Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Parallel Rift

by liquidminduk - Jam Entry

Hello all, Here's our Submission "Parallel Rift"

***** UPDATE *****

Some people were complaining about the resolution, so I have added a smaller screen version for those with laptops.
Please let me know if it needs to be smaller!


***** The Game

Parallel Rift is a twitch based plat-former. The aim of the game is to reach the Rift Vortex at the top of the level!! But wait! There's more!
After reaching the vortex, a time loop will be activated, and you will have to reach the vortex again, but this time you have to avoid your past self! Don't touch yourself Van Damme!

***** Theme (Connected Worlds)
The idea is that the Parallel worlds are connected through your character after passing through the vortex, this is the reason coming in to contact with your past self causes a Parallel Rift in time, causing the world to go boom boom!

*****Notes
We created the game using Unity, and the 3D stuff was done using Maya, with a little Photoshop thrown is to add sugar and spice.
It took us the first 42 hours to get most of the game down, Today has been balancing and squashing those little bugs!

***** Controls

Arrow keys are used to move the character left or right
Space bar or UP arrow key can be used for jump!
Check the in-game help for more tips.

***** Launch

Web player provided!

***** Credits

Daniel Arnold-Mist
Game Design
Art Direction
Background Art
All things 3D
Music
Coffee maker

...

Andrew Li
Programming

...

Peter Long
Character Art

...

Special Thanks
Sam Green for help with the idea!

...

Enjoy!!



Dan

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#78Graphics(Jam)4.24
#127Innovation(Jam)3.56
#135Overall(Jam)3.61
#168Fun(Jam)3.43
#190Theme(Jam)3.56
#204Audio(Jam)3.43
#228Mood(Jam)3.37
#364Humor(Jam)2.46

Comments

Split82 says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Awesome :) I really like the idea and the execution. Great job!

CptDustmite says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Looks very nice, music was catchy, but I found the controls very difficult to use :( Also I originally couldn't see the character down the bottom as the player went below my browser height.

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 12:50pm

Very good background art, but I feel that you could make some improvements on the gameplay.

Stepwise says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:45pm

Came out nicely Dan! The look and mood are very slick as I knew it'd turn out. :) Found myself wishing for a score ticker to see how well I was doing.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:49pm

Thanks for playing guys!

@CptDustmite Yeh, I wanted it at 1024x728 as it read better
It might be a good idea to make it a little smaller for other devices - or write a script to scale to your browser size. Someone always has a smaller screen! haha

@ Hyoga-3D RE: gameplay, yep, a long way to go to really flesh out the gameplay, the basics are in now, so we can do different things later, but for the purpose of the jam, I think we're done!

Thanks again

D

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 1:52pm

@Stepwise - haha, there's a score ticker at the top, ahh, need to fix that resolution thing!

Resonious says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:18am

Neat interpretation of the theme, also neat idea in general!

Warboys says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:28am

Love it! Looks and sounds beautiful and the gameplay is really cool. Pretty addictive!

Lizzip says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:28am

Lovely graphics, and game in general. But I am not good at jumping

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:07am

could you please upload a linux build?

prophile says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:11am

I couldn't see all of the screen at the same time, it made the gameplay much more difficult having to go and scroll mid-level!

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:12am

Awesome game! One of my fav so far.

sol_hsa says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:18am

The game doesn't fit on my firefox window even when maximized =) (1920x1080 screen)

nataku92 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:19am

Neat gameplay idea! Simple but surprisingly fun. Would be cool to see what other gameplay mechanics you could add. I also like the overall graphical style, although it's a little weird that the player doesn't really account for the 3d perspective.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:01am

Sorry for the size guys, I'll make it smaller! Also I think if you right click, you can go full screen on the player, however there might be some stretching issues if you do thet

xRubbermaid says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:12am

Really smart game, but I agree with CptDustmite that the game is too big for the browser.

Talvara says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:26am

I love it! Planning ahead give rewards, Visuals are delicious. and aside from the resolution of the player window it works like a charm!

you should consider converting this into a mobile app or releasing it onto some game portals.

