Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Friendly Baubles

by micahcowan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

(NOTE: Tested on FIREFOX, CHROME, and SAFARI. All other browsers, use at your own risk. Firefox is most heavily tested.)

You live within so many worlds. But your friends don't know each other. There are connections between your worlds. You're beginning to lose your identity!

Talk to your friends, grab them and toss them into your other friends, unlocking other worlds. Try and get all your worlds connected! (For starters, try connecting the two people who like to call you "n00b")

WARNING! PARENTAL GUIDANCE SUGGESTED. This game includes some (rather juvenile) humor and phrases that parents may find objectionable for young readers. Play through the game yourself first (it's not hard to figure out most of the connections to make) and decide whether it's appropriate for your children before allowing them to play.

"Improvements" version fixes some movement glitches, adds more path-taking variety to the worlds, and has significantly improved graphics for the "friends".

Written by hand in HTML5/Canvas + JavaScript, using the CreateJS library.

Music played on my Yamaha NU-1 upright-action digital hybrid piano. Sound effect generated using Audacity.

GPL, GPLv3, CC BY

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness88%
#102Audio3.61
#215Theme3.72
#236Innovation3.58
#273Humor2.83
#486Mood3.07
#596Overall3.17
#892Fun2.65
#902Graphics2.53

Comments

Khaibit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:16am

Very nice! :) Smooth graphics and easy to pick up and play! Congratulations on the successful submission!

Khaibit says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:39am

Very well done. Came back to rate :)

robbiehunt says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:21am

Yet another great interpretation of the theme. I think I gravitate towards these interpersonal interpretations because I had an idea like it early on and really really wished I pursued it for the compo! (But ultimately I'm really happy with my creation) Really nice!

Sargonius says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:07am

Nice :)

Kate Kligman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:09am

This is a very neat interpretation of the theme.

jas7229 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:27am

Nice concept for connected worlds! (:
Also, I completely fell in love with your light simple music ~ it gave the game a very relaxing and inviting atmosphere. ^_^

Snuux says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:32am

Small, but awesome! Thanks!

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:35am

Nice game. Pretty soothing music.

Mezzenstein says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Yeah, music is great and the idea is very nice. I really like that this is also a game for kids.

pxlcoder says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Great concept! The audio was perfect for the mood.

Laralyn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:30pm

Interesting idea! It might be easier if the controls were spread a bit more on the keyboard--like having grab, connect, etc. on O, P. Great work!

micahcowan says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:30pm

Mezzenstein, er, for kids? Not quite. Some of the sayings in the fourth world are a bit PG to PG-13.

Not that that stopped me from letting my 7-year-old play...

sai_aya says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:40pm

Nice graphics and music, and this is an awesome way to interpret the theme !

Well done, pretty cool game.

maad9 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Nice idea. Simple and fun :) good job!

MrTambourine says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:43am

Very clever idea. Most people iterpreted the theme as connection of different Universes or planets, but there are many different worlds around us, which can be connected somehow. I like that mood and humor! :)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:37am

Simple, but interesting! Really nice idea. Also loved the music!

lorniebear says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:56pm

I LOVE the sound. You are really good at piano. Do you play any other instruments? You should because you clearly have musical talent

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:29pm

It took a few minutes to figure out what to do, but then I got into it and enjoyed it. This is a very good take on the theme.

Not a game for kids though. I'm relieved that my daughter couldn't figure it out when she played it as I really don't want to explain certain things to her.

micahcowan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:12pm

Thanks badlydrawnrod: I've updated this page with a PARENTAL GUIDANCE warning.

If I get around to fixing the game's glitches, I'll probably add a "clean" mode that completely replaces world 4. I was shooting for a higher "humor" rating, though, and naughtiness can be funny. :)

micahcowan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:13pm

lorniebear, I tried to start up elec. guitar, but never really got anywhere. Unfortunately, I don't think I have the time to get really good at another instrument, and you can cover so much with just piano/keyboard... :)

micahcowan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:16pm

If you're interested in hearing more, I have some youtube up with some piano stuff: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wW7GVad6LQk&list=PLHHHTIsNQayoj53fzX9bJH4eQ7KU1jZfw

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:00pm

For some reason, I got the impression that you can connect person A to person B, but not the other way around? I might be wrong here.

micahcowan says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:49pm

Thingo Studios: any connection should be able to go either way. Maybe you accidentally hit the wrong person? The glitch where switching worlds seems to mess with the sync of the movement patterns makes it a bit more difficult...

