySlightly says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:18pm

Really cool concept. It's a fun mechanic, but it ran super fast on my computer.

EndingChaos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:58am

great entry man!!!

mons657 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:37am

Yup. I definitely messed up the tick rate.

spotco says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:56am

Played it for a surprisingly long time. Kind of hard to remember which key was which, and physics felt a little off.

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:18pm

great job! nice game, I would have liked to hear some audio though

AtomicVikings says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:18pm

great job! nice game, I would have liked to hear some audio though.

Unfortunately you weren't on the stream while we played this. You can find a video of this game on our twitch channel.

Hempuli says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:49pm

A nice idea! It took me a bit to understand the controls, but afterwards the game was logical and pretty fun :) I hope you keep working on this!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:40am

I also have issues with the game running too fast, but this is an interesting concept.
~funkeh

Benjamin says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:43am

I also have the superfast bug here. How come some people don't have it ?

mons657 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:40pm

I forgot to limit the speed at which the game ticks, so it runs as fast as your computer will allow it. The faster your computer, the faster the game runs.

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:04pm

Great innovation, cool concept!

borgi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 9:57pm

Rns too fast, but I like the idea!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:30am

Very interesting and innovative use of theme. Cool mechanics make for a cool game. Great job.

dancingmad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:41pm

the game runs so fast i'm not able to test it...

jomomomo says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:59pm

Can't play windows games... can we get a web ver?

SnoringFrog says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:12pm

Controls felt kinda jerky, but otherwise not a bad game. One thing that would have been nice is to have some indicator of which color went with which button. Even though there were only 3, I often found myself dying b/c I pressed the wrong button on accident.

mons657 says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 3:31pm

SnoringFrog good idea. I will try to add that.

romandtom says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 7:11pm

nice idea.. could be much better with graphic.
Hope to see more games of you in the future :)

mons657 says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 11:48pm

romandtom: Yeah, originally the graphics were going to be better, but then my rendering system broke down, so I rebuilt it to be simpler.

crazyrems says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:11am

It moves slower when you hold a color key.
And it's impossible to climb slopes, you have to jump.
This makes this platformer from nice to unfinished :/

Aglavra says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 12:03pm

Interesting idea, but not the best implementation: controls make the game hardly playable for me, because the response isn't very fast. The main character keeps direction and velocity of movement, after it falls down and level restarts.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]