Easy to pickup, hard to master. Awesome work!

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:54am

Added a small screen for you all, If anyone needs it smaller than this, please let me know!

runvs says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:09am

Great idea, reminds me a bit of Super Meat Boy.

I liked the graphics and the music, they suit the game. But you might have wanted to add a (subtle) jump sound as some kind of feedback.

sephyka says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:19am

Wowowow, very good entry.
The background art is just awesome, the music too.
Love the idea and the gameplay of your game. The vortex animation is great. It might be better with a bit more as fx/sounds for feedbacks.

jujule says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:21am

Very slick entry, feels very professional. Everything is top notch. I managed to get 8 "clones". Could be nice if the environment could change on slightly between each jump into the vortex, that would add a little narrative touch to the game.

InfectionTeam says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:42am

Art is very cool (although I feel there could be more of it :D). Game is overall pretty slick and I felt it controlled nicely. Also an interesting way of using the theme.

Unravel Games says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:51am

The game is really challenging, and art gets the top rating, love that background. though I'm not sure if this is possible but I wish the character respawned somewhere else.

Snoother says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:15pm

Only managed five clones, but it was really addictive and polished. Plus it's a clever take on the theme, with music and art do a really good job at setting the mood.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:19pm

Awesome visuals and nice take on the theme. It can get bit difficult to avoid the other versions of you when everyone spawns in the same place.

jsmars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:46pm

Really cool idea and nice music and graphics, really fun game! Only problem I see is that it was there is no time limit, it makes the best strategy to just form a queue and wait for the ghosts to go ahead. Really awesome job tho :)

favoyang says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:26pm

Maybe remove the time limitation?

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:27pm

yep, there is a time limit, top left, maybe i should reduce the wait time a little!

hexagore says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:10pm

Wow, original idea.. great execution too. Love the art style.

FurtherForm says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:11pm

One of the best so far. Great idea, smoothly completed, after a while I got the controls and the playing got fun, though could be snappier and more precise. Suprising depth in actually planning the routes beforehand so that next runs are easier (and then failing at it and getting in nicely panic-reactive mood. Would like to see a video of a good run on this game.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Background and character animation are fantastically executed. Simple idea that is really fun.

KeyMaster says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:38pm

Really nice entry! I liked the concept of the time loop as a ncie way of self-increasing difficulty and challenge. Art was really great, and controls were mostly good except some occasional unreliabilities. Very cool!

skiddings says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:54pm

Nice!
Nice idea and good execution. I like the music and art style.
If only there was more of it!

Torandi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:41pm

Nice and tight controls, and I really liked the innovative concept with avoiding your own shadows (though it seems it can be easly done by just waiting until your previous shadows has reached the vortex? Maybe add that you must be faster than your previous shadows)

Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:25pm

this is a pretty cool idea. I love the art work too.

Autonomous says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:55pm

very good art

liqwidice says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:06pm

Really great! Good concept, well implemented!

handkor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:39am

Art style and music are top notch. This is one of the top Jam entries.

Simplexcity says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:38am

this was toms favorite!

AdricZero says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:10pm

Very polished. Looks and sounds good.

chrismcmath says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:56pm

Good work boys! Solid implementation of an interesting twist on the platform genre. Flawless artwork, great theming, and many directions to go with the gameplay. I'd especially love to see the arcade-feel of the game developed further.

leondryaso says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:31pm

Really good game!

Halfbus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:05pm

I love that graaphics style, reminds me N+.

recursor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:22pm

Very polished and nicely done. My only request would be to add more levels and gameplay mechanics.

vctr_seleucos says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:44pm

Good game! Nice idea well executed, like the polish graphics! Maybe the music is a bit off, but good entry in general!

Ogniok says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:10pm

Very nice game!

DragonXVI says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:08pm

Great background art & animation and the concept's excellent too! Seems to be a brief mercy period before the other clones affect you which could've been made a bit clearer? Either way managed about 8 loops before dying. Nifty! :D

hb3p8 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:50pm

Cool idea and awesome realistion. Congratulations, guys!

