Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Repo

by VikingWarriors - Jam Entry

Some people just can't pay their debts, so their homes have been foreclosed. It's up to one intrepid space trucker (planet) to repo these home (planets).

*Goal*

Tow as many planets as you can to the parking space and tie it to all 3 anchors. Watch out, some (all) people will try to stop you repoing their planet. You'll have to pay for any damages to the planet you make on collection so be careful.

*Controls*

WASD - Move

LEFT MOUSE BUTTON/LEFT CTRL Fire a harpoon (due to a legal loophole, this is a legitimate form of self-defense!)

RIGHT MOUSE BUTTON/LEFT SHIFT - Fire a tethered harpoon (great for towing planets)

SPACE - Detach all harpoons

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#87Humor(Jam)3.43
#153Fun(Jam)3.46
#212Innovation(Jam)3.36
#236Theme(Jam)3.48
#270Audio(Jam)3.32
#327Overall(Jam)3.30
#497Graphics(Jam)3.08
#512Mood(Jam)2.86
#1426Coolness45%

Comments

Troy Atkinson says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:14am

5/5 for audio, the music made me laugh a lot! Also like the completely literal interpretation of 'connecting worlds' haha. Art was great too!

xWarZonex says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:16am

Really cool concept and enganging gameplay. I found it enjoyable and unique. The music didn't exactly fit but it wasn't bad. 4/5 star, goodjob.

xWarZonex says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:16am

Really cool concept and engaging gameplay. I found it enjoyable and unique. The music didn't exactly fit but it wasn't bad. 4/5 star, goodjob.

TomTheG says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 2:17am

Definitely a fan. Cool concept and nice execution.

Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:04am

Entertaining use of the concept, liked the music and visuals. Great work!

alangamebot says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:07am

Cool. Reminds me of Sinistar.

Lacaranian says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:10am

Holst! Woo.

Good tether physics. Made my day.

Galan says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:19am

Funny game. The controls could get a bit frustrating at times — it got a bit hard to change directions. Still, loved the not-too-serious-style and it was surprisingly engaging!

Xadjim says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 12:16am

didnt expect this to be funny :D thumbnail looked like a bad game :D

Scipio Xaos says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 3:06am

Ha hah! That was awesome! I just had to play it when I saw the planet's wonderful mug. Controls are a little iffy cause you swing all over the place, but it was fun! Great job! :D

Nooner Bear says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:39pm

Great humor, very unique. I had fun with the physics, haha.

kibertoad says ...
Aug 31, 2014 @ 5:45pm

It takes a while to figure out what the hell is going on, but in this case it only makes it funnier.

INC$D021 says ...
Sep 7, 2014 @ 12:38pm

Loved it :) Great Idea, nice music and wonderful gameplay.
The physics went a bit haywire when I harpooned a planet moving in the opposite direction that I moved.

Moosefly says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 7:18am

Great fun! The idea was unique and the execution was polished. The only negative thing that comes to mind is that the game didn't quite fit the theme as well as many other games. Nonetheless, well done!

Joona@MooseflyGames

romandtom says ...
Sep 15, 2014 @ 9:46pm

I parked 4 planets
Man that was hardcore.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]