DrCicero says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:34pm

Well the audio is really well done, and the graphics are okay, but there was no juice in playing, no audio/visual feedback for hitting something for example. Also the characters moved kind of laggy - although i know my computer for its slowness, i wonder why such a simple game would lag.

Maybe you could have tuned the game a bit more to the music: what does this beautiful piano piece have to do with a church, a gaming, etc? Instead maybe watching the stars or a fireplace in a living room, a walk in the park, camping at night...?

micahcowan says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:12am

DrCicero, you really expect me to find time for all that in a 48-hour race to the finish? :D

As to video feedback for hitting something, didn't I provide that? If you hit someone with the talk balloon, they... talk. If you hit 'em with the grabber, they disappear. If you hit 'em with another friend, they talk, and potentially swap and open a new world. There could always be more feedback, and certainly finding time for another sound to put there (especially, one distinguishing connection success from failure), but clearly something happens in every case that you hit something.

A bigger problem, to me, is that when you hit something, they don't always look close enough to be touching. There may be a glitch in EaselJS there, or else in my use of it...

It doesn't lag on any devices I had handy (except for my Kindle Fire HD, but that doesn't do Canvas stuff very efficiently at all), but if I had to hazard a guess, it might be because I'm using SVG for the spritesheet, and if EaselJS isn't careful in its implementation, they might be getting redrawn inefficiently. There's probably some ways I could try to work around that.

Anyway, thanks for your feedback!

Oxeren says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 11:08am

Great idea! Although took some time to figure out how and what to do :)

DrCicero says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:39pm

@micahcowan Well, i wanted to write a comment and that was the first to cross my mind :)

Kiwiboi says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:53am

Solid entry, great use of this gameplay, perfect fit for the theme using same personality in different worlds and lovely music. Well done :)

brodavi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:05pm

Nice! Your interpretation of the theme was very unique. Loved the music, you are very talented :)

Sep 4, 2014 @ 11:45pm

Cool idea, took me a while to figure out how it worked. Very cool how you recorded the music yourself, though it doesn't really fit the game in my opinion.

micahcowan says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:35pm

Dining Philosopher, yeah, maybe not. The idea was for the music to fit the theme of "forming connections with friends", but it doesn't really match the energy of the gameplay itself, and certainly doesn't fit the fourth "world". ;)

Thanks for playing/commenting!

Endurion says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:54pm

Can't vote fairly, music plays, I can move the wand, but the baubles never appear.
Used IE11, shows "Not enough stack space" on the console.

snooze82 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 6:13pm

nice idea :)

fizzd says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:40am

Solid stuff, finished the game. I think this is a great illustration of how the music can completely change the mood of a scene, everything else invariant. The humour was crass but somehow the music made it.. heartwarming? I'd say the graphics are the only weak link - I didn't realise the second world was 'gamers' I thought it was dead people. (probably because of the music lol).

Also the lack of an indication of which tool you were using until you fired it was confusing at first cause i didn't see any feedback when i pressed the tool keys.

But in any case, it's a great original concept, and I stuck around long enough to finish it which says something. 5 stars for innovation and audio here!

micahcowan says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 5:36pm

Heh, yeah, my attempt at humor hear was woefully immature. Still mostly glad I did it (because it made it a little more fun for me), but it probably wasn't worth the exclusion of younger players. It is interesting too how the gentle music sort of tricks you into a whole different feeling while playing the game.

I _just_ fixed all the graphics in the "Improved" version if you want to try it (also worth trying if you hadn't yet, because the friend movements are more challenging).

The lack of tool indication is definitely a big problem. Thinking I'll fix that tonight, and then call the game done (with the possible exception of a "clean" version). I enjoyed making the game, especially the path mechanics (though the code for that is atrocious), and I'm very happy with my novel interpretation of the theme. But it's not actually that inspiring, and I'm not very motivated to make more of it than I have already (in the "Improved" version, that is).

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]