MicroChasm says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:37pm

Very nice, Good concept, nice graphics. Kind of hard to tell why I died the first few times. I like the character and the feel.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:08am

Good idea well executed. The look and feel are very nice indeed and the more you play the more challenging it becomes.
It should say somewhere you can do double jumps!

alvivar says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:26am

i love this idea, also, the gameplay feels really good.

it's highly enjoyable.

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 1:44am

Seriously.. thats fu*ing amazing! Really nice graphics and concept!

Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:42am

Loved the character design and the general look of the game (cel-shaded portal is excellent!). The wubbing soundtrack gave a good approximation of the sound you'd expect from a dimensional portal. Gameplay feels good, but I felt it was a little boring... I've seen this enough times in recent games (Braid, The Adventures of Shuggy, etc.) that you need to add a bit more to be really innovative!

INC$D021 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:26am

It's all been said... Effing amazing :)

Simon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:52am

Very cool idea. It sounds, looks and works well. Bravo!

rnlf says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:27pm

Can't play because it requires the Unity Plugin which is not available for Linux. Please don't just tag it "Web", but something like "Web (Unity)". And provide a standalone version if possible.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:24pm

Great visuals and liked the concept, was interesting to see how many different ways I could figure out to get to the portal.

harko12 says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:04pm

Great idea, and execution. Fine use of Acro-Catic :) I like the playing with time idea, it's a fun mechanic in this context

esayitch says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:36pm

This is very polished and stylish. The concept hits the mark very sweetly in terms of theme. The wall jumping is done very well, too.

I enjoyed it all around. The only thing missing would be sfx, otherwise, it's perfect like it is. Well-played!

Sunflower says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 3:58pm

The idea is great and the execution very polished, though I'd like to have some sort of hiscore tracking, or maybe score not being "Score", but rather "Clones", and not have ludicrous number of zeroes, but just show the number of clones? ^^"

Also, I'd like to know when I can still touch the past self (since I take clones aren't deadly instantly; otherwise the first clone would die just after touching the original); some sort of blinking, or bar, or any other indicator? ^^"

nonetheless says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:26pm

Very nice idea, great play on the theme. I like the graphics and music, basically execution is very good. Awesome job :)

Will Edwards says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:26am

+overall

One of the better ghosts games :)

Its a one-level game but you could imagine ways to build upon it to make the different selfs interact more interestingly and solve puzzles and progress over a bigger world?

The double jump took a while to find. Doh, standard stuff.

I have a big laptop screen but I still couldn't see the whole of the canvas. Oh well.

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:32pm

@Will Edwards, did you use the Web Small Screen link?

JNyknn says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:59pm

Graphics and audio are nice, but gameplay is too simple and it gets boring very quickly.

chas says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Fantastic job. Good N+ gameplay and a novel ghost mechanic!

Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:39pm

Very pretty graphics. The idea was cool too. This could use a highscore board!

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:07pm

Nice graphic, good concept. Amazing entry

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:21pm

Hi there. Found this very difficult to play. Loved the artwork.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:59pm

I enjoyed this game. the theme seemed to be quite similar to other games I have played though. I think this pulls it off best though

Well done.

Hypnohustla says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 7:07am

WOW! Really good game! Great graphics and design choices. Can't say anything bad, I'll now go and play some more :)

HayManMarc says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 8:15am

Wow,great game!! I liked the artwork a lot. The art reminds me of "Evil Genius" -- one of my favorites. The gameplay was excellent. I'll be looking for more levels from you. :)

lkr says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:39am

Loved the visuals and music, and the controls felt great.
I wish there was a "safe zone" where you spawn, at least for a little while, as I ended up dying right at the start after a few clones.

Great concept - would have liked more levels :)

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:29am

Hi lkr, the reason for the "safe zone" to be time based rather than location based is to stop camping at the beginning of the map and promote movement. I think now the safe time may be a little harsh (2 seconds), but I'm trying to think of other ways to keep you safe at the beginning.

Possibly random spawn points would work, but I think this would require a different level design angle.

