Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

eMERGEncy

by wheelsx (StickyKittyGames) - Jam Entry

Professor Boss has the crazy idea to harness energy from all of the colors of the visible spectrum. After 17.84 years of research and hard work, he has finally completed his Mass Anti-variegated Radiation Isolation Machine (M.A.R.I.M.) Surprisingly, it works... sort of...


eMERGEncy is our first attempt at a platformer, and we had a lot of fun making it. It is a bit buggy, but... well, it is a jam entry. Apparently the difficulty is a little high. We apologize for that, but we didn't have much time to test and tweak it.

The tutorial (hopefully) explains the object of the game, and there is a feature that allows you to configure the controls to whatever keys work for you.

Happy Gaming!

Hope you have as much fun playing it as we did making it!


Controls (default)

wasd = move
z = RED world
x = GREEN world
c = BLUE world
R-shift = attack
Space = special attack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#270Audio(Jam)3.32
#299Humor(Jam)2.60
#327Theme(Jam)3.28
#459Fun(Jam)2.90
#468Graphics(Jam)3.17
#504Overall(Jam)3.03
#544Mood(Jam)2.80
#554Innovation(Jam)2.73

Comments

Transmit says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:45am

Really appreciated being able to re-map the keys, as the default ones were rather hard to use, especially as shift kept bringing up sticky keys prompt. Otherwise it was pretty fun platformer

Techblogogy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 3:36pm

Nice and fun game.

Pesty says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 2:44am

Rather confusing to play

tbam says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 5:59pm

Fun game, though the enemies respawning constantly got annoying

Nooner Bear says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 6:00pm

Slightly difficult for me to attack without receiving damage, but the platforming seemed to work pretty well.

frogcheese says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:02pm

Fun game, though it got a bit irritating after the third or so time another vortex spawned on the other side of the map just as I reached the last one. Flows smoothly with good animations and a decent tune. A little tip would be not to raise the camera so much when the player jumps, since it makes it difficult to tell where the ground is and makes the platforming harder than it needs to be.

Nut says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:42pm

Interesting mechanics but I wish the movement was a little friendlier. The challenge is getting to all the vortex things efficiently, so I don't know why I wouldn't just always stay in the blue world until I reach a vortex. It would be interesting to have some level design that rewards using the other worlds more.

Aglavra says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:51pm

I liked music and animations, but it is difficult to attak enenies without getting damage.

Ventura says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:05pm

I liked the movement of the character but it's difficult to land in the correct place. I would add that the frogs flash when is hit or push back, so we know that was damaged. Nice game.

Aomeas says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:22pm

The music is awesome :3
But having a platformer with ennemies kicking you out of the path was difficult :/

creative630 says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 9:39pm

Damn spitting toad! Died like 5 times! Gaaah. Otherwise a well put together game, didn't get to see if there was an end game. Platforming could have been a little easier.

Sep 2, 2014 @ 11:30pm

The frogs where really hard for me xD.... them frog trolls xD ... very cool game! excelent work :D

vividhelix says ...
Sep 3, 2014 @ 6:57am

A bit too difficult with the frogs and the narrow platform, but great overall feel, liked the music too.

shatterhand says ...
Sep 4, 2014 @ 2:40pm

Liked the graphics a lot and the music is pretty good.

The game felt very polished, but it does have a few problems.

First, it is really very confusing to play. Also, the collision detection seems to have some problems... I never know if I actually hit an enemy or not, I am not even sure if they need lots of hits to die. It's very annoying to see your sword hitting the enemy, the enemy has no feedback at all and at the exact next frame jumps and attacks you.

And then you fall back, and fall straight to the water, losing TWO hearts for an enemy attack that was completely unfair.

The game also relies too much on "Leaps of faith", I need to go down but I have no idea if there will be water or ground below me.

I once switched world and a frog was spammed right where I was! (And then I fell back.. INTO THE WATER!).

The game becomes too annoying to be any fun because of all this. The game is very well programed, but it needs a lot of polish in the gameplay department.

Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:32pm

I want to thank everyone for all the feedback. I already knew about most of the problems mentioned, but didn't realize how much they actually affected gameplay. I was trying to capture a little of that classic action-platformer difficulty, but it looks like I over did it. I was dissappointed that I wasn't able to do some things faster to free up some time to do basic things like visual feedback when you hit an enemy, finding a workaround for the possibility of getting hit when switching worlds, and improving the level design. I feel like if I had another 12 hours this game could have been a lot better.

apiotrw says ...
Sep 13, 2014 @ 2:10pm

Good work

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]