Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Tower Twitch

by metalchouchen - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Tower Twitch, is only playable in the twitch chat. The goal is to join the top of the tower to fix the main modem and be connected to the world again.

Beware of traps and obstacles.

Note : To check if the channel is open, take a look on my twitter @metalchouchen

Info : The game is actually offline. I can relaunch the twitch on demand via twitter (@metalchouchen). But I suggest you find 2 or more people to try the game with you.

You can discover what the game look like on youtube : http://youtu.be/Ajf1Tobu70I?t=28m11s

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#68Innovation3.97
#273Humor2.83
#460Theme3.38
#594Audio2.65
#751Overall3.00
#915Mood2.55
#1079Fun2.31
#1103Graphics2.15

Comments

TeamOnBack says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 3:08pm

Sad day when the twitch is offline :(

DrMelon says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 4:26pm

Very innovative! A little difficult to play though, due to the requirement of playing via twitch. It's a clever idea, but it will make it harder for you to gain a lot of ratings! Good luck!

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 25, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Yes also I will be back to my home only Wednesday night :( But I really want to test making a link between Unity3D & Twitch :)

Endurion says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:07am

This grand twitch site rather bombards me with an ad than your game. Sorry, can't vote fairly.

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:16pm

Yes also, the latency is very high even with a premium account :(
By the way the game is online for the next 5 or 6 hours.

Bernte says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:06pm

I like the idea of twitch plays pokemon, but honestly, the delay is killing fun. Beside this, humorous idea :)

DarkCart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:40pm

Interesting! A game, playable by Twitch!

Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:42pm

Haha, a twitch game for Ludum Dare, that's a great idea :) And it fits the theme PERFECTLY. A+

Toubib says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 9:46pm

interesting.

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 10:33pm

Yes sorry for the delay. I try different settings but it's look Twitch limit my upload ...

Also may be the "delay" effect could be less visible if there is more player.

yodamaster says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:27pm

Looks like a video, not a game ...

DvanderAart says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:36pm

I basicly spend 10 minutes waiting for the chance to play but the bot is on and I don't get a response so too bad.. Like the concept but you have just missed a rating. I will not downrate for this though. I hope others do get a chance to play.

Hippolyta says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:46pm

Nice and innovative idea! You gave me some inspiration ;-)

aneeslol says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 11:56pm

That bot is a menace to society.

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 12:03am

Thanks Hippolyta, just beware about the lag on Twitch.

I close the Twitch for the next 8 hours. May be next session the bot will be less nervous ;)

ViliX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:54am

Interesting idea, but as mentioned before: The need to play this via Twitch won't give you much rating.

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:03am

Well, I more need player than rating :) If someone as an idea :)

chas says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:42pm

Cool concept. Too bad Twitch lag is so long!

andrewkennedy says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 1:45am

I liked the idea, but I waited for a while and my movement commands didn't seem to work.

mrexcessive says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 7:38pm

Hi. Not live and therefore cannot play. Not rated.

metalchouchen says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 8:43pm

For all I know the game was live since this morning... may be you should refresh the twitch page. I'm sorry if you cannot test the game.

Jacic says ...
Aug 30, 2014 @ 5:36pm

I really like the idea, but it's not too enjoyable to play with only yourself and the bot. :)

Team Luminous says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 10:10pm

The bot was pretty good at making me fail.

metalchouchen says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 2:23pm

The bot is fully random, by the way I think it's part of the experience to have some noise (from bot, or players) to make you failed :)

moi93101 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 3:21pm

So much latency, but it's cool idea !

Hempuli says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:04pm

Amazing idea! The stream was somewhat laggy so playing the game wasn't all that exciting, but the concept was superb!

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:16pm

Ahah! Neat interpretation of the theme. Just like the TPP or FPP.

jukimv1986 says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 4:18pm

It was a pain to play, could only get it up one floor. By the way, if you join the 48 hour compo you should provide source code. Innovative idea though. Nice effort!

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]