Thanks for playing to all, would love to know your high scores. I myself have managed 19 runs so far (which led me to realize that after a while there is a little pause just before you re-spawn if there are too many clones) this will obviously be fixed though!

Lvyn says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:49am

Nice game, good graphics and music. Nice interpretation of the theme.

KEFIR says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 12:32pm

Artwork is just stunning here! The gameplay is really enjoyable!

Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:11pm

Good idea, great job !

ALobker says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 1:55pm

The art style is amazing. Too bad i'm not good enough to play this with more than 3 characters.

Also, I would love to see some youtube movie where someone manages to have 6 or more characters.

Artamus says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Great game, congrats!

TKia_ says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 4:43pm

Gorgeous art and gorgeous animation is what's to be found here. Gameplay, though, could use some work. I'd find myself getting surprise Game Overs or not making jumps I knew I'd ought to make, etc., and the controls are a bit wonky.

wallmasterr says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:30pm

liked the style and the wall climing was pritty sweet,

mechabit says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 11:41pm

fun recorded past self mechanic but I didn't die when touching them like it says in the instructions also got really laggy after 6 loops and my computer is pretty fast, maybe needs some optimisation. lovely graphics

liquidminduk says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:41am

@mechabit thanks for playing, I've noticed lag around the 15 - 20 character mark, but not usually around 6, that's interesting. Could you let me know the system specs so I can look in to it.
For the death on character hit, there is a small window of opportunity where you can't get killed at the beginning (2 seconds)

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:53am

Wow, very innovative approach on the theme and greatly executed. Very polished, neat graphics and fitting music. I managed to finish the game about 6 times, after that it was rather difficult no to hit another me. Great work!!

Dohan says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:56am

The art and the idea are pretty cool. Very enjoyable, but once you have 5 or 6 past selves bouncing around it starts to get really hard XD

borgi says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Awesome graphics, nice gameplay! Well done!

naksrifati says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:11am

The art and music are awesome, and the gameplay idea is very interesting!

43iscoding says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:14am

Great game, interesting gameplay, lovely artwork! I found pretty good way to achieve high score here, mb I'll go for one tonight ^^

PapyGaragos says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:16am

Pretty cool idea, but evey game I played ended the same way : I got a game over while I was still on the platform, not moving...

dunin says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 8:41am

Nice packaged game. Good art.
The gameplay could be good but I need some explanation/motivation to get into it (but it's my opinion) (and I imagine that a story is difficult for this game...)

damrem says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:08am

The idea and arts are good, but it's a bit difficult cause of controls... Should be easy to fix it and make it even better!

spotco says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 9:16am

Interesting idea, but the execution could have made it more satisfying. Felt off to just instantly "die" with no effects and transition back to the main menu, also no real reward to keep playing (what is essentially) the same level.

Pinqu says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:07am

Nice entry, good concept and nice graphics (love the background). The only thing I missed were the sound effects.

AkirAssasin says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 10:13am

Parkur was always not my thing haha

Tifu says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:17am

"so I have added a smaller screen version for those with laptops." dude, I have a desktop and can't fit the default version on my monitor :P
This is really cool, the only major thing I would say it's lacking is a #runs at once displayed when you die, I don't have a clue what my max run was cos it was so awesomely hectic :D I think I got around 12 or 14 after a few tries, but unsure.

Erkberg says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:22am

Really good idea and execution with a nice graphics style. Good job!

liquidminduk says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 11:24am

@Tifu, haha, at work I have these ridiculously large screens I need for creating 3D stuff all day long, I get so used to them I forget not everyone has the same "the default is only 1024 high says Dan, that's small enough right!"
Well done on the 12-14 runs! that's pretty good by what I've seen.
Final version will ideally have a nice pretty high score screen! Hopefully online, so you can see your global rank.

Anyways, back to my screens... which I still think are too small

Sorry for that though!

