Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Into Orbit

by DarkUser - Jam Entry

Our sun is no longer stable. The wormhole will take us to a new system.
Get as many planets as possible into safe orbit.

Online leaderboard!

Unity 4.5

Created by Reuben Auld - DarkUser Games

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#37Fun(Jam)3.86
#63Innovation(Jam)3.79
#87Theme(Jam)3.79
#91Overall(Jam)3.73
#229Audio(Jam)3.39
#235Mood(Jam)3.36
#364Graphics(Jam)3.43
#422Humor(Jam)2.33

Comments

NnelGdaBandit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:46am

Cool idea, setting up tons of chained planets is fun.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:11am

Solid game! I actually had a lot more fun than I anticipated placing planets and watching them orbit around. One feature I would have liked to have seen was maybe a three-strike system or something like that... as-is, the most fun I had was on one run where I built a system that ended up chain-destroying a bunch of planets. So maybe another mode where the goal's not to keep as many planets as possible orbiting, but rather to destroy as many planets at the same time, would also be fun!

Thanks for the game.

r0x0r says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:11am

super fun!

se1by says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:12am

Awesome game, bookmarked for later :)
Maybe add a way to view highscores without entering one to make it perfect?

AortaStudios says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:13am

Awesome idea! Found it pretty tricky to get a decent set up but there are a huge amount of possibilities! Great fun with an arcadey tune behind! Nice entry!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:29pm

Nice use of gravity, got score of 9 :D

Axebane says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:31pm

Very good job on your game! I had a lot of fun with it. Great music, nice sound effects, and solid gameplay. The best part is that even when you lose, it feels good because you get to destroy freaking planets!

Bozwellox says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:32pm

Sweet concept and a some solid game design to back it up. Nice particle effects, generally good graphics and some lovely audio tied it all together

Tom Snively says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:33pm

That's really fun. I loved launching a bunch of planets really fast and getting wild fast orbits. :-)

Nisshoku says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:38pm

nice clean simple setup. very fun and enjoyable game.

damrem says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:09pm

Simple, efficient, great!

miwuc says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 5:49pm

Very simple concept, the best kind of concept! Solid execution, love how the title appears on the splash screen. Great job!

goosetickler says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:11pm

Cool idea, was a lot of fun making those giant orbit clusters! Oddly enough I also made a similar style game about planet creation: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-30/?action=preview&uid=29650

chadiik says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 9:37pm

Fun game!
Great music too :)

sbarrio says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 8:18am

I really liked the idea. The presentation and music are also pretty cool. Great job :)

tiff says ...
Sep 5, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Cool idea and great fun!

frogcheese says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 10:08am

Cool idea, and it's really fun trying to fit as many planets as you can. Pretty addictive. :)

Graphics are polished, and I like the music and sound effects too. Overall it's a really great, arcadey entry.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]