Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Otrora

by LudusPactum - Jam Entry

What happen when an evil doctor has the power to open portals to parallel dimensions? You can travel through many different worlds. Alysa has a quest of connected worlds. Save your king, save the world.

Z to shoot, X to jump and arrow keys to move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#275Graphics(Jam)3.62
#335Humor(Jam)2.50
#363Audio(Jam)3.12
#487Fun(Jam)2.85
#522Overall(Jam)3.00
#524Theme(Jam)2.81
#553Mood(Jam)2.78
#757Innovation(Jam)1.81
#1503Coolness44%

Comments

ClownAround says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:21am

Nice game. Wasn't a lot of point in being able to shoot. But it was fun.

01101101 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:09pm

Quite fun. Regrets assets like super mario but love the music.
Z to jump or W ... depends if qwerty or azerty keyboards.

ZNCatlaw says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:20pm

The web link points to a download? Is it supposed to run in my browser?

Almax27 says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:21pm

No enemies? :( nice graphics though!

Otrora says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:22pm

I see the name and say what?!?! :) Wasn't able to play though. None of the links work

Nichii says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Alrighty, i find the art really good and the game was fun. The music was also funky and it seems to match with Alysa's movement :D. There was a lack of requirements for the shooting since the first few levels lacked any enemies. Alysa's movement is quite floaty so it gets really irritating. The rogue'like concept is fun since it provides challenge. The game is really well balanced. It's nice to play as well so Kudos to you for this game :D

TeamEagle says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 4:24pm

Think you need to embed the swf instead offering a download link. Worked by dragging it back in my browser though.

Nice game, cool that you go between worlds of mario, sonic etc :)

CoolIron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:02pm

Nice game! I think with some tweaks and additions you could move it to tabletop! It's easy and interesting :)

CoolIron says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:45pm

Oh. Sorry. Mismatched tabs in browser :D
Anyway nice and fun game :)
Good job!

LudusPactum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:11pm

Hey guys! Thanks a lot for the feedback, we really appreciate it. We are going to answer one bye one :)

@ClownAround @Almax27 Thanks! We hadn't the chance to add the enemies but the shooting feature was already developed so :P

@01101101 Thanks! Good observation

@ZNCatlaw No, sorry, it should download a .swf and you run in your computer with flash. We need to upload it to a site to make it available via web

@Otrora Hahahaha, nice! We share names. Try download the .swf and run it with flash

@Nichii Thank you! Yes, there are a couple of annoying bugs but we are working in a polished version that will include enemies and fixes for all these issues (obviously, not for LD)

@TeamEagle Hahaha thanks, you nailed it with the concept! Good job. And yes, we need to work in the web version

@CoolIron Hahaha, no problem. Thanks anyway!

LudusPactum says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:49pm

Here is the web version: http://satanas.github.io/otrora/

LudusPactum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:08am

We have updated our link for the web version, please check the game and tell us what you think :) Thanks

Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:11am

Sweet graphics. Platforming mechanics need a bit of work, but other than that, good job!
~funkeh

handkor says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:11am

Really pretty sprites. A lot of work went into this game. Good work.

Fernando says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:17am

I love platforms. Am I the only one trying to get into the green tubes? hahahaha Well done! :D

Altourus says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:21am

Controls were a bit clunky but the graphics were amazing

LudusPactum says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:14am

@ChikunDevTeam @handkor @Fernando @Altourus Thank guys!

jjhaggar says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:44am

Cool game :) Only I felt a bit dissapointed when I realized that there were no enemies... I was all the time looking for them XD

Chaoslab says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 2:44am

Fun platformer.

Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:14am

Really nice character design! She looks like she's from Team Rocket, haha. I want stuff to shoot and more fluid platformer controls :< Writing needs some proofreading. I really liked how you had different facepic sprites for when she had different amounts of damage, though, and the pixel art backgrounds pop nicely.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]