Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Warp

by sportsquid - 48 Hour Compo Entry

well, this is my first ludum dare! This is a game made mainly with JavaScript, and some HTML. I didn't have time to add a lot of features that I wanted to like a tutorial so...


to play there are different places to go, each world has trees(click them to fight), a shop(click to buy/sell things), and a board(click to see information about the planet). to change planets click the portal. Different planets have different items at the shops for different prices and the forests have different enemies.

thanks for reading, and have fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#679Humor2.15
#724Theme3.00
#840Fun2.71
#974Mood2.44
#1013Innovation2.46
#1117Overall2.48
#1168Graphics1.92
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

FlashRocks says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 1:33am

Congrats on completing your first Ludum Dare! This actually reminds me a lot of my first LD. Bad graphics, raw HTML + JS, and everything looking like it was pulled together last minute ^^.

But seriously, good first game jam! I gave everything pretty neutral ratings, because if nothing else, it was different. Everything on LD seems to be mash the spacebar these days (I'm a multi-time offender of this), and this was something I haven't seen for a while.

Keep working at it, because I can see potential in you :)

Perjoka says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:10pm

well done for your first LD.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:58pm

Hey, the game doesn't work for me.
When I inspect the page, it appears there is no JavaScript included in it :/

Loren says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:14pm

I loved it! Very fun, nice art, really nice environment! Well-done all around, congratulations on your first ludum dare as well!

Keep it up, this was awesome!

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:27pm

Great little game! Sometimes the most simple ones are the most fun.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:15pm

nice, interesting rpg

Super Hamster says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 9:29pm

There was a weird bug when I reloaded the game and started again, my health and stuff was Nan. Anyways, I played it again and I managed to get the Ultimate Sword of Pain and killed every single monster in the game. I wish there was some kind of ending to it though. Anyways, good job! This game definitely has potential. :D

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:19pm

Short game, not polished, but understandable being your first Ludum Dare. Congrats on your good effort! I would suggest, based on my experience, that you use Unity + javascript, it would be much easier for you to develop a complete game. Good job!

doomista says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:47pm

Only the main menu screen works for me (IE10, Firefox)

Scipio Xaos says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Interesting little game. Would have been nice if there was a way to "beat" it, but still. Way better than my first entry (which didn't even make it to the posts. :P )

vividhelix says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 11:42pm

This reminds me of another browser game with settlers and wood and stuff, but cool take on the theme! I found myself playing this for longer than most other entries!

micahcowan says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 3:48pm

Works in Chrome (or at least, gets to the game). In Firefox, debug console says "Reference Error: earth not defined" when I click on the Start button (nothing happens).

micahcowan says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:18pm

...I think it's because you're using document.write() everywhere; in most browsers, this causes the equivalent of a "new page" to be started: it doesn't write into the current browser. Which means that all your <script> tags would potentially be lost, which is probably what's happening? If you could just set the body element (or, probably better, a div element)'s innerHTML attribute, you'd probably get better results.

As a code quality matter, the indentation is all over the place, making the code hard to read (it's important for you to be able to follow your own code, too - it makes it faster to work with, and speed is everything in LD!). Also, you don't need all those individual <script> tags everywhere - you could put everything in one big <script> tag.

You seem to have // comments lying _outside_ the <script> tags, too, which would show up inside the body, where people can see them. The only reason no one sees them is because you're writing a new page with document.write() (but that's causing other issues).

(I'm not going to affect the ratings with code quality, just making some observations to pass on to you.)

micahcowan says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 4:20pm

But anyway, on to the actual game: you wrote a complete game, on your own, in JavaScript, without any outside libraries! Way to go! w00t! :D

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]