Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Mexican Standoff

by ATTA Games - Jam Entry

Clash of the three different worlds.
Let's fight with Clint Eastwood and Doge!

A Mexican standoff is most precisely a confrontation among three opponents armed with guns.

- WASD - move
- SPACE - shooting
- There's double jump!

Simple rules:
- The level is divided into three parts. You can only move in yours.
- You get one point for every round you win.

They may still be some bugs. We will fix them as soon as possible.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#163Humor(Jam)3.05
#322Theme(Jam)3.29
#344Fun(Jam)3.10
#364Graphics(Jam)3.43
#505Innovation(Jam)2.81
#513Audio(Jam)2.66
#515Overall(Jam)3.02
#526Mood(Jam)2.83

Comments

H1S2 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:43am

I liked the atta -connecting worlds thingy but after that nothing worked unfortunatly.

Nylonica says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:43am

Very difficult. Great graphics though.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:44am

The game bugged on round 2. But it was fun up until then! Also, I like the color scheme!

seantheartist says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:44am

Cool concept, too much like super crate box in my opinion but a lot of potential!

Lord bobyness says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:45am

This is like my dream come true, except that my dream was about bridges and didn't have clint eastwood shooting people. So this is like my dream but way better in every way!

(nice take on the theme by the way)

DaGamesta says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:46am

Interesting take on the theme. Would probably make an awesome multiplayer game. Couldn't get the character select working though. I wanted to play as doge pretty badly.

Follett says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:48am

The art was really nice and the game was really fun as well. But the true star of the show is that little intro. Great work.

mramaizng says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:48am

Cool idea. Only problem I had was the button to advance the level was difficult to push occasionally.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:53am

Pretty tricky with the fast moving bullets and the slow fall-time, but fun game. I had some issues with the interface; the Next Round button sometimes didn't want to register my mouse clicks, and I had to try multiple times. It could use more audio effects to give feedback to the player when avoiding shots too. Good work on your entry! Something like this could be used for a local multiplayer game too.

BloodJohn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:16am

Interesting split & double shooting.

Need death animation.

zdonkeyx says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:17am

I enjoyed this quite a lot, it's just so whimsical and cute. The character sprites and simple game mechanics are what sold me on this. Nice meme :~)

esayitch says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:42am

Liked the usage of the theme. Graphics reminded me of Super Crate Box, which is to say they were very good. The gameplay works well as well, even though I didn't realize you could do multiple jumps at first and was close to giving up on it before I realized that. Nice entry, good luck!

tommyboys0107 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 7:33am

Art is good!
Jumping is a little tricky.

lakael says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:36am

Cool concept! I love the characters. Much space. Wow.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:47am

Really solid and it looks good!

lekochen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:16am

Nice take on the theme, well done!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 6:55pm

Very nice interpretation of the them and I thought was a fun game. Funny, too.

schizokoa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Too bad it's the same pattern over and over, liked it otherwise

ViliX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:38am

Not so innovative, but I had a lot of fun playing this game :)

Loren says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:20pm

very cool, nice job with the art, dug the use of theme too :)

Aug 29, 2014 @ 6:35am

Loved the art and the humor in the game. The intro was great!
It takes some time to get used to the jump/falling times but it's part of the learning curve I guess.

The game froze after dying in round 8 I believe, so I didn't beat it (Not sure I'll ever reach that far in the game again. It's hard!). Perhaps you could add some "health" to each player instead of insta-killing each other, so it's a bit less unforgiving.

This is a game I enjoyed from start to finish though! Great job!

Frump says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:39am

Fun game. Would be better without the memes. More level variety would help too.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]