AlbertoSM says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:51pm

Cool concept and nice execution but the game lacks sound effects!

commodoreKid says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Very good idea. I would like to see more levels but less is more in jam situations. Luck with further developing :)

bytegrove says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:17pm

The game is really beautiful, but the goal of the game is a little boring imo. There should be something more to spice up the gameplay, especially as you're replaying the same level again and again, maybe change it up a little each time?
The wall jumping felt really responsive!

gillenew says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 4:46pm

Very well done,beautiful and great entry!

Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:34pm

Nice graphics and mechanics. I love the way you did the wall-jump. It's fun to make your way among your previous selves, but it's a bit frustrating when you collide near the starting zone.

RobotFriend says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 12:15am

Very clever!

GFM says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 2:51am

Nice game. :)

It's a neat idea, but it's kinda too repetitive...
Also, it could have used more polished...

Raphy says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:50am

Great job, really, this is smart!

twintrite says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Very cool visual style and fun gameplay! A jump sound could have improved it though imo. Would be interesting to see that as a 2 player game with split screen where your ghosts appear on your opponents side :)

Dietrich Epp says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 1:28am

I love the concept, but it got a little tedious after a while.

mcapraro says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:04pm

really nice looking game! great visuals

hbocao says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 12:32am

Great entry! I loved this. The gameplay is awesome. Awesome work! I only missed some "competing" info, like a high-score board or something.

ZYXer says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 1:24pm

Took me over 20 tries to get the first guy to the vortex. But once I found a route, it was relatively easy, I made it to 4 guys.

Great game mechanic! I really like the art style, too!

Arakade says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 9:29pm

Fun but started getting a little tedious after I had something like 8 dudes. A little planning made this too easy. Perhaps some more levels, perhaps with some paths that only allow certain paths to work at certain times, thereby gating things down a bit? (Yeah, I know 72 hours, right!)
You could probably take it further though.

tiff says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 12:33am

Great idea and I love the art work!

vividhelix says ...
Sep 6, 2014 @ 4:32am

Great idea, there was something buggy with the collision detections on the former selves as they would not always kill me...

Noah Ratcliff says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 1:28pm

Wow!

Yword says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:02pm

Really nice artwork and innovative gameplay! But I think the characters are quite small, maybe you can make the camera follow the player. The idea of creating past self is really cool, instead of avoiding them, maybe you may consider to implement some mechanics or puzzles which require their assistance. Well done!

NicePenguins says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:33pm

Nice graphics, music and idea ! I think the gameplay needs to be a little bit more precise.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 2:59pm

I should have tried this on a larger screen, as the smaller screen seemed to be small and fiddly. But then, I'm ancient and my eyes are not what they used to be. Good idea though - the screen gets quite crowded with leaping characters.

Sep 7, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Awesome art. Needs in game instructions. Controls are merciless :) Maybe character should snap a little when close. I found it too hard to reach to top. Very good on overall.

Lokarunith says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 5:51pm

I really like how the theme was implemented on this game, If we are organized the game will be faily easy at the beggining but eventually everything ends up in caos. A great entry!

JetL33t says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 12:38am

I really like the idea and the art is pretty cool, but the goal is kinda meh. Without online highscores or puzzle mechanics, I just don't know why I should keep trying.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 2:54am

I really like this game. I included it in part 22 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/_5a2Oj9U9sk

AlexDJones says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 4:53pm

Great entry! An interesting take on the theme with really fun, responsive platformer gameplay. The graphics and soundtrack are also really stylish.

H1S2 says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:21pm

what am i supposed to do with my clones? :) nice art!

ehtd says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 2:51am

Really cool, just a bit difficult to control

MerlijnVH says ...
Sep 12, 2014 @ 8:16pm

Very nice entry! I love the graphics style, the gameplay mechanic is well done, too.

HeyChinaski says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 1:06pm

Great looking entry and an awesome idea. Super fun. Nice work.

puppetmaster says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 3:30pm

+ game idea
+ player
- only one level

OrangeeZ says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 8:34pm

Wow, the art is strong and the idea is pretty interesting. I think this could be definitely made into a full game!

egor-idiot says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:31am

I liked graphics a lot. Nice entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]