Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Ant, MBA

by Jake_Cohen - Jam Entry

In this game, you play as an ant who's trying to work his way up the corporate ladder of the real life business world. Find out how ruthless and difficult it can be to achieve synergy, especially when you're just an ant.

Controls: You are an ant. Use the arrow keys to move, and space to jump, when appropriate.

Also playable at: http://madebyjake.co/games/Ant_MBA.html

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#263Overall(Jam)3.40
#320Graphics(Jam)3.53
#364Fun(Jam)3.07
#2075Coolness14%

Comments

FrederickK says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:33am

Today I learned ants can't type.
I was expecting something else entirely and you gave me what I didnt know I needed. An IT ant, wacky music and a surprisingly funy story.
Pretty good making checkpoints in the printer part to accompany the player every time.
Only problem is in the printer part, you can straight away to the end for the upper platforms, bypassing that whole part.
It also has nothing to do with the theme, but I am thankful for it.


Brightroar

Jake_Cohen says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 8:48pm

@FrederickK: we left that there on purpose as an easter egg/for development purposes. thx for telling the world ;)

and it definitely fits the theme, it's just not taken literally. We've mixed an ant's world with our own. Thanks for playing, I'm glad you enjoyed it

CodeNMore says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:58pm

This is kind of neat, just not too much for the theme.

Jake_Cohen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:08pm

@CodeNMore, think outside the box, man. Not every game needs to be literally slamming planets together

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:25pm

Have to log-in to an account?

pighead10 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:38pm

Web links to "my games" page, but the other link on the description works. Please make the text faster or skippable! It's so much slower than is necessary and results in a lot of sitting and waiting. Other than that, a solid game with good - if a little fiddly at times - mechanics. Nice interpretation of the theme.

pjimmy says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:45am

erm i don't have an itch.io account :/

tmpxyz says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:00pm

I cannot input the ant's name and stuck there. This looks like quite interesting though

JoshuaBurr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:01pm

The web link takes me to my own games! The link in the description works though. Funny game.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:01pm

First off it's a game with ants in it well that's just cool in it's self ;) And you did a great job of mixing the gameplay up and the story was great. 5 star work all the way.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:30pm

This game looks like it could be really cool, but i'm not willing to sign up for some random website to play.

TeamQuadratic says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:22am

Very funny game. I like it!

bluemaroo3 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:17pm

Fun game, love the concept and the story. Printer level was devilishly tricky in some places, bit too much for my liking. Love the ending.

Tomker says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:34pm

Nice graphics, much work here. Good job.

7dare says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:39pm

The links is dead. You linked to my games on itch.io

jukimv1986 says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:05pm

hahaha hilarious game! I tried to type Antony (pun intended) but the ant let me down. Very fun to play, but it would be good to be able to skip or read texts faster. And it was pretty difficult to jump on the platforms in the printer right. Great game nonetheless!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:09pm

Very funny, great story, superb ending. If I have one criticism, it's quite difficult to play, taking the combined talents of me and my wife to be able to complete the game. However, we're very happy that we did - great game!

Tanser says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 9:30pm

Interesting game, it would have been good if you could get the texts immediately and not have to wait so long to read it :)

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]