Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

Contested Systems

by JoshuaBurr - Jam Entry

Downloads can be found below the web player.

I recommend downloading as it seems to not be running very smoothly in the web player (any ideas why?).




A turn-based shooter.

The game is two player VS. I planned to make it four player and create AI but I didn't have time.

There were lots of things that I didn't have time to add (including sound and music).

This is my first time using Unity so any tips/advice would be very appreciated.


Controls:
Arrow keys / WASD to move
Enter to end turn
Tab to cycle through units
Hold Space to fire
E to enter/exit turrets
Z and X to zoom
Number keys to build



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#325Innovation(Jam)3.14
#366Overall(Jam)3.25
#372Fun(Jam)3.05
#441Theme(Jam)3.04
#484Graphics(Jam)3.12
#541Humor(Jam)1.97
#626Mood(Jam)2.59
#638Audio(Jam)1.71

Comments

jayhof says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 12:14pm

I'm enjoying the idea of firing yourself on a new planet to take it over it's a cool mechanic. Some space music in the background would have kept me playing a bit longer

Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:20pm

Scrolling should be a bit more sensitive (and by a bit I mean a lot ;) + it's a bit awkward to play You vs You. Good game though.

mactinite says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:22pm

This would be really awesome with some friends. Kind of like worms. Really cool mechanic.

Budaniel says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 5:28pm

Nice concept, but I had some issues using the turrets - they ate my little guys instead of letting them enter.

pcmccull says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:30pm

Very cool concept. It ran great for me in the web player.

Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:31pm

Awesome game, really like the concept! Would love to see this continue development

From Smiling says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 6:35pm

Looks and feels really smooth and nice! There are definitely some cool mechanics going on too! There's a bit of a hard time with some things though, like switching units and spawning units that can be a bit confusing?

GuillaumeGwi says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:27pm

Nice Game ! I liked it ! It's a little complicated when you don't have an English keyboard :)

tbamberg says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 9:38pm

Great game, reminiscent of worms but with a cool aesthetic

Lvyn says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:55pm

Nice idea and cool aesthetic :)
I wish there were sound :)

43iscoding says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 11:03pm

Interesting and innovative strategy! Very enjoyed it

xandy says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:06am

great idea. a shame there is only local multiplayer and no ai. but i will bookmark this and play it with some friends soon!

Razoric says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 12:44pm

Cool concept. Would like to see this fleshed out more.

Fumiko says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 1:02pm

Pretty cool concept - reminds me of the worms series. While it took some time to get to the basic strategy involved i can see this getting pretty deep - as even when playing only against myself I got to an stalemate which i then broke again. pretty interesting game - although i'm not convinced either side can ever win. hiding your units on the backside of planets is just to effective. I like the minimalistic appearance too. Solid entry + nice physics. :)

guimonpa says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 4:33pm

It looks interesting from what I've seen playing by myself, I'll try to play it with a friend!

ViliX says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 10:52am

The simple graphics perfectly fits :)

Vinyl Pixels says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 11:48am

Nice, it's a pitty there's no AI.

juaxix says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 4:27pm

I replied in my entry ,thanks for commenting.
I was playing your game,add online to it to increase fun factor!

MechanicMoon says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:03pm

Really nice concept! Nice graphics! Seriously! Simply but clean..really interesting mechanics! Nice job dude!

Otrora Games says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:18pm

Nice concept and love the minimalist aesthetic.

kikito says ...
Aug 29, 2014 @ 5:43pm

It's a good first try in unity. The graphics were minimal but enjoyable. The mixture of turn-based gameplay with certain manual hability was interesting, and the theme was well translated into a game.

arhpositive says ...
Sep 8, 2014 @ 5:53pm

Good entry, I really loved the core idea and the implementation is simple but it can be improved in the future. I liked the game, but the lack of audio is an important minus.

sephyka says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 8:33am

The concept of your game is just great, I really like the gameplay mechanic. I had difficulties to control my shoots at the beginning. It might be better with sounds, more polish and best playability (sometimes, I cancelled my shoot but I could'nt shoot again). Good entry!

klianc09 says ...
Sep 10, 2014 @ 6:43pm

Really great game, I would love to play this against my friends or an AI. Really like the strategies that evolve through the gravitational fields. Only gripe I have is that one shouldn't be able to move units once they used up their actions, so that you can't hide the units as easily behind the planets.

Sep 12, 2014 @ 11:30pm

Nice one! I'll try this out with a friend tomorrow. :)

Sep 15, 2014 @ 11:26pm

Really nice, well done game! I included it in part 28 of my Ludum Dare 30 compilation video series, if you’d like to take a look :) http://youtu.be/Hmt93jxkWGQ

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]