Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

There, Somewhere

by maloki - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Trapped between the living and the dead, this little ghost wanders around to find a way to cross over to the other side.

Controls:
- Space or enter to start the game
- WASD or Arrow keys to move
- R to reset the level

I wanted to put in more levels but ran out of time. Howell!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#16Fun4.10
#23Overall4.08
#52Mood3.86
#75Innovation3.95
#119Graphics3.95
#126Humor3.26
#129Audio3.54
#189Theme3.75

Comments

Tom 7 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:31am

The game started up in Chrome for me, but neither space nor enter would start! Worked in Firefox though.

I liked the possession of people idea, and the length of the game was good. Plays pretty smooth. The block-pushing when there were lots of them was a bit unfair, it seemed to me, because I couldn't even see off the screen to see whether blocks were going to be pushable--I just had to retry a few times. But I beat it!

Aug 25, 2014 @ 2:55am

This is great! Love the simple and lovely graphics. gameplay feels nice too :)

maloki says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:08am

Tom 7: I tested it on chrome, and I've encountered that problem as well in other games. Usually happens the first time I load the game. It might have been a focus issue...sometimes, I just refresh the page and then it works. >.>

Was thinking of having per-level camera adjustments but it slipped my mind as I went on to finish the next levels. Will definitely do this when I continue working on it. :D

pa3kc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:12am

I like the art style, choice of color, animation and dialogs. It complements the puzzle nicely!

varun says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:12am

I actually really enjoyed the minimalist art in this.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:14am

Perfect game. Interesting puzzle.

PapaCheech says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:18am

solid game! fun puzzles and humor.

Roknsk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:39am

Solid game. Was fun to play, no bugs, good concept.

vividhelix says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:43am

Really sweet little game, I finished it. One of the levels seemed a bit harder (the one with lots of crates), but loved the art, music was nice and gameplay was fast enough to be able to try again when dying. Great job!

phasebeta says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 5:49am

I like it. Cool concept that matches the theme pretty well (two worlds - ghost and human/peg thingy). Also good pacing, I was able to figure out what to do in the game rather quickly.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 8:41am

Excellent level design! Great puzzle game!

tulevik.EU says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:25am

From the one's I've played so far, I've enjoyed this one the most. Good solid game.

Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:25pm

I could play this forever - really nice puzzle game!

Kyle Mac says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:33am

I like the game play. It's very reminiscent of Chips Challenge.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:15am

I'm sucker for really good puzzle mechanics and this one is really enjoyable. My only gripe is the camera angle. Would be nice if it is slightly more top down, or maybe add the ability to move it around so I can plan my moves.

This is a game worth expanding! Gooduck!

leafarz says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:26am

the game is great! fun puzzle game that makes you think and restart [more restarts in my case :))]. also fun to look at. dunno if it's the colors or the models.
although the learning curve skyrocketed on the 3rd or 4th stage i think?
still nice game! :)

Lokiman says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:09pm

Yes, yes and yes! One of the best games I tried in Ludum Dare 30! Good job man :D

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:24pm

Hi there. Really good graphics, sound. Great puzzle design. Nice and simple to start, good sense of achievement with the more complicated box puzzles.

Empyrealhell says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:21am

Well put together, challenging but not too difficult, nice interpretation. All-around a solid entry.

nonetheless says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:54pm

Really nice concept and great execution. Love your graphics. Great job mate :)

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:29am

Loved that I was basically possessing people to do my bidding lol. Very cool concept for a puzzle game

Artamus says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:46am

Nice and polished game, congrats!

DragonInstall says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:23am

Pretty fun game. Like the art a lot.
Good concept and puzzles. GG!

Bernte says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 12:28pm

This game really catched me ^^ Good music, nice visuals, nice intepretation of theme. I would like to have improved movement with pressed keys but hey, pretty good job!

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 4:12pm

Neat and fun game, nice 3d graphics also.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:32am

Nice mechanics! Very good difficulty progression and level design. Great job!

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:42pm

neat entry, graphics are also very cute.

local minimum says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 6:08pm

Really nice puzzle game. I got a few levels in the goal was really caged in by the orange blocks and I couldn't figure out how to use the one dude that was there. The way to play was easy enough to understand, though it wasn't entirely clear why the low dark bars would free you from possessing a human. I'd loved to have seen more levels where the elements of possessing and getting out of possessing along with box pushing were woven together in a smart way. Great beginning of a really nice game. Should work with touch as well...

MerlijnVH says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:20pm

Very nice entry! Fun to play, I didn't like that you had to run into walls to become a ghost again, but I can see why you did that. Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]