Ludum Dare 30 — August 22nd-25th, 2014 — Theme: Connected Worlds

[ Real World Gatherings | Ludum Deals | Warmup Weekend (Games) | MiniLD #53 | Wallpaper (1) (2) (3) | Mailing List ]

Back to Browse Entries

A Hat's Trick

by Soup With Bits - Jam Entry

What happens when a gentleman and a wizard don't walk into a bar?

A local two player co-op* puzzle platformer

*very doable by one player

@kevinnoelmarais & @SUGBOERIE, aka @soupwithbits

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#111Theme(Jam)3.74
#212Innovation(Jam)3.36
#288Audio(Jam)3.28
#354Graphics(Jam)3.46
#354Mood(Jam)3.13
#360Overall(Jam)3.26
#454Fun(Jam)2.91
#457Humor(Jam)2.24

Comments

polarkac says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:03am

Cant run, its just white webpage without text or error message.

SoupWithBits says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 10:34am

@polarkac Working fine, when I follow the link (google chrome)

SojaBird says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:22pm

Very fun and smart. Reminds me a little of Ibb and Obb :)

banana4life says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:24pm

Nice Idea. Music is good.
The Controls feel a bit unresponsive.

nerd burglars says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:24pm

I didn't have any trouble playiong it (Web) I had a hard time just getting past the first hurdle, but easy games are boring games :)

locknic says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:37pm

That was really quite fantastic. The puzzles require some thinking as well as a bit of trial and error. Sometimes it was annoying that you had to restart all the way if you misaim a bomb, but still very fun. The graphics are simple and clean, but powerful and aesthetically very pleasing.

BMacIntosh says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:42pm

Very creative. I found the bombs a bit frustrating, though - it's difficult to aim them, and if you miss you have to start all over.

gnuwind says ...
Aug 26, 2014 @ 3:48pm

I like this game because it's almost the game that I want you create(artwork, style). Thank you to let me see what I want.

arazim6 says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 8:03am

Very good! fun to play, creative, fun graphics and sound

Hyoga-3D says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 2:00pm

Pretty well executed, graphics are nice, could work really good on a mobile platform.

SelfishGenome says ...
Aug 27, 2014 @ 7:31pm

Great game overall and probably one one of the best uses of the theme too.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 6:47am

This is really cool, but for the life of me I cannot figure out the third level. I mist be missing something!

PixlWalkr says ...
Aug 28, 2014 @ 7:01am

fun to play and cool graphics.

Aug 30, 2014 @ 6:34pm

Excellent! It took me a bit to figure out the core mechanic. Maybe some slight effects/camera shake might help? Very cool visual and mood too.

AlbertoSM says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 12:35pm

Interesting concept! Kinda hard to play by myself, but there's some good potential on this game! Also you should disable the star's collider, cuz it still plays the "ding" sound if I approach the area where it was again.

Knowledge says ...
Sep 1, 2014 @ 5:41pm

Ok game, not too original.

Cake&Code says ...
Sep 2, 2014 @ 7:36am

Sweet mood to the game. It was a bit difficult to control two of the characters at once, but i think with time and practice isn't so bad. Great work!

Sep 10, 2014 @ 2:22pm

The visuals worked really well and the puzzle aspect was pretty challenging. Took me a bit to figure out what was going on.

xandy says ...
Sep 14, 2014 @ 1:07pm

nice innovative 2world platformer idea but some more informative tuturial levels would have done some good.

You must sign in to comment.


IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]