Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tinker Maze

by belowzerogames - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Tinker Maze is very simple little maze game. Just move your toy safely through the maze avoiding the other Tinker Toys that want to link up with you.
The game keys are very simple the arrows just move your toy and by holding the enter key in while you move your toy will turn.
The game features are very basic
-8 levels of play
-4 different toys to control
Keys:
Arrows - Move Toy
Hold Enter - Turn Toy
Esc- Quit

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#886Audio1.95
#1028Fun2.45
#1129Innovation2.15
#1150Graphics2.00
#1166Overall2.33
#1180Theme1.70
#1659Coolness36%

Comments

Zer0Kelvin says ...
Aug 24, 2014 @ 11:05pm

Cool idea :)
I can't rate it because I didn't make a game this time :/

ViliX says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:07am

The web links points to an .exe file.
I can't quite see the connection to the theme, but playing the game is fun. I suggest you to make a post-compo version of the game with improved graphics. It's a simple concept, but fun to play :)

PS: I've spent about 5 minutes beating the first level. I must be a terrible gamer.

Anshzinc says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 10:47am

I really liked the idea. I suck at the game though, you should improve it further. It's very fun and addicting.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:05am

I don't see what the game has to do with the theme, but the game itself is pretty well done, simple and east to play. I would adjust some of the collisions a bit, especially the yellow pole thing was difficult to get through tight spots at times.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:13am

The theme is Connected Worlds well imagine the world of Tinker Toys everything is connected :) So you play as a wheel avoiding the sticks and a stick avoiding a wheel and the other parts that connect to both wheels and sticks.

bob_fish says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:24pm

Pretty nice! Could do with some music but otherwise is good and quite hard! Good Jub

gatinmnsok says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:27pm

It's a fun idea but the collision detection could use a bit of extra love, now it's rather frustrating bouncing the yellow sticks against everything :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:27am

Why does it say "Web" if you download it?

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:30am

The fact that objects' bound are not as they appear to be makes navigating the maze nigh impossible.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:32am

Not sure why it says web , I just host my own files on my own website :)

Rage Paint says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:40am

Nice game, think touching up the collision would do a lot for it. Possibly turning the pieces based of there center might make it a bit easier to predict where your piece will turn to.

buckslice says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:43am

Collision detection is pretty harsh, but cool game anyways. The graphics are fun. Nice job.

OinkIguana says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:45am

The collision detection is very inaccurate and leads to the game being frustratingly difficult. The game is pretty fun, but I couldn't keep doing it because I ragequit at the walls. Sound effects sounded odd, and no music. Graphics were kind of blurry.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:55am

Well I would have like to do more on the sound but time sort of ran out on me. I was in the 48 compo so I couldn't outsource for music either. Oh and my daughter does the voices :) she's only 6 and she did a great job.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:06pm

Hi, Web link doesn't point to something which will run in browser. Not rated.

sandbaydev says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:35pm

Congraz for entering & submitting, there's plenty of ppl who don't do that! Collision detection is bit off... which would be very important & would definitely improve things.

I didn't like "restart after failure". I'd rather get... "wounds" or something like that after hitting object. In the end of the level it would tell you "perfect!" or "great!" or "eh... pretty good..." depending how often you hit.

And the audio was great :)

Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:21pm

Ya the collision is a bit off on a couple mazes but I can't update the submitted game after the deadline. I will however be doing a nice update on the game in the future which I'll put on Game Jolt and Indie DB :)

ninjascript says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:02am

I love tinker toys! Those hit boxes on those tinker toy pieces seem a little wonky though.

uberscientist says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:04am

You can change what it says next to the link if you click "edit" -- the "Name" field is editable to the left of where you put your URL. Putting "Windows" there would save people who run linux/mac some time.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 5:27am

Thank You Uber :) How foolish of me

Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:18am

Congrats on your game! This is a fun and challenging little game. I really enjoyed the sound effects and the game play but yeah some of the hit boxes are a bit frustrating :-D Might be cool to have a specific border for the mazes also as sometimes I'd head off investigating a particular direction, only to get stopped by an invisible wall. With a bit of under the hood work, a backing track(s) and perhaps some art updates to the toys, this would be an even more fun game. Cheers, Ben.

Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:38am

Hey thanks, The basic principle of the game is there. I moved the game over to Game Maker Studio already and cleaned up some of the frustrating stuff already :) Have some plans for a nice update in the future

Benjamin says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 10:58am

collisions sometime occurs when pieces are not in contact.
When tweaking bounding box you should always try to make them too small rather than too large. Large bounding box tends to keep players frustrated.
For example in modern shooters designer often use a bounding box really smaller than the spaceship of the hero, because it gave to the player the feeling of being super good at dodging bullets :)

Aug 31, 2014 @ 3:47pm

Actually I made the collision boxes 16 X 16 very small so the game plays much crisper plus I centered the sprite as recommended here so when you flip it's easier to predict. I have a couple little things to do with it and I'll be putting it up on Itch.io. I'll post a link here when it's all ready.

Aug 31, 2014 @ 7:39pm

The new Game Maker Studio version is at http://belowzerogames.itch.io/tinker-maze

ChuiGum says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Nice idea. I like how you can rotate your player. Good job!

jprogman says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 7:28pm

Rotating pieces is a neat element to the game. But, it would have been better to hit ENTER to rotate pieces instead of holding ENTER down. The collision detection is a little spotty, but a neat game overall.

Sep 16, 2014 @ 12:15am

Thanks for all the comments this was my first Ludum Dare and it was a lot of fun :) If you like the game make sure to try the updated version it's free on Itchio. I added some nice music and spruced up the art some and added 3 more levels of play.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]