Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Phase Rider

by Aggrathon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

## Technical Info ##
Made with Unity beta to test the new UI (and wasted too much time...). This can make it unplayable in the browser for many people, but the standalone verions should have no problems.

Tested on Windows and on Linux (installation of some additional 32bit libraries required on a 64bit system)

## Game Info ##
A podracing game with phase shift.
Instructions and Lore in the menu.
Only one level (even though there is a disabled menu option).

## Edits ##
Fixed a gamebreaking movement bug.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#585Fun3.00
#595Humor2.26
#653Audio2.54
#707Mood2.81
#713Innovation2.96
#878Graphics2.58
#918Theme2.65
#927Overall2.81
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

jab says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:06pm

I enjoyed the graphics style. Maybe I'm just bad at the game, but I found it very hard to control. Was fun though!

diamondgfx says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Game was pretty difficult to play and my podracer ended up getting caught up in the bars connecting to the engine (I also managed to get it to lift off the ground, so I flew above the map completely at one point)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:45am

It can be improved, but first attemps is fun ++

JackDegree says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:44am

Even though this is obviously very rough, there is a good feeling about it and it's fun to mess around with. Plus reminds me of that good old Star Wars Racer game, so much nostalgia!

bobrocks says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:10pm

A nice homage to the old pod racer games! Really solid for 48 hours!

MintArcade says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:14pm

Cool controls, although hard. Good.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:15pm

Ahaha interesting interpretation on the theme. Sweet UI design, I really enjoyed the game ahaha the turning was a bit hard to control but once you get used to it, its actually quite interesting. Keep up nice work!Also thanks for bringing me back good memories of Starwars PodRacer! ahaha

LaFleur says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Now THIS is podracing! :)

abeing says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:51pm

ahaha very cool game! interesting controls, feels like real podracing, but more dangerous :) I found a funny glitch/bug with the controls, were you can stick the tubes in the wall without exploding. the bad thing is, i cannot drive further when this happens XD https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xTkft3XBTL8

Hairein says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:17pm

Nice idea, reminded me of something I saw on TV or in the movies recently ;-) The controls are quite sensitive for me but the idea of the game comes across fine.

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:32am

Quite hard to control the pod. At one time I got it to fly to the sky and lost ground :D As others say, it reminds a lot of Star Wars racing pods, which is a good thing and a very good result for 48 hours of work (specially since you used the las Unity version to test the UI, which I did too and was not easy to get used to). I would love to see a more complete version of it which was more user-friendly to play. Keep up the good work!

Benjamin says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:40am

I could not get pasth the first turn but tried very hard... :)

JNyknn says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:15am

Not bad, but graphics are a bit simple and gameplay is somehow unpolished. But otherwise the game was enjoyable.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]