Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Travel Escape

by The Number Guy - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The Old World has connected with the New World. European settlers have arrived in Central America, and you, along with other natives, have to escape their colonization by traveling to your tribe's home in jungle.

This is my first Ludum Dare entry, and I hope it's a good one :)

This game was created in pure HTML5, CSS and JavaScript.

--The Number Guy

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#148Audio3.47
#458Innovation3.29
#534Mood3.00
#615Graphics3.00
#625Humor2.23
#744Theme2.97
#940Overall2.80
#1023Fun2.46

Comments

Quetzakol says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:05am

Interesting idea, but it should be more developed. Maybe I didn't understand something, but I think there is too much randomness. I clicked on towns without really knowing if it was good or not, but I came to the end.
However, I like the music. Did you compose it yourself ?

Aug 25, 2014 @ 11:27am

I had many other ideas, but didn't have enough time to make them. Also I feared that on such a small map, people would get confused by many different things. My friends have suggested I make a full game out of this, and I will probably include more features there.

The number on the town shows after how many days Europeans will reach that town. When that number becomes 0, it means that they have reached the town. So you have to avoid entering "0" towns, while at the same time stay in towns to get more gold. I probably have to make a larger map, add more features and improve the algorithm, so the whole gameplay seems more realistic.

Basically: look at the green numbers which indicate how much gold you have, and try to get as much gold as possible.

And yes, I made the music myself in FL Studio, at 1 AM, but I hope it sounds good enough. Thank you for your feedback anyway!

Foofur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:50pm

The graphics and sounds are really nice, but the gameplay could use some more development. well done

hungyg says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:51pm

"Europeans"? Seriously?

LaFleur says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:52pm

Music is wonderful! Perfect for this game.

gardenhead says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:53pm

I really like the idea, but the game is too easy now. I'm sure you can turn it into something really great with more time though. 5 stars for audio!

holgk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:57pm

I always had 50 Gold. Is that a bug or a coincidence?

Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:23pm

At the beginning you have 50 gold, but that changes when you stay in town and meet new people (you get more gold) or you enter a captured town (you lose gold).

I didn't have time to emphasize this in the game, but the goal is to bring more gold home, not just avoid getting captured. You get more gold by staying in a town.

Thanks for all the feedback by the way!

Sanguine says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Neat game! It was a fun challenge to try to get the highest score as possible.

Lokiman says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 6:24pm

Good start but I begs for more development. I can imagine this being a "minigame" in some bigger Civilization-like game :D

micahcowan says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:22am

Good idea, great music, fun. But over way too quickly, and there's basically zero challenge to it as it currently stands. You can't really gain much gold (I got as high as 70), as you have to keep moving if you want to avoid hitting a "zero" town, so you can really only stay somewhere a few times total if you want to make maximum profit.

Very nice for a first LD (this was my first too).

madmaw says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:53am

I like it. Would be nice to have random events at each town, or hints on what to expect along the road

gnx says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:42pm

Short game. Mechanics work well and the visual presentation is nice and clean. Background music fits well in it too.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:51pm

nice puzzle game

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:38am

great music on this one, I left it running in the background for a while as ambient sound while I work!
Gameplay wise it was a little lacking, but i see the direction you're trying to go

Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:09am

I died :( Cool game though! I included it in part 11 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series :) http://youtu.be/1LqxxVg5Vuk

silentlamb says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 8:33am

Intresting idea on the theme! I agree with the opinion that it could have more features. The great thing is audio. I love the music, it adds a nice mood to the game!

teamawesome says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:52pm

Nice idea, but it's really hard to lose and there could be more to the gameplay. Music is great though!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]